Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-03-2010, 03:10 PM
Tritono9 Tritono9 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 109
Exclamation Digi 003 Rack Discontinued?

Hey,

I was going to buy the Digi 003 Rack (the basic) and the official dealer here -VGL in Chile- said to me that the 003 Rack was discontinued. According to they, now Digidesign only sell to the dealers the Digi 003 Rack+Factory because nobody buy the basic Rack. They said to me that if I want a Digi, I need to buy the Digi 003 Rack+Factory.

Is this true? I dont trust them. Maybe they want to sell their remaining stock.

This is very complicated to me.

For now, I dont need extreme in-outs. Maybe sometimes I will record two or three tracks simultaneously. I was thinking in the Mbox 2 Pro but I know that the Digi 003 is better than the Mbox 2 pro. The 003 Rack was a good option to me but the 003 Rack+Factory is too much for my needs (and too much money). If I buy the Digi 003 Rack+Factory and I think in my future needs, maybe in two or three years I will record drums and I will need more in and outs, but by then probably Digidesign pull out new products and is more intelligent to buy a new product then. I dont need a Rack+Factory for now.

What can I do?

Please if you know, confirm or deny this information to confront to the official dealer.

Thank you!

J.P.
__________________
Multidimensional
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-03-2010, 03:15 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,810
Default Re: Digi 003 Rack Discontinued?

Sounds like BS to me. As the 003rack is still listed on the main Avid site, I would assume it is still an available product. I agree that the "Factory" package(which is simply a bundle of plugins) is maybe not a good investment(I own the Factory plugins and rarely, if ever use them). I also don't see any reason to buy the 003r+ version, unless you absolutely MUST have 8 preamps without any extra gear. Time to find a new dealer? Or maybe buy a used 003r.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-03-2010, 03:34 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,919
Default Re: Digi 003 Rack Discontinued?

Could it be that the distributors in your area have decided not to carry the 003R any longer? If that is the case, as albee said, buy used..
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-03-2010, 04:18 PM
Tritono9 Tritono9 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 109
Question Re: Digi 003 Rack Discontinued?

Thank you!

The problem is that I can only buy with a specific credit card and nobody here are selling the Rack. Im 22 and Im getting equipment to increase the quality of my recordings. Digi 003 Rack is a good option I think because is better than the Mbox 2 pro and I get PT. All this time I was researching about pc compatibility (maybe you remember me) and now the dealer said this.

I dont know exactly how I can contact to Digi team to corrobore this. I will try.

If you have a mail or if you have some information about this, please tell me.

J.P.
__________________
Multidimensional
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-03-2010, 04:37 PM
flautista's Avatar
flautista flautista is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chile
Posts: 1,609
Default Re: Digi 003 Rack Discontinued?

Hola Try in Global Mac in santiago

http://www.globalmac.cl/digi-003-rack-id-721.html

y en PROSOUND Y Croma http://www.cromaltda.cl/product_info...roducts_id=211
tarjeta Ripley
http://www.prosound.cl/catalogo/prod...roducts_id=488

http://nunoa.olx.cl/vendo-digi-003-r...0-iid-47175936, used in ripley you can get the cash with the card too
__________________
Jascha Koneffke flutist
www.prodmusica.cl
GA-X58A-UD3R[/
I7 950
RAM 24Gb corsair 1600 (3 sticks)
9-9-9-24
MAC
MacBookPro i7 2,3 15"
RAM 16gb
PT 11.3
003 Rack
MBox 3 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-03-2010, 05:53 PM
Tritono9 Tritono9 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 109
Post Re: Digi 003 Rack Discontinued?

Hola Jascha,

Gracias por ayudarme. I contacted with all the shops. Nobody has a 003 Rack. I contacted with the user who sells the Digi in nunoa.olx.cl and he sold it.

VGL is the big boss here. I think that VGL wants to sell their last stock of products. Generalmente siempre por esta fecha empiezan las liquidaciones para deshacerse de lo que les va quedando. I need to confirm the information because if it is a lie, I will confront to the dealer here.

I contacted to Digidesign via web, I will see what they say.

J.P.
__________________
Multidimensional
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-03-2010, 07:52 PM
flautista's Avatar
flautista flautista is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chile
Posts: 1,609
Default Re: Digi 003 Rack Discontinued?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tritono9 View Post
Hola Jascha,

Gracias por ayudarme. I contacted with all the shops. Nobody has a 003 Rack. I contacted with the user who sells the Digi in nunoa.olx.cl and he sold it.

VGL is the big boss here. I think that VGL wants to sell their last stock of products. Generalmente siempre por esta fecha empiezan las liquidaciones para deshacerse de lo que les va quedando. I need to confirm the information because if it is a lie, I will confront to the dealer here.

I contacted to Digidesign via web, I will see what they say.

J.P.
Call tomorrow to Prosound and Croma they use Ripley card
besides from Ripleys card you can get the cash

Con la tarjeta Ripley puedes pedir un avance en efectivo y comprarla usada
__________________
Jascha Koneffke flutist
www.prodmusica.cl
GA-X58A-UD3R[/
I7 950
RAM 24Gb corsair 1600 (3 sticks)
9-9-9-24
MAC
MacBookPro i7 2,3 15"
RAM 16gb
PT 11.3
003 Rack
MBox 3 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-04-2010, 12:20 AM
Culhane Culhane is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 66
Default Re: Digi 003 Rack Discontinued?

The last I checked, Digi, er, AVID wasn't offering much on a 002 rack trade in for a 003. You could maybe get a deal on a 002 rack if you can find a good source.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-04-2010, 12:39 AM
Stiff Stiff is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Lund, Sweden
Posts: 4,101
Default Re: Digi 003 Rack Discontinued?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tritono9 View Post
What can I do?
I've heard nothing about the 003R being discontinued. Shop around, you might find it somewhere else.

If you absolutely can't, then it seems like the Mbox 2 Pro might better suit your needs than the 003R Factory anyway.
__________________
Daily news & reviews
www.ProToolerBlog.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-04-2010, 11:12 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,810
Default Re: Digi 003 Rack Discontinued?

Personally, I doubt the 003 will make any audible improvement to your recordings. Getting an API A2D would give you 2 great preamps and bypass the Mbox converters(use the SPDIF input) would likely make an audible improvement, as would acoustic treatments, great monitors and 1 or 2 killer microphones. BTW, I own the 003 controller and like it plenty, but your recording quality is only as good as the weakest link in the "chain". Look at your entire system to see where improvements can be made(and which improvements might be more important and/or cost-effective). Now if you want to record drums or a full band, then yes, the 003r(with a decent lightpipe 8 channel preamp) would fill the bill nicely
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Connecting Eleven Rack to Digi 002 Rack TMitchJobe Eleven Rack 12 02-02-2013 10:54 AM
Rack Mount Ears for Digi 003 Rack Flux06 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 06-28-2008 02:49 PM
Digi 002 Rack or Factory Rack? liquid32 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 07-08-2005 02:43 AM
Digi 001 discontinued? Dino Bonanno 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 01-13-2004 07:22 PM
Digi 001 discontinued?! JRainone 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 181 08-01-2003 11:49 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:39 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com