Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-29-2011, 10:28 AM
bbob bbob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: nashville, tn USA
Posts: 212
Default Time to check other DAW?

I have 2 close friends who are grammy winning producer/engineers here in Nashville, they use Nuendo. There are also a couple of "household name" guys I know of that use Nuendo.
I've been a loyal Digi dude since the 888 days. I've made major hardware purchases and upgrades... procontrol/c24/3 sets of cards/6 IO boxes/2 Sync/digi plugs/PT software upgrades... on and on for over a decade.
My Digi nut has to be over $100,000. I've never seriously thought about jumping ship until now. Is it really time to get with Paczosa and pick his brain on Nuendo????
Get your crap together AVID!
__________________
HD2 Accel
PT 7.4
OS 10.5.4
MacPro 8 core
www.btruitt.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-30-2011, 02:22 AM
RSnake RSnake is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 20
Default Re: Time to check other DAW?

I was thinking the same thing
__________________
Mac Pro 2.93 2Quad Core, Pro tools HD3pci/e,Control|24,Pro ToolsHD 8.1.1
www.camertone.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-30-2011, 06:35 AM
nerd513 nerd513 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: cincinnati ohio
Posts: 581
Default Re: Time to check other DAW?

u kids sound like u spilled ur milk and lost ur cookies
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-30-2011, 06:38 AM
danander11 danander11 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 4,012
Default Re: Time to check other DAW?

Go and try Sequoia and let me know what you think...
__________________
Here I am,
after time not long...
and thankful for the break,
What I found when I got there,
was that I couldn't stay away!

Hobo Shave!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-30-2011, 06:45 AM
DarylG DarylG is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 303
Default Re: Time to check other DAW?

I would say that the first thing you should do is decide what PT doesn't do for you. then check out the other programs to see if they do it. Then ask Nuendo users who also use Pro Tools (for example) why they don't do everything in Nuendo. that will give you a better idea of where you should go with this.

i will say one thing though; I can see less and less reason to buy and Avid hardware, unless you are tracking many instruments at a time. Use 3rd party hardware and upgrades will be cheaper for whatever program you want to use.

D
__________________
ProTools 9.02
2 x Intel Xeon x5675 3.07GHz Hex Core
48GB RAM
Windows 7 (x64)Pro
RME Multiface II
Intensity
ATI HD5400 series graphics card
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-30-2011, 06:46 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,542
Default Re: Time to check other DAW?

Yes, please do check them out. It's enlightening.

I have and can't ever get "over the hump" from checking out to using.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-30-2011, 06:55 AM
Ru_C Ru_C is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: London + Bedford, UK
Posts: 872
Default Re: Time to check other DAW?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmazurek View Post
Yes, please do check them out. It's enlightening.

I have and can't ever get "over the hump" from checking out to using.
It's always the lack of Trim automation & VCA's thats the killer point for me with the competition . Last time i checked (Cubase 5), Steinberg still had pretty nasty automation implementation .
__________________
Studio A: Mac Pro 12 core, OSX 10.9.5, PT HD 10.3.10, HD3 Accel, AVID I/O 16xanalog i/o x2 , Benchmark DAC1, 32 Fader Procontrol
Studio B: Mac Pro Dual 8 core, OSX 10.8.5, PT 10.3.10, HD3 Accel , 192-Digitalx2, Apogee+Audient/Converters
Home: Mac Pro Dual 8 core, OSX 10.9.5, PT 10.3.10, HD3 Accel. 96 i/o (Dual boot with) OSX 10.13.6, PT 2018.x.x, Focusrite Scarlett 2i2
Mobile: 2017 Macbook Pro, OSX 10.13.6, PT 2018.x.x, Focusrite Scarlett 2i2
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-30-2011, 07:23 AM
Chris Lambrechts's Avatar
Chris Lambrechts Chris Lambrechts is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Apr 1998
Location: Belgium
Posts: 2,025
Default Re: Time to check other DAW?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ru_C View Post
It's always the lack of Trim automation & VCA's thats the killer point for me with the competition . Last time i checked (Cubase 5), Steinberg still had pretty nasty automation implementation .
We should go over there and scream hell, devil , burn and bedlam and organize threads to complain about the lack of those features.
Possibly create a facebook page to let them know how disgusted we are for the lack of these ...
Hell let's organize a flight and go occupy their HQ and go on strike until they give us those features .....
__________________
Chris Lambrechts
Applications Specialist- Live Sound
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-30-2011, 09:08 AM
DarylG DarylG is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 303
Default Re: Time to check other DAW?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Lambrechts View Post
We should go over there and scream hell, devil , burn and bedlam and organize threads to complain about the lack of those features.
Possibly create a facebook page to let them know how disgusted we are for the lack of these ...
Hell let's organize a flight and go occupy their HQ and go on strike until they give us those features .....
I think you'll find that they have enough of their own "complainers" doing that already. ;>)

However, to do a proper comparison you need to be comparing Cubase 6 to Pro Tools 10, without the toolkit. With the toolkit you should be comparing with Nuendo.

D
__________________
ProTools 9.02
2 x Intel Xeon x5675 3.07GHz Hex Core
48GB RAM
Windows 7 (x64)Pro
RME Multiface II
Intensity
ATI HD5400 series graphics card
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-30-2011, 10:42 AM
bbob bbob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: nashville, tn USA
Posts: 212
Default Re: Time to check other DAW?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nerd513 View Post
u kids sound like u spilled ur milk and lost ur cookies
I'm man enough to admit that I probably would cry if I spilled a glass of milk that cost $100k.

Go away bug.
__________________
HD2 Accel
PT 7.4
OS 10.5.4
MacPro 8 core
www.btruitt.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
It's time to check out this thread Barry Johns Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 0 01-29-2014 09:38 PM
Clip Gain won’t update in real time during playback on Elastic Time tracks yanos macOS 0 06-03-2012 04:48 PM
Reality check for PT 10's time for loading sessions oreo1 macOS 13 03-06-2012 05:16 PM
2gb,check! firewire audio drive,check! samples.... bump!! MarkusB 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 06-24-2007 03:25 AM
so i don't check this forum for weeks at a time... moe green 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 07-16-2001 06:16 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:37 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com