Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-27-2007, 03:52 PM
zakco zakco is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 547
Default Big Ben / PT sample rate mismatch

Hi there,

In a moment of extreme distraction I started a new project with PT clocked to a big ben with the project SR set to 44.1 but the big ben at 48k. The result is 44.1 audio files that need to be clocked to 48k to sound right. I tracked 2 songs like this before I realized it. As long as I keep this mismatch the session plays back at the correct speed/pitch. Problem is when I bounce to disk at 44.1 the file is slow/flat.

What is the best way to convert this PT session to true 44.1 and keep the correct speed/pitch?

Thanks,

-Zak
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-27-2007, 05:38 PM
digimatek digimatek is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: SF, CA, USA
Posts: 26
Default Re: Big Ben / PT sample rate mismatch

Quote:
Hi there,

In a moment of extreme distraction I started a new project with PT clocked to a big ben with the project SR set to 44.1 but the big ben at 48k. The result is 44.1 audio files that need to be clocked to 48k to sound right. I tracked 2 songs like this before I realized it. As long as I keep this mismatch the session plays back at the correct speed/pitch. Problem is when I bounce to disk at 44.1 the file is slow/flat.

What is the best way to convert this PT session to true 44.1 and keep the correct speed/pitch?

Thanks,

-Zak
Zak, this is a pretty easy fix. So they are 48k audio files living in a 44.1k session. So you need to get those audio files into a 48k session.

Do this:
Create a new PT session with the SR set to 48k.
Then do a "import session data" from the other session. There should be a check box to do SR conversion. Uncheck the box. Import all your tracks and your back in business.

-JD
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-27-2007, 06:36 PM
zakco zakco is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 547
Default Re: Big Ben / PT sample rate mismatch

JD,

Thanks! Worked just fine. I'd been trying to go the other direction to 44.1 first. Duh!

I should rack the BB where I can actually see it

-Zak
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sample Rate Mismatch! (clock 44.1, PT 48) RhodesB3 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 22 11-24-2015 12:17 PM
sample rate mismatch problem? Kevin_28 Pro Tools 9 4 12-22-2010 11:18 PM
Sample Rate Mismatch... How to export files as regions after problem. Dizzi45Z Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 04-24-2010 10:17 PM
Pro Tools LE Sample Rate Mismatch Nag tcassel 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 03-20-2007 12:51 PM
sample rate mismatch with HD24 on whole session BuddySchaub 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 02-10-2004 12:53 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:22 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com