Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-26-2007, 08:59 PM
Dog BBQ Dog BBQ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: New New York
Posts: 1,120
Default Protools, Too many Bells and Whistels

Just got done Fixing an Older Mix

having to redo some Punches that didn't take

Along with some Automation that wasn't right some how¿¿¿¿¿¿

And was wonder if Protools is getting too Flimsy I don't need all these new features at

the cost of reliability and compatibility!!!

I thought I don't need Bells and Whistles I need a Hammer and Anvil

I have to keep looking over my shoulder for mistakes Protools has Done [can only blame the interns so much]

I'd like a piece of mind when I work not thinking if everything worked

What was wrong with Protools 5.1 I can't remember¿¿¿¿¿¿
__________________
The Greatest Risk in Life is Doing Nothing
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-26-2007, 11:20 PM
sleadley sleadley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Sydney,NSW,Australia
Posts: 957
Default Re: Protools, Too many Bells and Whistels

In my experience it is rare for Pro Tools to not function as you describe like "mistakes Protools has Done" Punches that have not taken etc, I rarely see this at all and when I do it is usually human error, that is not to say Pro Tools is perfect but.....
I can not work without the latest version of Tools there are too many "must have features". But, hey if 5.1.1 worked for you, no-one is stopping you from getting a G4 and loading it.
Feature bloat often affects many programs but as far as PT is concerned it has to keep a wide range of users happy (from Music to Post to recording and mastering) so often there are features that are there but don't get used often in one area of use but are essential for another. You often have to look at this product from many angles not just your own perspective
my 2c
Simon L.
__________________
Plan for the worst, Hope for the Best.
www.trackdown.com.au
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-27-2007, 02:04 AM
Evil Jack Evil Jack is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 490
Default Re: Protools, Too many Bells and Whistels

Quote:
You often have to look at this product from many angles not just your own perspective
my 2c
Simon L.
Absolutely. This software wasn't written specifically for you.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-27-2007, 11:21 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,526
Default Re: Protools, Too many Bells and Whistels

ProTools didn't even become viable for me til 6.4 (delay comp). Prior to that I was using it as editor but that was it.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-27-2007, 02:00 PM
Natural Sound Natural Sound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Miami, Fl
Posts: 695
Default Re: Protools, Too many Bells and Whistels

I've always wished that PT would allow you to install the feature set that you need. It might cut down on Ram overhead, and streamline the program for those that don't need certain features. Why have all those midi functions if you're not using midi.

I also thought it funny that DogBBQ would like to have a "piece of mind" as opposed to Peace Of Mind.
You know, you can never have too many pieces.
__________________
Thomas Anthony
Natural Sound
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-27-2007, 02:33 PM
Lee Blaske Lee Blaske is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Minneapolis, MN U.S.A.
Posts: 3,625
Default Re: Protools, Too many Bells and Whistels

Quote:
I've always wished that PT would allow you to install the feature set that you need. It might cut down on Ram overhead, and streamline the program for those that don't need certain features.
These days, especially if you're not loading a lot of plug-ins, I don't think RAM overhead is an issue at all. RAM is cheap.

Furthermore, I think it would be a safe bet that having PT load specific feature sets for specific users would most likely be a testing and stability nightmare. Every time the Mac OS would be updated, it might take years before PT would be ready to make the move.

Seriously, I think PT could be most improved if it were specifically coded natively for the Mac (and a separate version for PC), rather than one set of code ported to Mac and PC. Stability, performance and latency on the Mac would also be greatly enhanced if PT took advantage of OSX's kernel level Core Audio and Core MIDI. Apple put an enormous amount of effort into developing OSX to optimize audio and MIDI performance, and PT simply does not use it. It's an unfortunate situation. That's why challenging plug-ins (like NI's, and VSL's [which is not even released for PT]) work like a hot knife going through butter on DAW applications that support AU plug-ins, but leave PT gasping for breath on the side of the road.

PT has a great UI that's ideal for the way a lot of people work. It could definitely use a lot of work under the hood, though. It will be very interesting to see what the future holds (for PT, as well as all the other major DAW applications out there). It will be interesting to see if there will be a high-end native PT solution in the future, or if the next generation of high-end PT systems will still require rather costly hardware. Things will be interesting.

I also wonder if there will ever come a time when there will be a barrier to importing older PT sessions into the newest version of PT. Keeping backward compatibility has got to be a major strain that holds back development. At some point, one would think it would make sense to start with a fresh, blank sheet of paper and design a new system. As it is, backward compatibility of old sessions is usually quite compromised (since there are a lot of plug-ins that have fallen by the wayside, or simply not present in the system you're currently using). If you need access to things at a later date, better just keep a vintage system operating, or make sure to always bounce out a lot of stems.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-27-2007, 03:15 PM
studiojimi's Avatar
studiojimi studiojimi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,115
Default Re: Protools, Too many Bells and Whistels

Quote:


And was wonder if Protools is getting too Flimsy I don't need all these new features at

the cost of reliability and compatibility!!!


i'd like to wish you much luck in your career in music.
__________________
CAZADOR RECORDING
PT10.3.10/HD6/192w16in/MTN.LION OS 10.8.5 / Westmere MacPro 8 Core W/20gRAM MAGMA-PE6R4/TDM&RTAS/WAVES Platinum/UA/Eventide Plugs/I usually record at 88.2
With GOD as my partner. . . I need to make my plans LARGER.

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-28-2007, 11:18 PM
Dog BBQ Dog BBQ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: New New York
Posts: 1,120
Default Re: Protools, Too many Bells and Whistels

Quote:
In my experience it is rare for Pro Tools to not function as you describe like "mistakes Protools has Done" Punches that have not taken etc, I rarely see this at all and when I do it is usually human error, that is not to say Pro Tools is perfect but.....
I can not work without the latest version of Tools there are too many "must have features". But, hey if 5.1.1 worked for you, no-one is stopping you from getting a G4 and loading it.
Feature bloat often affects many programs but as far as PT is concerned it has to keep a wide range of users happy (from Music to Post to recording and mastering) so often there are features that are there but don't get used often in one area of use but are essential for another. You often have to look at this product from many angles not just your own perspective
my 2c
Simon L.
Well the Graphic Freezes alone are aggravating!!!

And the Region revert bug after the punch was a real ringer!!!
__________________
The Greatest Risk in Life is Doing Nothing
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-28-2007, 11:19 PM
Dog BBQ Dog BBQ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: New New York
Posts: 1,120
Default Re: Protools, Too many Bells and Whistels

Quote:
Absolutely. This software wasn't written specifically for you.
But wouldn't you like to be able to customize it for your needs and not the needs of the masses???
__________________
The Greatest Risk in Life is Doing Nothing
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-28-2007, 11:20 PM
Dog BBQ Dog BBQ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: New New York
Posts: 1,120
Default Re: Protools, Too many Bells and Whistels

Quote:
ProTools didn't even become viable for me til 6.4 (delay comp). Prior to that I was using it as editor but that was it.
I made plenty Mixing from version 4.3 on too bad you had to wait!!!!
__________________
The Greatest Risk in Life is Doing Nothing
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Bells SFX Library sepulchra Post - Surround - Video 6 05-16-2011 01:51 AM
Wedding bells spidey01 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 07-03-2010 08:47 AM
church bells? stevesound 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 08-23-2006 04:10 AM
Recording Church Bells superpenguin79 General Discussion 28 01-25-2006 04:54 PM
Looking for bells, glockenspiels... Roy Howell 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 02-12-2004 11:13 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:47 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com