Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-23-2007, 11:09 PM
25ghosts 25ghosts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 3,333
Default PT 7.3.1 - Still Features Random Graphic Freezes

Like my header says - graphic freezes at random is still a thing haunting pt 7.3.1

I find it highly unprofessional to release payed upgrades not to mention updates that keeps dragging old bugs with them.

What are we becoming when releasing software with KNOWN bugs without fixing them...
__________________
2016 MacBook Pro Retina | 16GB RAM | 1TB SSD | OS X Latest - PTHD 12 Latest | 4K LG Thunderbolt Display | Logic Pro 10
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-24-2007, 10:01 AM
holden holden is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 236
Default Re: PT 7.3.1 - Still Features Random Graphic Freez

In case Digi needs confirmation from a 2nd party that this is a problem, I am writing to confirm it. I am using HD/Accel, Expansion|HD, PT 7.3.1, Mac Pro, OS X (10.4.8).
__________________
PT9.0.0, 3.0GHz Mac Pro, OS 10.6.3, 13GB RAM, HD6/Accel, Magma PE6R4, PRE
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-24-2007, 10:15 AM
Repo Repo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: FBI Survalence van
Posts: 44
Default Re: PT 7.3.1 - Still Features Random Graphic Freezes

ANSWER: A public american company!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-24-2007, 11:48 AM
studiojimi's Avatar
studiojimi studiojimi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,115
Default Re: PT 7.3.1 - Still Features Random Graphic Freez

i got elton john's bassist in here for a session at noon yesterday
(tony s. that's why i was in a rush when i saw you)

i like for things to run smooth not only for him but for all of my clients.

sounds...everything is ready to roll

i hit record..the screen freezes but the music plays and then quits then kernal and i have to reboot

it was embarrasing cuz he is a sonar whiz...but i'm not sure to blame it on 7.3.1

this same day my APC went nutz and i took it out of my power system and things seemed to stablize

i did this after the power went DOWN on my puter to starts in a row (thank you barry rudolph for the troubleshoot)
__________________
CAZADOR RECORDING
PT10.3.10/HD6/192w16in/MTN.LION OS 10.8.5 / Westmere MacPro 8 Core W/20gRAM MAGMA-PE6R4/TDM&RTAS/WAVES Platinum/UA/Eventide Plugs/I usually record at 88.2
With GOD as my partner. . . I need to make my plans LARGER.

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-24-2007, 12:30 PM
jeremyroberts jeremyroberts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: New York, NY, USA
Posts: 3,020
Default Re: PT 7.3.1 - Still Features Random Graphic Freez

I experienced this today...

Press RECORD - and for a few seconds, it is recording, you hear playback, but there is no visual representation of the transport or activity in the edit window. It actually happens at the same place over and over again... for example, place the cursor at a marker, go into record (no preroll) - you will be recording, but there is nothing on the screen. Try again... same thing. Try again, same thing. Wow this sucks.

I have 2 monitors. This happens on both screens.
G5 2.7DP 8 gigs ram
PT 7.3.1
OSX 10.4.8

My session was 24/44.1 - 96 voices (2 chips)
maybe 16-18 disc tracks - very light rtas inst plug load. Very few tdm or rtas plugs -- just tracking lots of midi...

I wish I could find the "when I removed XYZ, the problem went away" -- but I can't seem to figure out what is getting in the way.

My plugs in use:

RMX (3 instances)
Ivory
Trilogy
Atmosphere
Kontakt 2
Mach5

Clocking to external clock @ 44.1 (Aardsync II)

Anyone have any ideas?
__________________
--Jeremy
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-24-2007, 12:47 PM
studiojimi's Avatar
studiojimi studiojimi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,115
Default Re: PT 7.3.1 - Still Features Random Graphic Freez

and another thing. . . .

it's not easy to document our situations sometimes with clients in the room

and ship them off to digi for their parusal

i don't even like to keep the internet on when i have pro tools running that's how vigilant the software issues have many of us.

we have to shake a tail feather quickly because most of us are honest and our faces show bafflement and our clients start looking at their watches hoping for a discount at the end of the day when stuff like this happens.

that's why we depend on YOU GUYS to test this stuff in beta...we are not beta

he paid...and then the problems we didn't pay for bite us in the butt and we have to adjust our billing and that comes out of our pocket.

we are customers wanted to be satisfied
__________________
CAZADOR RECORDING
PT10.3.10/HD6/192w16in/MTN.LION OS 10.8.5 / Westmere MacPro 8 Core W/20gRAM MAGMA-PE6R4/TDM&RTAS/WAVES Platinum/UA/Eventide Plugs/I usually record at 88.2
With GOD as my partner. . . I need to make my plans LARGER.

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-24-2007, 01:01 PM
macm macm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4
Default Re: PT 7.3.1 - Still Features Random Graphic Freez

I experienced this last weekend. I had been recording on a single track and then went back to do some quick edits (muted regions, etc.) on that same track. I went to zoom in and then back out and the waveform from the DELETED regions had re-appeared. Zoom back in and there was nothing there. Like you, I was under the gun so, I quickly quit protools, trash digi. databases from all the hard drives and booted back up. Still the same problem. So I selected the particular track that was giving my issues, duplicated the playlist and then consolidated the whole track to create a new file. That fixed the problem. Give that a shot!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-25-2007, 04:15 PM
Mark Dann Mark Dann is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: NYC, USA
Posts: 762
Default Re: PT 7.3.1 - Still Features Random Graphic Freez

Quote:
In case Digi needs confirmation from a 2nd party that this is a problem, I am writing to confirm it. I am using HD/Accel, Expansion|HD, PT 7.3.1, Mac Pro, OS X (10.4.8).
I've seen it in 7.3.1 as well.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-25-2007, 06:21 PM
Mark Wheaton Mark Wheaton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: LA, CA, USA
Posts: 938
Default Re: PT 7.3.1 - Still Features Random Graphic Freez

I am seeing it in 7.3.1 a lot, I try to ignore it during tracking but I hear it affect automation playback..
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-25-2007, 06:33 PM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default Re: PT 7.3.1 - Still Features Random Graphic Freez

I see this quite often too. It affects midi in particular, so doing overdubs whilst listening to midi tracks is risky.
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I'm getting Graphic Freezes Again after MDW 3.0 25ghosts Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 32 12-06-2009 09:47 AM
Random Graphic Characters in Audio Regions - PT TDM 6.2.3 ChrisMitchell Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 05-21-2008 11:25 AM
graphic freezes in mixer and edit windows nincompoop 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 11 02-08-2007 12:36 AM
7.3 Graphic Freezes 25ghosts Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 12-29-2006 04:03 PM
graphic freezes janrudi 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 04-25-2001 01:57 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:23 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com