Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-29-2011, 05:32 AM
Marsdy Marsdy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: England
Posts: 1,702
Default Pro Tools 10 looks great!!!

Avid have said the major changes and additions in PT9 were a direct result of feature requests in the Pro Tools Feedback Community. I think Avid has also said the Pro Tools Feedback Community is now fundamental to the development process of PT.

So... I'm looking at the most popular feature requests and wondering if this is what Pro Tools 10 is going to look like!!

http://protools.ideascale.com/a/idea...nFilter=active

Looks good to me although I'm surprised to see improved RTAS VI performance isn't higher up the list.

One thought though, if the Pro Tools Feedback Community is significant in driving PT development, isn't this giving a heads up to the competition as to what will be in the next PT version?
__________________
Dave Marsden
UK
Avid HDX1, PT12 HD, HD I/O 16x16, Avid S6 M10 24-5, 2013 12 Core Mac Pro. Robby The Robot meter bridge ornament.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-29-2011, 07:28 AM
spenner spenner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Somewhere under the rainbow
Posts: 1,202
Default Re: Pro Tools 10 looks great!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marsdy View Post
Avid have said the major changes and additions in PT9 were a direct result of feature requests in the Pro Tools Feedback Community. I think Avid has also said the Pro Tools Feedback Community is now fundamental to the development process of PT.

So... I'm looking at the most popular feature requests and wondering if this is what Pro Tools 10 is going to look like!!

http://protools.ideascale.com/a/idea...nFilter=active

Looks good to me although I'm surprised to see improved RTAS VI performance isn't higher up the list.

One thought though, if the Pro Tools Feedback Community is significant in driving PT development, isn't this giving a heads up to the competition as to what will be in the next PT version?
Yeah, I think that site is very cool and shows that AVID is really looking to better the product for it's users. Regarding the competition, several of the main request already exist in other DAW's and several that don't are specific to Pro Tools, so no worries there.

My take on the VI performance, RTAS processing plugins work fine so I'm not sure what can be done to make the VI format as efficient as VST. Can anybody verify that VST VI wrappers in PT work better than the RTAS version of the same plugin? If that is true... PT now has full ASIO support... VST already works great... See where I'm going? Maybe allowing full VST support would solve the VI issue many of us have. RTAS processing plugins work fine, leave it alone and allow VST support being that every major VI supports both formats.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-29-2011, 10:24 AM
25ghosts 25ghosts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 3,333
Default Re: Pro Tools 10 looks great!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marsdy View Post
Avid have said the major changes and additions in PT9 were a direct result of feature requests in the Pro Tools Feedback Community. I think Avid has also said the Pro Tools Feedback Community is now fundamental to the development process of PT.

So... I'm looking at the most popular feature requests and wondering if this is what Pro Tools 10 is going to look like!!

http://protools.ideascale.com/a/idea...nFilter=active

Looks good to me although I'm surprised to see improved RTAS VI performance isn't higher up the list.

One thought though, if the Pro Tools Feedback Community is significant in driving PT development, isn't this giving a heads up to the competition as to what will be in the next PT version?
I would B perfectly happy if PT 9.1 would be relieved of the bug-weight it carries in form of all the Protools 6,7, & 8 Bugs STILL lurking inside V9.

It is 2011 and the region list still CANNOT sort 10 after 9 but puts it in front of 1...

That is the intelligence level of an infant....



Personally, I think going from PT8.1 to 9.0 is proof of weakness. Seems as if AVIDS CEO has become infected with Steve Jobs'session....
In a professional world,,,, WHO GIVES A SHID ABOUT the version Number. Latter should be an indicator of IMPROVEMENT and not means of marketing.
PfuIIIIIIIIIII
__________________
2016 MacBook Pro Retina | 16GB RAM | 1TB SSD | OS X Latest - PTHD 12 Latest | 4K LG Thunderbolt Display | Logic Pro 10
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-29-2011, 10:58 AM
YoRugMan YoRugMan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: never too far from a PC
Posts: 807
Default Re: Pro Tools 10 looks great!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marsdy View Post
Looks good to me although I'm surprised to see improved RTAS VI performance isn't higher up the list.
Didn't you see "build a better computer" higher up the list though?
.
__________________
"Well, of course, their requests for subsidies was not Paraguayan in and of it is as it were the United States government would never have if the president, our president, had not and as far as I know thats the way it will always be. Is that clear?"- Chevy Chase, Spies Like Us.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-29-2011, 11:09 AM
TCM's Avatar
TCM TCM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Europe
Posts: 1,508
Default Re: Pro Tools 10 looks great!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by 25ghosts View Post
I would B perfectly happy if PT 9.1 would be relieved of the bug-weight it carries in form of all the Protools 6,7, & 8 Bugs STILL lurking inside V9.
+1
__________________
002R BLA mod and Mbox mini 2, PT 11.3.2,
HD Native, HD IO 16x8x8, PT 12.4, Win 10 Pro 64, Asrock X99 Extreme6/3.1, i7-6850K, 32 GB Ram, SSD system drive
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-29-2011, 11:18 AM
Bill Denton Bill Denton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 2,644
Default Re: Pro Tools 10 looks great!!!

#1 1039 votes - Freeze track feature

#2 569 votes - Print to track option

#4 497 votes - Pro Tools 64-bit Application

Am I the only one who sees the dichotomy of the #1 feature request having nearly twice as many votes as the #2 feature?

Especially when it and the #2 option, which, while #1 and #2 are quite useful, would not positively impact as many users as would #4, converting PT to 64-bit.

Kinda makes you wonder if some "book cooking" might have gone on somewhere along the way...
__________________
X
Note that all opinions, observations, whatever, in this post are mine, unless I'm being mean or am wrong, in which case it's somebody else's fault. I do not work for Avid (their loss)...my only relationship with Avid is that of a customer (when I'm not too poor to buy stuff, like now)...and that hot administrative assistant...that's more of a "thing" than a "relationship" (that should keep them guessing for a while...)

Just rockin'...what more is there?

Bill in Pittsburgh
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-29-2011, 11:25 AM
YoRugMan YoRugMan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: never too far from a PC
Posts: 807
Default Re: Pro Tools 10 looks great!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Denton View Post
....while #1 and #2 are quite useful, would not positively impact as many users as would #4, converting PT to 64-bit.
I don't want to spark yet another 64bit debate (unless everyone wants to of course), but, and I've said this a few times here too;
Professional producers and engineers have been "stuck" in the 32bit world of music making for a long time now, and we've all enjoyed some great music as a result.
So I for one don't think the lack of 64bit is too big a deal.
.
__________________
"Well, of course, their requests for subsidies was not Paraguayan in and of it is as it were the United States government would never have if the president, our president, had not and as far as I know thats the way it will always be. Is that clear?"- Chevy Chase, Spies Like Us.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-29-2011, 11:52 AM
Kobra Kobra is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 92
Default Re: Pro Tools 10 looks great!!!

Personally, I go back and forth between PT and Logic and I don't ever use track freeze, but I understand why some users like it.
In order to understand what kind of impact 64-bit has, check this out:

http://www.nedwebserver.com/ned-web/...7c50v112r29975

- I feel that this by far outweighs the importance of freezing tracks, since it in many ways takes care of the need for it, with benefits:
- saves the time of sitting through the freeze process (it's not instant).
- if you need to make changes on a track, it's quicker vs. un-freezing and re-freezing
__________________
Macbook Pro 15" 2.66 i7, 8GB RAM / 10.11.5 / Pro Tools 12 / Komplete Ultimate / EWQLSO Gold Play Edition / Steven Slate Drums / Logic Pro / Apogee Duet
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-29-2011, 12:18 PM
YoRugMan YoRugMan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: never too far from a PC
Posts: 807
Default Re: Pro Tools 10 looks great!!!

I'm having trouble with that link Kobra - and I have everything installed.....
anyone else?
__________________
"Well, of course, their requests for subsidies was not Paraguayan in and of it is as it were the United States government would never have if the president, our president, had not and as far as I know thats the way it will always be. Is that clear?"- Chevy Chase, Spies Like Us.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-29-2011, 02:40 PM
Dirt_ Dirt_ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Winnipeg,MB,Canada
Posts: 186
Default Re: Pro Tools 10 looks great!!!

Soooooo, why the heck am I burning up so much time worrying about getting pt9 to install/run smoothly? How much is logic pro and will it work with my 2626's??!!

That's just amazing as far as I'm concerned.
__________________
-Mac mini i7 Quad 2.3, 4g ram, OSX 10.10.2, PT11.2.1, iLok 2.
-Apogee Quartet, 2 Profire 2626's.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CPTK 2 with 2008 MP, great. PT 11HDX with 2012 MP, not so great. Switch drive? Christer-André Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 2 02-04-2014 01:16 PM
pro tools 10 is great but... AxeDye Pro Tools 10 5 10-26-2011 09:45 PM
URS Plug-ins - Great Sound, Great Service rockrev 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 03-18-2004 09:27 AM
A great new Pro tools book... protoolsuser Tips & Tricks 35 02-02-2003 06:50 AM
Digi and everyone - I've got a great idea for a great new feature [Benjamin] Tips & Tricks 65 10-13-2002 07:26 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:12 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com