Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 02-19-2007, 06:25 PM
uno1234 uno1234 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,459
Default Re: Some things I\'d like to see in PT 8 HD (or 7.5

A "Combination" plugin, much like Reason's Combinator or Waves GTR stomp, where you can load a series of plugins within the Combination plugin, control parameters with macros, and recall these complex effects combinations from the presets menu.

For example, within the Combination plugin you could load a Xpand synth sound, a cool delay with Echo Farm, and an SSL channel strip to pump up the sound. Then you could create a macro that would control multiple parameters at once. Taking it even further, you could then create a Hyrbid plugin with a nice Revibe preset in the same Combination setup, and control it all from within 1 interface. Once you have your perfect sound out of 5-7 plugins, you can save it as a preset and then when that preset is recalled, all these plugins with their setting will load at once. And it would only take 1 insert!

That would be so cool.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-19-2007, 07:38 PM
rinky rinky is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: NorCal
Posts: 222
Default Re: Some things I\'d like to see in PT 8 HD (or 7.5

With midi, in velocity mode, being able to select midi velocities, NOT the notes themselves, and to edit these selections is my foremost request. If there's a way to do that now, then I've been missing this feature. It's so frustrating to see the hardest or softest hit velocities and not being able to select all of them as a group and just drag them (more than one at a time). The only way i could do this now is to audition the notes one by one until the target note is found! I know that one can select velocity ranges and filter them but why not have this feature so the edits could be done at the spot, without specifying them via the velocity filter... Please?
__________________
PT 2019.5
PT HDX
Magma ExpressBox3T PCIe Thunderbolt Exp Chassis
Blackmagic Multidock, SSDs
iMac Pro
64 GB ram
OS X Mojave
Somehow, musicians are now technicians!
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-19-2007, 07:52 PM
dj_grimmace dj_grimmace is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Posts: 331
Default Re: Some things I\'d like to see in PT 8 HD (or 7.5

I had a thought today about how nice it might be to have a customizable right click menu. Or better yet, programmable macros, (like a fairlight).
__________________
PT HD Native 11.3.1
Windows 7 sp1, Intel i7-4770 @3.4 gh
32 gigs ram
PT 11 HDN
Omni
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-19-2007, 08:23 PM
ronwasserman's Avatar
ronwasserman ronwasserman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 1,850
Default Re: Some things I\'d like to see in PT 8 HD (or 7.5

midi comparable to DP or Logic circa 1999. (just kidding.....sort of.)

I hear digi has a couple of previous motu guys working on the midi end of things....I do hope it's true and that we'll see some big improvements soon.
__________________
Ron Wasserman
http://www.ronw.com
http://www.imdb.me/ronwasserman
http://www.fishertheband.com
Mac Pro (Late 2013) 3.5 GHz 6-core Intel Xeon E5 - 32 GB Ram / 1TB Flash Storage - Avid HD I/O - Latest Mac OS - HDX3 - Latest PT Version.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-19-2007, 08:36 PM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default Re: Some things I\'d like to see in PT 8 HD (or 7.5!)

What I'd like soon is:

-) No more screen freezes. It makes working with MIDI unpredictable.

That's it. I'm happy with the features in 7.3, but I'd like to see Pro Tools stable and hassle free.
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 02-19-2007, 08:42 PM
Judson Judson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 54
Default Re: Some things I\'d like to see in PT 8 HD (or 7.5

[It's so frustrating to see the hardest or softest hit velocities and not being able to select all of them as a group and just drag them (more than one at a time). The only way i could do this now is to audition the notes one by one until the target note is found! I know that one can select velocity ranges and filter them but why not have this feature so the edits could be done at the spot, without specifying them via the velocity filter... Please?

[/QUOTE]

i second this one...velocity editing could be vastly improved...would also be great to hear the note change as you move the velocity up and down. Good to hear that Digi may have some help from old MOTU folks...I'd love to see more MIDI processing like the retrograde and reverse functions in DP also. i think velocity editing in Logic and Cubase is far superior to DP though.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 02-19-2007, 10:41 PM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,379
Default Re: Some things I\'d like to see in PT 8 HD (or 7.5

Quote:
While were at it. How about a option for real time or faster then realtime bounce?
On most of the non-realtime bounces I´ve received from composers so far I had to spend hours pecil-tooling out digital clicks and glitches. I hope this is never going to become reality in PT. Last minute deliveries, through everything to the poor music-editor and have him edit all ther clicks away. No thanks. I now budget an extra day for click-removal of logic-bounces.
Great time-saver isn´t it?

frank.
__________________
PTHDn 2019.6 (OSX10.14.4), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 02-19-2007, 11:03 PM
Sutee Sangsareechon Sutee Sangsareechon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Bangkok, Thailand
Posts: 191
Default Re: Some things I\'d like to see in PT 8 HD (or 7.5!)

Need Digi to fix this bug before 7.5 or 8. Pls

MIDI Notes error when play in between pre-roll before the punch-in point

http://duc.digidesign.com/showflat.p...v=#Post1109930
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 02-19-2007, 11:27 PM
Tony Shepperd Tony Shepperd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 346
Default Re: Some things I\'d like to see in PT 8 HD (or 7.5

Quote:
How about a "plug in 'well' window" (maybe Command 6 on Numeric Keypad?) that could hold your favorite 25 plugs or some such (5 x 5), that you could then drag plugs onto the channels you want and it would be mono it you "left click dragged" and stereo if you "right click dragged."

Or perhaps it would be a 'modifier drag' if this conflicts too much with contextual menus.

I currently do this by having 5 inactive channels with my favorite plugs, but as I run out of DSP, it is sometimes too much to make a track active to option drag the plugs.

Just a thought. No, I have made a feature request. Should I?

Am I just lazy? Should I work harder on my templates and "import session data" resources. Thoughts?


Okay try this.

Hold down the command key and go to your pulldown plugin menu.
Select any plugin. That plugin should now show up and the bottom of your plugin menu.
The same thing should work for Audio suite as well!
Thanks to Gil Gowing for passing that one along.
__________________
Mixing in the box, requires thinking outside the box.

My New Instructional Mixing DVD 2 is Shipping
www.tonysound.com
http://twitter.com/tonysound
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 02-20-2007, 02:19 AM
mhmh mhmh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Frankfurt, Germany
Posts: 515
Default Re: Some things I\'d like to see in PT 8 HD (or 7.5

Quote:
How about a "plug in 'well' window" (maybe Command 6 on Numeric Keypad?) that could hold your favorite 25 plugs or some such (5 x 5), that you could then drag plugs onto the channels you want and it would be mono it you "left click dragged" and stereo if you "right click dragged."

Correct me if I misunderstood you, but for all I know, they´ve done that in 7.3.
In workspace you can now build your own catalog(s) with favourite settings of all your plugins and then
do just that: drag the plug in onto the insert selector.
To access my "Insert" catalog quickly, I made a window configuration for it.


Martin
__________________
Mac Pro 2,4 GHz 12-Core Intel Xeon (Westmere) 32 GB RAM, OSX 10.10.5, HD I/O 16x16 analog, HD I/O 16x16 digital, 192, PT HDX2, PT HD 12.6.0

http://www.pelhamundhaas.de/index2.html
http://www.pelhamundhaas.de/vita.html
www.3-p.de
www.imglashaus.de
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The little things... Stig Eliassen Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 03-29-2011 07:40 AM
It's the little things. Drew Mazurek ICON & C|24 0 10-17-2007 10:05 AM
iMac G5 !!!good things and bad things!!! Jervy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 04-28-2005 01:36 AM
OT: things to get used to in OSX pk_hat 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 12 10-13-2003 09:50 PM
3 things I can't do in OSX Richard Barrie Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 06-28-2003 08:42 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:57 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com