Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-17-2019, 08:57 AM
LSD-Studio LSD-Studio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 41
Default Default Calibration 192io vs HD (0.775V / 1.228V)

Hello,
when I upgraded my 192io to the Avid HD 8x8x8, I notice that the output volume was louder than it was on the 192.
on the 192 the analog output's volume matched the digital spdif outputs volume...

I did some measuring and found out that the 192 came calibrated to
-18dBFs = 0dBu = 0.775V

While the HD came at
-18dBFs = +4dBu = 1.228V

theoretically the 1.228V should be correct for the +4dBu outputs of the Interface, so apparently the 192io came calibrated "wrong" (to 0dBu instead of +4dBu).

has anyone noticed anything similar with they blue vs gray interfaces?

I also found it odd that the "icorrect" 0dBu output seems to match the digital spdif output better than the "correct" +4dBu calibrated outputs
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-17-2019, 09:55 AM
Rich Breen Rich Breen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Burbank, CA USA
Posts: 1,640
Default Re: Default Calibration 192io vs HD (0.775V / 1.228V)

Probably somebody just calibrated the 192 to -14 before it got to you - 192s were factory cal'd to -18dBFS = "0VU" = +4dBu.

Quote:
Originally Posted by LSD-Studio View Post
...I also found it odd that the "icorrect" 0dBu output seems to match the digital spdif output better than the "correct" +4dBu calibrated outputs
No idea what you mean by this - SPDIF is digital so of course depends on the subsequent D/A for calibration.
__________________
http://www.richbreen.com

----------------------------------------
MacPro 5,1 Dual Hex, OS 10.12.6, PT 2018 HDX, Avid HD I/Os and Metric Halo ULN8, Avid C24.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-17-2019, 11:43 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,089
Default Re: Default Calibration 192io vs HD (0.775V / 1.228V)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Breen View Post
Probably somebody just calibrated the 192 to -14 before it got to you - 192s were factory cal'd to -18dBFS = "0VU" = +4dBu.
^^ this.

Most people don't realise that 96 HD boxes were calibrated to -14 so when someone needed more track count than could afford 192 boxes, the usual trick was to calibrate 192 boxes on par with 96 boxes, because it was possible.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help with my 192io Ryno1127 Digidesign Hardware & Software 3 01-25-2015 02:37 PM
my output rev.d won't go lower to 1.228v melvindesk Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 07-26-2012 08:25 AM
Need help with 192io please vgoodman1956 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 10-28-2011 06:04 PM
Considering HD2 and 192io but have a few questions EF Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 03-22-2007 02:59 AM
3rd party DA for 192IO davemc Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 06-11-2003 08:49 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:19 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com