Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-06-2011, 01:13 PM
toolowd toolowd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 60
Default need help with upgrade choices

Hi folks,

I am considering, after long last, upgrading my rig. I am currently running 2 pt mix systems in a g4 (actually a mix +++, as the 2nd mix core is used as a farm)

I also run a 16 fader pro control.

I would like to move everything up to a USED HD system with 16 analog inputs.

I have these questions specifically.

What older HD systems would give me:

1. a STABLE environment
2. Equivalent power
3. pro control support

I need to find a way to not spend too much, but am finding I need to do this.

Any way to find a compatibility grid like there used to be on the old site. i have spent some time looking and can't find it.

thanks

rich
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-07-2011, 09:20 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,875
Default Re: need help with upgrade choices

My 2 cents only(as a serious observer of this idea). A Mac Pro 8 core and HD3(or higher with a chassis) should be a solid setup. As for IO, you have lots of choices from budget(used 96IO) to the moon(new HD IO) or options from Lynx and Apogee). This can get you all the way to Pro Tools 10, which is where the future hits the wall. PT11 is reportedly going to abandon most of the old hardware, so you won't go any further, but you should be in a solid place that will serve your needs for a few years. Word is that PT10 is really solid with HD cards. I see used Mac Pro 8 cores on eBay for under $2K. Lots of used HD cards floating around. IIRC, you can stuff HD3(PCIe) into a Mac Pro, but more than that would require an expansion chassis(which opens you up to PCI and PCIx options)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-08-2011, 05:54 PM
toolowd toolowd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 60
Default Re: need help with upgrade choices

Thanks for that info. Where can I find the compatibility grids? Are they still here?

rich
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-09-2011, 11:12 AM
James Drake James Drake is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 592
Default Re: need help with upgrade choices

if you are not looking for much increased power from a g4 mix system, then you can go to a G5 with HD3 PCI and PTHD 8.0.1cs2 for super cheap on ebay (£1000 ish excluding I/O).

i have just finished 2 years in a place stuck on G5 with HD8, and it feels super nice now to move up to a current computer and PT10. but seriously there is nothing stopping you dealing with 90% of pro music studio environments with G5 HD3 systems.

one consideration is that for 7 more days you can trade your 888 boxes for 1000 somethings off a new avid I/O but you cannot run these on a G5, you need to move to mac pro and pcie cards.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Drum recording: 3 room choices, 3 channels, 4 mic choices - pls lend your advice!! edgarbc1 Tips & Tricks 4 12-03-2009 09:40 AM
Upgrade Choices syMPh Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 09-30-2008 04:24 AM
Upgrade Plus Plugin choices Lister Coleman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 12-19-2005 10:53 AM
i wanna upgrade my AD, currently using a rosetta...too many choices! help!! AEW Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 02-25-2003 11:32 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:09 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com