Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-26-2002, 05:19 PM
Carl Sealove Carl Sealove is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 91
Default Firewire Video and Audio Simultaneously

Mac G4 Quicksilver Dual 1GHz
1.5 Gig ram
PT Mix/24
PT 5.1.1 software
OS 9.2.2
Canopus ADVC-100
(2) 120Gig FW Drives (Oxford911 of course)

I've been running audio from an external 120 Gig EZQuest Firewire Drive-no problems. Recently, I added the Canopus Firewire ADVC-100 capture box. This system works great. I have no problems running Video from the firewire drive and audio from an internal ATA 80 gig drive.

I have tried running audio from one of the 120Gig firewire drives and video from the other 120Gig firewire drive. This seems to bog everything down. Messages come up saying that a firewire drive connection has been lost. So far, I can get a few tracks of audio to play in this manner, but any more than a few results in the error message and computer freezes.

The Canopus box and the firewire drive dedicated to video share the same Mac firewire bus. The dedicated audio firewire drive is on the other Mac firewire bus.

I had assumed that the G4 Quicksilver has discreet firewire buses and that simultaneous firewire audio and video would be possible. Does any one have experience with this? (I know that I can always use the ATA drives for audio, but I want to see what the limits of firewire are - perhaps I just found the limits of firewire bandwidth.)

Thanks,in advance, for any assistance.
__________________
Sealove
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-27-2002, 04:40 AM
Fokke van Saane Fokke van Saane is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 474
Default Re: Firewire Video and Audio Simultaneously

Here; DP800, OS9.2.2 Canopus and one 120 GB FW drive.
The best results i gained by taking the audio off the FW drives, taking the video off the internal ATA drive. Someday, when i have time, i should partition the internal ATA drive and split it up in system/applications etc and a seperate partition just for video to keep it as less fragmented as possible.

It works great here, try it at your place too.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-27-2002, 06:17 AM
Zownd Zownd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Leiderdorp
Posts: 227
Default Re: Firewire Video and Audio Simultaneously

One thing that really speeds up the system is hiding the video track from the protools edit window.
You might already have known [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-27-2002, 08:59 AM
CPettigrew CPettigrew is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: La Crescenta, CA USA
Posts: 681
Default Re: Firewire Video and Audio Simultaneously

Carl-

I think I have good news for you. Here's what I did this morning: (after coffee) Took a 30-voice 48/24 session off the internal and put it on a OWC firewire drive. Plugged it into one of the firewire ports on the dual 1 gig. Plugged the second firewire drive, the one with the DV files, and the Director's Cut box, into my powered firewire hub, and plugged that into the other firewire port of the dual 1 gig. Trash the copied audio/sessions/fades from the internal hard drive.

Open session, pull in DV files (different movie, but same frame rate) and voila, smooth, unencumbered playback. I have no plugs; simple 30 voice (mostly 16 tracks, with occasional overlays and crossfades) session.

So I do think it's important to group your video elements (file, DV box) on the hub and have your audio on its own port. I have the monitor set to a Millions of colors, too. No hiccups.

Anyway, we'll talk later. I'll leave the session up. Not that it matters, but it's a Belkin 6-port firewire hub. The drives are OWC, running 9.2.2, ProTools 5.3.1.

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-28-2002, 12:04 AM
Carl Sealove Carl Sealove is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 91
Default Re: Firewire Video and Audio Simultaneously

Thanks for the replies.

Interesting -

In further tests I was able to get 32 tracks of audio (48k, 16bit low edit density) AND DV Firewire video to all play off the same 120Gig firewire drive!

Other configurations that work are:
A. Canopus ADVC-100 on one mac firewire bus.
(2) daisy chained 120 gig firewire drives on the other mac firewire bus.

B. (2) daisy chained 120 gig firewire drives on one mac firewire bus with the Canopus daisy chained after the drives on the same bus.

In scenarios A & B, audio and video will play from separate drives.

The problems seem to crop up when the drives are on different mac firewire buses and I try to use one for audio and the other for video with the Canopus connected to either bus.

Anybody have any idea what's up here??
__________________
Sealove
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-28-2002, 06:42 AM
mikejavo mikejavo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 48
Default Re: Firewire Video and Audio Simultaneously

As far as I know, most of the 120 GB ATA drives in Firewire enclosures are 5400 RPM. If your's are, that may have a significant impact.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-30-2002, 08:39 AM
Carl Sealove Carl Sealove is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 91
Default Re: Firewire Video and Audio Simultaneously

These are both 120Gig 7200 RPM drives.
One is a Western Digital, the other IBM.

Any other thoughts?
__________________
Sealove
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-03-2002, 09:33 AM
JamerJ JamerJ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: La Ca
Posts: 100
Default Re: Firewire Video and Audio Simultaneously

Also try running just the video from
an internal drive and the audio from
the firewire drives. This seems to
do it for me...

[img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img] [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img] [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img] [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img] [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]
__________________
Jim
JSM Music NY/LA
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video Out Firewire Freezes After Import Audio CPettigrew Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 07-27-2010 01:24 AM
Firewire 800 + 400 can't be used simultaneously? Why? GordonFreeman Storage Subsystems 8 06-04-2009 06:29 PM
Recording automation & audio simultaneously? BlankJeff Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 5 07-13-2006 12:29 PM
Video into Fuse and audio into 001 simultaneously.... Raven 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 07-27-2001 04:39 AM
Firewire was Designed for Digital Audio & Video..What's the Problem??? Brian Kingman General Discussion 6 10-24-2000 09:22 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:56 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com