Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-22-2002, 08:33 PM
acesfull acesfull is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: nashville, tn, usa
Posts: 136
Default Front end choice

I've been offered a good price for my SSL, and have decided to take it. Most of my production is in the smaller budget area. I have an HD rig with 32 in, and 48 out. I'm interested in suggestions for a console or control surface. I'm not really interested in ProControl.

On my latest production, while compairing the summing buss of the HD system, to the SSL, there was no contest.

Where to go now? Any reports on the Yamaha DM2000?

thanks
__________________
acesfull
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-23-2002, 01:37 PM
Shawn Simpson Shawn Simpson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 1,948
Default Re: Front end choice

Quote:
Originally posted by acesfull:
I

On my latest production, while compairing the summing buss of the HD system, to the SSL, there was no contest.

thanks
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">May I ask for clarification? You're selling your SSL, does that mean you liked the HD summing buss?

I don't want to start a debate on the topic, I think HD sounds awesome, just want to make sure I understand your question.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-26-2002, 10:15 PM
JamerJ JamerJ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: La Ca
Posts: 100
Default Re: Front end choice

Shawn, you must be joking...

Don't you think he meant the SSL
with its 20 plus pounds of power
supplies JUST for the mix buss stomped
over the Digi?

Last time I checked, SSL summing
blew the crap out of "in the box"
mixing for certain program material.
Some program material, such as sound
design and electronica seems to sound
fine in PT though if well mixed...

I would recommed looking at a set of
TL Audio Tube mixers, one with the optional
24 bit digital output card.

They go for about 2,700 each and can
be linked. Check out:
http://www.hhbusa.com/FMPro?-db=HHB_....htm&-Token=US A&Product_Code==TLAM3&-FIND

If you've enjoyed the mixbuss of the SSL
stay anolog if you can. Another direction
that looks interesting is the Manley 32
channel mixer, however its not a console but
a rackmount.

A used early Euphonix could also be good
direction if you can find one. Digital
controlled analog would be a good handshake
with PT...

[img]images/icons/blush.gif[/img] [img]images/icons/wink.gif[/img] [img]images/icons/blush.gif[/img] [img]images/icons/wink.gif[/img] [img]images/icons/wink.gif[/img]
__________________
Jim
JSM Music NY/LA
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-26-2002, 10:22 PM
JamerJ JamerJ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: La Ca
Posts: 100
Default Re: Front end choice

(Bad link above)

http://www.hhbusa.com/000/usamain.htm

Scroll down to the Tube Mixer

[img]images/icons/rolleyes.gif[/img] [img]images/icons/rolleyes.gif[/img]
__________________
Jim
JSM Music NY/LA
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-26-2002, 10:25 PM
G-MIX G-MIX is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 26
Default Re: Front end choice

HAVE YOU LOOKED AT THE NEW TRIDENT 80-5.1 CONSOLE W/ AUTOMATION!
SAME EXACT SOUND THE VINTAGE TRIDENT 80B SERIES! CHECK IT OUT
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-27-2002, 01:55 AM
Mark Haliday Mark Haliday is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 770
Default Re: Front end choice

Ok, so I know this is not about front end, but if you do level automation, think again, because to my knowledge only Ethernet controllers like Pro Control etc. will give you the fader resolution and confort close to what you get on a SSL. You only really need one bank of 8 faders for that.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-27-2002, 06:44 AM
Jules Jules is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,565
Default Re: Front end choice

Ashley 16 faders is better for two handed operation. Thats what I have.
__________________
Jules
London, UK
Come hang with us here!
www.gearslutz.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-27-2002, 07:12 AM
Shawn Simpson Shawn Simpson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 1,948
Default Re: Front end choice

Quote:
Originally posted by JamerJ:
Shawn, you must be joking...

[img]images/icons/blush.gif[/img] [img]images/icons/wink.gif[/img] [img]images/icons/blush.gif[/img] [img]images/icons/wink.gif[/img] [img]images/icons/wink.gif[/img]
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">Actually, when I first read his post above, it came off as a "my HD sounds great, so I'm selling my SSL" type of thing. After reading it again, it makes more sense.

Now back to the topic,

I think the DM2000 will probably be a really cool desk. It can actually mimic 3x HUI units giving you a total of 24 faders of MIDI control over ProTools mixer. But if you don't care about that, I'd say the dmxr100 has a pretty good reputation.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT 10 It's all about choice andymae Pro Tools 10 0 10-26-2011 06:09 AM
Help with RAM choice remis 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 10-12-2010 11:52 AM
help with choice conviction 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 03-31-2009 02:27 AM
Mic Pre choice? Susurrus Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 14 12-21-2002 10:17 PM
What is the best choice for HD? jbell Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 11-25-1999 10:49 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:19 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com