Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Live Sound > VENUE Live Sound Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-19-2007, 03:35 PM
Tisebans Tisebans is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3
Default D-show security

Is there a way to restrict certain functions of the D-Show systme with a profile desk? Let me better explain. I am the staff FOH engineer for a church, but we also use volunteers to run events such as wedding, funerals and other programs. Several of our volunteers like to get in and mess with setting that they shouldn't be touching. Is there a way to lock them out from changing things like events, system config and such, or should I just rely on having a thumb drive with the proper system setup that stays with me.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-19-2007, 10:39 PM
dstagl dstagl is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 415
Default Re: D-show security

There's currently no way to lock things out. I would recommend backing everything up on a couple thumb drives; keep one with you and one stashed someplace safe.

Dave
__________________
David Stagl - Mixer | FOH Engineer
http://www.staglproductions.com
http://www.goingto11.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-27-2007, 06:13 PM
darth darth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sili Valley, CA
Posts: 11
Default Re: D-show security

I agree with Dave. We backup after every service and keep that USB out of reach.

We sometimes use a very Draconian method to keep things safe. We load a scaled down desk before shutting down. This show only provides a few wireless mics, CD, IPOD, and Piano. Everything else is disconnected in the patchbay and removed from the strips.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-01-2008, 05:33 PM
RCaldeira RCaldeira is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Figueira da Foz - Portugal
Posts: 11
Wink

I have the same "problem"...

Yes... It would be great having a way to lock the desk like a switch that disables every button when i'm away...
Or even better, a way to "desapear" the snapshots button, leaving the recall, next, previous working...

I'm working with a timecode show and every day i have to "transfer" my show because we never know what somewone did before in the desk...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-02-2008, 09:57 AM
dstagl dstagl is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 415
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RCaldeira View Post
I have the same "problem"...

Yes... It would be great having a way to lock the desk like a switch that disables every button when i'm away...
Or even better, a way to "desapear" the snapshots button, leaving the recall, next, previous working...

I'm working with a timecode show and every day i have to "transfer" my show because we never know what somewone did before in the desk...
v2.7 introduced a "Lock" button in the Options tab, but it's still not very secure because all it takes is to move the trackball and the unlock button shows up on the screen. They still need some kind of password protection.

Dave
__________________
David Stagl - Mixer | FOH Engineer
http://www.staglproductions.com
http://www.goingto11.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-02-2008, 01:33 PM
emluper emluper is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 472
Default

Hey Dave,

Darth and I were at Digi with Sheldon yesterday and gave him a good ribbing about password protection. Unfortunately us HOW guys are the only ones asking for it (though we've been asking for it since before the console came out). It's very difficult and we just are not a large enough portion of the market to make it a priority over the other things that they want to accomplish first.

BTW. are you going to make it out for AES?

Erik
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-02-2008, 03:49 PM
ThomasPMusic ThomasPMusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 189
Default

I am thinking of installing an Alesis Multimix at our FOH. There will be 2 RF mics, 3 jacks of our front floor pocket, plus the built in IPOD dock for music, and a stereo line from the video room for DVD, etc.. These inputs would always be online without access or knowledge about our amp/patching room.

The outputs of that mixer will go into the Galileo processors extra (analog) inputs and have "Valet key" settings so the system will only go but so loud. Only our higher level techs would learn the venue, but the room could function easily by anyone on the audio team for simple meetings, etc... When I, or any team member, mixes on the venue, I'll just turn down the output of the Mastermix and mix as usual, with the digital outputs from the desk feeding the other inputs to the rig (at normal operating level).

I would just disable the venue from powering up, perhaps with a key-switch.
Any thoughts? I am all for having a team (way down the road) where anyone could work the venue, but it would be nice to have a simple prayer service without a high-level tech at FOH.
TP
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-03-2008, 09:51 AM
Sheldon Radford's Avatar
Sheldon Radford Sheldon Radford is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 1,293
Default

Hey Erik,

It good seeing you and Darth the other day. ("Darth"...ha ha , now I get it...)

Let's see if I can clarify and expand on the security discussion we had. The worship market is a significant (and growing) segment for VENUE, and we definitely understand the importance of (and need for) a security feature. No question 'bout that. In fact, most fixed installations could use it - nightclubs, casinos, theaters, etc.

It's really a matter of priority and balance against all of the other features being asked for, but I can assure you it's high on the list. Yes, some users are inconvenienced because there are no security levels at this time, but this thread has also shown there some clever workarounds available so we ask for your patience a little while longer...

...and may the force be with you.

Sheldon
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-03-2008, 03:58 PM
dstagl dstagl is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 415
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ThomasPMusic View Post
I would just disable the venue from powering up, perhaps with a key-switch.
Any thoughts? I am all for having a team (way down the road) where anyone could work the venue, but it would be nice to have a simple prayer service without a high-level tech at FOH.
TP
Well, I'm in more of a "club" type security need where our FOH is not really secure. When the house is open, if everyone working at FOH walks away for water or the bathroom or a meeting, FOH is wide open. The Lock screen is definitely a deterrent, but easily bypassed, and the scary thing is if someone were to dig around and unlock the console, the first screen they see is the Options.

Dave
__________________
David Stagl - Mixer | FOH Engineer
http://www.staglproductions.com
http://www.goingto11.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-05-2008, 07:31 AM
sonicboost sonicboost is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Apex, North Carolina - USA
Posts: 114
Default password the "lock/unlock"

yeah - guys I sure do wish you could make this password issue more of a priority. Its the the one thing I hear all the HOW guys mentioning they want to see addressed. This ability would revolutionize our use of this console here at Colonial. It would also make the "Profile" a much more viable option in our youth venue since it is an open FOH in the middle of the auditorium. Right now we're using a Yamaha M2500 analog console that was a hand-me-down from our upgrade to the "Venue" in the main gymnatorium. I could literally 'sell' this idea (the upgrade to the "Profile" system)to our staff based on the ability to 'lock' the console coupled with the ability to train volunteers once (since we already have the "Venue").
Any way you could bump up this password lock/unlock feature on the priority list?
p.s. - we are already using one of the workaround methods mentioned above. It just doesn't address the issue of the console sitting out in the middle of a room full of teenagers. That would be like Gollum gazing at the ring. Haha!
__________________
CONFIDENT IN CHRIST,
Eric Myers

Last edited by sonicboost; 08-05-2008 at 07:34 AM. Reason: workaround comment
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Loading show files in SHOW mode? fohluke VENUE Live Sound Systems 2 03-29-2012 11:46 AM
Pro Tools/D-Show standalone integration idea with D-Show show files/virt. soundcheck digidesigner VENUE Live Sound Systems 2 11-08-2011 02:52 PM
What internet security do you use? banjo71 Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 4 12-26-2010 11:06 AM
Security updates ishur Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 04-01-2006 11:33 AM
OSX security vulnerability mindnoise 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 05-23-2004 11:31 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:27 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com