Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Pro Tools | S3

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-02-2016, 01:37 PM
xmorten xmorten is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Scandinavia
Posts: 3
Default Can the S3 give feedback from plugins?

Is it possible to view feedback from plugins on the S3. Compression amount , internal load meter for a channelstrip etc ?

All the best :)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-02-2016, 05:59 PM
mattrixx mattrixx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Adelaide - Australia
Posts: 801
Default Re: Can the S3 give feedback from plugins?

No, the S3 will report parameters and their respective settings, however, you will need to view the GUI of such plugin to see amount of gain reduction for example.
__________________
Matt McKenzie-Smith
mattrixx.net
SourceConnect - mattrixx
AVID Collab user - mattrixx
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-02-2016, 06:14 PM
xmorten xmorten is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Scandinavia
Posts: 3
Default Re: Can the S3 give feedback from plugins?

So much for the dream about getting rid of the monitor sitting in front of me. Is it not possible theese days, to mix digital, analogue style - not staring at that DAW window. Feels like all controllers will do somthing, but never quite free you from the DAW chain

I had a dream of a mixer in front of the speakers and the DAW monitor 180 degress behind me. Turn around to edit or and fiddle, but everytime you mix, you turn away from the screen and mix with your ears
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-02-2016, 07:05 PM
teedeecee teedeecee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sydney
Posts: 98
Default Re: Can the S3 give feedback from plugins?

Maybe its the window setups that I have chosen, but I find that with the right choice of windows and environment settings, I find that a few minutes into a mix that the screen seems to disappear and my mind is freed to focus on the balance.

A few things I find really helpful are:

- Dark menubar ( thats OSX of course ), dark clean Desktop image. Clean desktop (no icons in view).
- Reduce your monitors visual impact. My colleagues know I have a predilection for gaffing around a monitor if its got ugly logos, LEDs, silver trim etc. Have even gaffed over the OS menubar
- Colour temperature of monitor pushed to a really warm orange (I love f.lux,app for this). Also dim the monitor so its subtle on the eyes.
- plenty of custom keyboard macros and EuCon hotkeys with the Avid Transport, to minimise mouse and keyboard actions. The Avid Transport is my fave for this.
- My latest joy is an old Gas-Plasma AES PPM meter, that sits on my MixBuss outputs and offers me consistent metering.

Food for thought.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-03-2016, 03:15 AM
yoerik roevens yoerik roevens is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Lochristi
Posts: 107
Default Re: Can the S3 give feedback from plugins?

What are you dreaming about? You can't even tell what automation mode a channel is in.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-03-2016, 05:27 AM
yoerik roevens yoerik roevens is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Lochristi
Posts: 107
Default Re: Can the S3 give feedback from plugins?

Quote:
Originally Posted by teedeecee View Post
Maybe its the window setups that I have chosen, but I find that with the right choice of windows and environment settings, I find that a few minutes into a mix that the screen seems to disappear and my mind is freed to focus on the balance.

A few things I find really helpful are:

- Dark menubar ( thats OSX of course ), dark clean Desktop image. Clean desktop (no icons in view).
- Reduce your monitors visual impact. My colleagues know I have a predilection for gaffing around a monitor if its got ugly logos, LEDs, silver trim etc. Have even gaffed over the OS menubar
- Colour temperature of monitor pushed to a really warm orange (I love f.lux,app for this). Also dim the monitor so its subtle on the eyes.
- plenty of custom keyboard macros and EuCon hotkeys with the Avid Transport, to minimise mouse and keyboard actions. The Avid Transport is my fave for this.
- My latest joy is an old Gas-Plasma AES PPM meter, that sits on my MixBuss outputs and offers me consistent metering.

Food for thought.

on PC, working on film, I always have a black image fullscreen in windows viewer (on both pc monitors) and simply alt-tab to it when I start mixing/watching
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-04-2016, 11:37 AM
Brandonx1 Brandonx1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,855
Default Re: Can the S3 give feedback from plugins?

Icons and s6's can do this.
__________________
Brandon Howlett
Vibe Audio Post, Inc.
Re-recording Mixer
Custom Build CPU, HDX 1, Omni, 192 I/O Digital
S6 M10 24 fader
Satellite Mac Pro, HDNative, 192 I/0
Black Magic HD Extreme
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-24-2016, 03:40 AM
xmorten xmorten is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Scandinavia
Posts: 3
Default Re: Can the S3 give feedback from plugins?

S6 and Icon are just pretty expensive Unless you mean the cheap Icon controllers :):) Weird that feedback from a compressor, is so excotic in 2016 that that you need a to spend huge sums to get one of the most basic functions of a mix to work with your controller ;(
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-24-2016, 08:04 AM
Audioartist Audioartist is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 342
Default Re: Can the S3 give feedback from plugins?

I dont think S6 can show gainreduction of individual plugins or the separate bands of a multibandcompressor, you have to choose one are all combined, the old icon on the other hand do this just fine..
__________________
D-control ES 32 - Venue Profile 48x24 - S3L-X - Yamaha DM2000 - Artist mix and control - HD7 accel - HDX2 / Magma EB3T
HD native thunderbolt
PT10HD 10.3.8. - PT11HD 11.3.2
2xHD madi - 2xHD omni -
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-24-2016, 11:15 AM
Brandonx1 Brandonx1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,855
Default Re: Can the S3 give feedback from plugins?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Audioartist View Post
I dont think S6 can show gainreduction of individual plugins or the separate bands of a multibandcompressor, you have to choose one are all combined, the old icon on the other hand do this just fine..
The m40 can show comp feedback, can't it? I don't have an m40 only m10 and yes you can see general gain reduction but not split out plug in parameters, yet.
__________________
Brandon Howlett
Vibe Audio Post, Inc.
Re-recording Mixer
Custom Build CPU, HDX 1, Omni, 192 I/O Digital
S6 M10 24 fader
Satellite Mac Pro, HDNative, 192 I/0
Black Magic HD Extreme
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT LE 7 still not opening, Please give feedback... WScott615 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 12-31-2008 09:39 PM
Can someone give me some M-Box feedback? Deirdre B 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 12-24-2003 11:24 PM
New Mix, PLease Listen and Give Feedback! jdevenny 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 25 02-26-2003 09:47 PM
New Mix, Please Listen and Give Feedback! jdevenny 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 17 02-21-2003 01:13 AM
Give me some feedback (critique) chucknkd 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 12 04-07-2002 03:53 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:01 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com