Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-22-2019, 04:03 PM
kkfaudio kkfaudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Guelph, ON
Posts: 207
Default Sync HD losing dropping lock

Sync HD using Video REF.

Ref Present light staying lit, but Speed Cal and Locked lights fluctuate quite a bit, and will often disappear long enough and I get:

"The SYNC Clock Reference is not locked. Although the system will still play, it will not properly resolve until the clock is restored. Check your cables or change the Clock Reference or Clock Source."

It usually resolves itself quickly. The reference and loop sync cables seem fine - although I have not swapped the serial cable as yet, as it's hard to get to on the Mac. Is it possibly that cable, or is my Sync HD being faulty?

Thanks!
__________________
Kevin Ferrier
Audio & Sound Design
www.trianglepost.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-22-2019, 05:53 PM
dr sound's Avatar
dr sound dr sound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 2,122
Default Re: Sync HD losing dropping lock

Check your reference. Make sure your reference and your session are the same.
23.98 reference and 23.98 session
24 reference and 24 session.

They may lock if it's different but it won't be right.
MAKE SURE WHAT YOUR REFERENCE IS!
__________________
Marti D. Humphrey CAS
aka dr.sound
www.thedubstage.com
IMDB http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0401937/
Like everything in life, there are no guarantees just opportunities.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-22-2019, 06:31 PM
dr sound's Avatar
dr sound dr sound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 2,122
Default Re: Sync HD losing dropping lock

What is your Video Reference? What is the origin of it?
Check the devise and verify it's the same as your session..
23.98 or 24 frame.
__________________
Marti D. Humphrey CAS
aka dr.sound
www.thedubstage.com
IMDB http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0401937/
Like everything in life, there are no guarantees just opportunities.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-22-2019, 09:12 PM
Ray JB Ray JB is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 527
Default Re: Sync HD losing dropping lock

A quick question, do you have a 75 Ohm video terminator on the loop thru BNC socket of the sync ref input on your Sync HD? Mine used to do that even with the correct reference signal if un-terminated
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-23-2019, 02:26 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,425
Default Re: Sync HD losing dropping lock

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ray JB View Post
A quick question, do you have a 75 Ohm video terminator on the loop thru BNC socket of the sync ref input on your Sync HD? Mine used to do that even with the correct reference signal if un-terminated
Yes, what Ray said. The video ref out is a passive through and needs to be terminated.
__________________
PTHDn 2019.10 (OSX10.14.4), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-23-2019, 05:12 AM
kkfaudio kkfaudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Guelph, ON
Posts: 207
Default Re: Sync HD losing dropping lock

Thanks for the replies..

I forgot to mention the video ref continues on to the Aja Kona 3 breakout box.

I will have to check that it is terminated properly there. Any reason to swap the order? ie ref to Kona and then sync HD? I don’t see any blips in Aja control panel.

Yes, I definitely check that the correct reference is setup according to frame rate in the session.

I’ll follow up next week after I get back to that room.
__________________
Kevin Ferrier
Audio & Sound Design
www.trianglepost.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-23-2019, 05:28 AM
Ray JB Ray JB is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 527
Default Re: Sync HD losing dropping lock

Just put a 75 ohm terminator at the end of the video ref chain. The Sync HD is finicky with the feed it gets. The manual states that you need to terminate the end of the chain properly for correct operation. Believe me, it's generally needed.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-23-2019, 09:29 AM
kkfaudio kkfaudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Guelph, ON
Posts: 207
Default Re: Sync HD losing dropping lock

Copy that - I'm 99% sure it is terminated, but I'll take the Aja out of the loop and terminate on the Sync HD for testing and go from there...

Thanks..
__________________
Kevin Ferrier
Audio & Sound Design
www.trianglepost.com
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-24-2019, 12:21 AM
mgoorevich's Avatar
mgoorevich mgoorevich is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tel Aviv - תל אביב
Posts: 1,671
Default Re: Sync HD losing dropping lock

You might want to check if your Sync HD is well cooled as its very sensitive to higher temperature.
Does this happens at the morning when the unit is cold?
I had the same problem with my Sync HD in conditionered machine room until I made some room above and beneath of Sync HD in order to be well ventilated.
__________________
Michael Goorevich

Sound Designer
/ mixer
www.goorevich.com

PT HD⎪N v2019.6 Ultimate ● macOS High Sierra 10.13.4
MacPro 2 x 2.4 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon ● 24 GB RAM
Avid HD I/O ● Sync HD ● AJA LHi referenced by AJA GEN10 ● D-Command ES24
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-27-2019, 07:41 PM
Ray JB Ray JB is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 527
Default Re: Sync HD losing dropping lock

Kevin, did you sort your problem? If so what caused it?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dropping sync after 6+ hours lucienpalmer Post - Surround - Video 5 11-07-2015 08:10 PM
HD system dropping out of sync decibelmel Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 10-25-2003 02:14 AM
Pro Tools dropping out of sync ever since HD uno1234 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 26 05-31-2002 07:50 PM
my mac dropping into number lock in pt tomcat Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 10-14-2001 05:09 PM
PT and USD dropping out of sync!? Boom Chic Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 02-12-2001 10:10 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:17 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com