Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-10-2018, 07:23 AM
the19thbear the19thbear is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 204
Default Pro tools plan vs perpetual

Hi. I have Pro tools (non HD).
I had the plugin "space" working fine. Then it expired.
I assumed that I had to upgrade my plan, so I logged in and avid.com informed that i had to renew my plan.
So I did.

Space is still expired though.
So did I upgrade something that I shouldnt have upgraded? Or is my ilok not up to date?

I have attached 2 pictures of my ilok account and avid app manager.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Avid1.jpg (7.4 KB, 0 views)
File Type: png Avid2.PNG (18.1 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-10-2018, 07:53 AM
JoelG's Avatar
JoelG JoelG is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,851
Default Re: Pro tools plan vs perpetual

Yes, you renewed the actual Pro Tools plan - so you'll get the updates to Pro Tools. For the plugins you need the Complete Plugin Bundle.

Joel
__________________
Jame Space:
HP Elite 6300 / Core i5 3570 / 12GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 12 HD / Focusrite 18i20 + M-Audio ProFire 2626

Home:
Intel S5000PSL / 2 x Xeon E5450 / 32GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 12 HD / M-Audio Project Mix IO

Rig:
Eleven Rack / ART SLA1 / Fender Mustang V 412 / FCB1010 w/ EurekaPROM
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-10-2018, 08:23 AM
the19thbear the19thbear is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 204
Default Re: Pro tools plan vs perpetual

Thanks for answering.
But how come it was free for a year then?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-10-2018, 08:31 AM
JoelG's Avatar
JoelG JoelG is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,851
Default Re: Pro tools plan vs perpetual

The support/upgrade and plugins were bundled together for $199/yr previously. There were requests to split the plugin bundle from support/updates as I understand it. Now support and updates are $99/yr and the plugin bundle is $49/yr.

Joel
__________________
Jame Space:
HP Elite 6300 / Core i5 3570 / 12GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 12 HD / Focusrite 18i20 + M-Audio ProFire 2626

Home:
Intel S5000PSL / 2 x Xeon E5450 / 32GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 12 HD / M-Audio Project Mix IO

Rig:
Eleven Rack / ART SLA1 / Fender Mustang V 412 / FCB1010 w/ EurekaPROM
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-10-2018, 08:34 AM
the19thbear the19thbear is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 204
Default Pro tools plan vs perpetual

Ok. Makes more sense. But still. I don't have any other of the plugins in the plugin bundle and never had afaik. Only the space plugin. Weirdness?
Never owned the complete plugin bundle


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-10-2018, 09:24 AM
Emi Emi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Madrid. Spain
Posts: 265
Default Re: Pro tools plan vs perpetual

I just made a simulation for adding only upgrades and it's still 89Euros/year on my account. Am I missing something?
__________________
Mac Mini late 2012 i5 | Mac OS Mojave 10.14 | Motu 16A | Motu 828ES | Pro Tools 2019.6 Native
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-10-2018, 03:52 PM
Sugarnutz Sugarnutz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Great State of Mississippi
Posts: 735
Default Re: Pro tools plan vs perpetual

And I got my last annual upgrade plan from Sweetwater fer’ $79 which included a free year of the Complete Plug-In Bundle. Keep yer’ eyes open and remember you can do your upgrade plan before it expires, I did mine 4 months early because of the deal at Sweetwater and the bundle added value package.
__________________
HD Native Thunderbolt
HD6 Accel in Magma PE6R4 Expansion Chassis
PT HD 10, 11, 12, Ultimate 2018, 2019
Cubase 9.5 Pro
Vienna Ensemble Pro 7
Icon D-Command

HD Omni
192 Analog I/O 8 in/8 out/Digtal I/O
192 Analog I/O 8 in/Digital I/O
Two 192 Digital I/O
Apogee Rosetta 800, AD16X & DA16X (All wth X-HD cards)
Antelope Zen Studio+ Thunderbolt

15" Mid-2015 MBP 2.2 GHz i7 16 Gb RAM
512 Gb Flash Drive - OS X 10.14.3

Gigabyte z390 Designare
I9 990K 4.7 GHz
64 Gb of DDR4 3200
Gigabyte RX580 8 Gb
MacOS 10.14.5 Mojave

GIGABYTE GA-Z97X-UD7 TH
Intel Core i7-4790K 4.4 GHz
32 GB of DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX 760 Video Card
OS X 10.13.6 High Sierra & Win 7 Pro 64 bit

Dynaudio BM5 Mk III
B&W 604 s2
800W 15" Ported Subs
McIntosh MC-7106 Bridged ~ B&W
Hafler P7000 "Diablo" ~ Subs
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-11-2018, 01:00 AM
the19thbear the19thbear is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 204
Default Re: Pro tools plan vs perpetual

Still dont completely understand. I never had the other plugins in the complete plugin bundle. never. Only space.
Why do i need to pay for it now?

Sorry for my brain not working
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-13-2018, 06:40 AM
lectrohowie lectrohowie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 29
Default Re: Pro tools plan vs perpetual

OK - as I read through this thread all that I could think was: ARE YOU KIDDING?

Could anything be made more complicated? Is there any way anything could be more of a hassle to figure out?

Avid: please get your act together and make our lives simpler. Who has time to deal with this anymore? Put together a page that explains this in a simple, direct manner, and then please give us an upgrade page that makes sense to people with less than 150 IQ.

Sorry for the rant, but I recently went through hoops to upgrade the licenses for my studio and I had to pull out all the remaining hairs on my head.

HK
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-13-2018, 08:24 AM
DetroitT's Avatar
DetroitT DetroitT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Detroit, Mi, USA
Posts: 2,084
Default Re: Pro tools plan vs perpetual

"Perpetual" with annual rental plugins..............

I agree with HK;
"...read through this thread all that I could think was: ARE YOU KIDDING?"
__________________
(Help us Help You)<<<click here

Testing:All APFS 90% 10% Audio on HFS+(Testing 1.5 yr in)
Pro Tools U-2019.6 MacOS 10.14.6
Second boot-10.13.6 (Avid HDX-1 Omni)

(MP 5,1 / 64-Gb)
(Sapphire RX-580 MacVCEdition, 3-Displays)
MOTU FW-CoreAudio (for poly recording)
(SSL-HUI-MIDI over IP)
----
music-design-creation
Post Music-Sound mixing, Production-Enhancements.

Audio Tuning and System Services
----
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Pro Tools 2018 Perpetual License plus Annual Upgrade Plan LDS Buy & Sell 2 04-06-2018 03:13 PM
ilok license manager - Pro Tools HD Plan vs Pro Tools HD Perpetual Bundle simonchase Licensing & Accounts 3 11-30-2017 05:47 AM
Pro Tools 12HD perpetual license and 1 year support plan Funkmasta69 Buy & Sell 0 04-26-2017 07:31 PM
Pro Tools 12 won't activate despite perpetual license plan the hecksome Licensing & Accounts 3 02-28-2017 02:26 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:40 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com