Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-06-2018, 11:36 PM
Kinh Kinh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 361
Default Mbox Pro keeps resetting

I have a bar fridge and whenever it goes off and audio is playing the Mbox resets. This has caused me great frustration when I'm in the middle of doing something to all of a sudden be interrupted by this and then have to switch the interface on and off again. Does anyone know why its doing this?
Iv'e tried running extension leads from different rooms, using powerboards with safety switches but it keeps doing it. The computer, monitor and every thing else doesn't reset just mbox.
__________________
Intel 6 Core i7-4930K CPU @ 3.40GHz
32GB DIMM DDR3 G.Skill
Samsung SSD 840 EVO
WD Black SATA 7200
ASUS SABERTOOTH X79
Windows 7 Ultimate 64
Mbox3 Pro Firewire 400
ProTools 10.3.8
ProTools 11.3.1

https://soundcloud.com/matthewcrowe
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-07-2018, 07:07 AM
JoelG's Avatar
JoelG JoelG is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,851
Default Re: Mbox Pro keeps resetting

It sounds like you have a power issue, not an Mbox issue.. I'd look at a cheap UPS or at least a power conditioner: https://www.sweetwater.com/insync/po...ces-explained/

Joel
__________________
Jame Space:
HP Elite 6300 / Core i5 3570 / 12GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 12 HD / Focusrite 18i20 + M-Audio ProFire 2626

Home:
Intel S5000PSL / 2 x Xeon E5450 / 32GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 12 HD / M-Audio Project Mix IO

Rig:
Eleven Rack / ART SLA1 / Fender Mustang V 412 / FCB1010 w/ EurekaPROM
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-07-2018, 01:26 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,742
Default Re: Mbox Pro keeps resetting

UPS is the smartest money you will ever spend. Something like this:
https://www.ebay.com/itm/APC-by-Schn...UAAOSw8axaEHLG
Or bigger, and don't plug your speakers into it(because you don't need to).

BTW, the Mbox is firewire? Is it powered by the FW buss or do you have the separate power supply connected?
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-07-2018, 09:08 PM
Kinh Kinh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 361
Default Re: Mbox Pro keeps resetting

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
UPS is the smartest money you will ever spend. Something like this:
https://www.ebay.com/itm/APC-by-Schn...UAAOSw8axaEHLG
Or bigger, and don't plug your speakers into it(because you don't need to).

BTW, the Mbox is firewire? Is it powered by the FW buss or do you have the separate power supply connected?
It's powered by the 9v DC at the back. This goes into a different power board than the computer which is in another room. I've put them in the same source but no difference. For some reason the firewire gets disconnected from computer for a slit second when the fridge goes on or off or sometimes if I turn the light on or off.
__________________
Intel 6 Core i7-4930K CPU @ 3.40GHz
32GB DIMM DDR3 G.Skill
Samsung SSD 840 EVO
WD Black SATA 7200
ASUS SABERTOOTH X79
Windows 7 Ultimate 64
Mbox3 Pro Firewire 400
ProTools 10.3.8
ProTools 11.3.1

https://soundcloud.com/matthewcrowe
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-08-2018, 12:21 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,742
Default Re: Mbox Pro keeps resetting

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kinh View Post
This goes into a different power board than the computer which is in another room. I've put them in the same source but no difference. For some reason the firewire gets disconnected from computer for a slit second when the fridge goes on or off or sometimes if I turn the light on or off.
??? Not sure I follow? If the Mbox glitches when the fridge goes on, or you switch a light, then you have a serious power problem that should be looked at by a licensed electrician. The Mbox doesn't pull enough current to matter, so maybe you have an outlet or breaker with a loose screw, or a bad power strip(in any case, it could be a fire hazard). Beyond that, maybe get a small UPS(actually, I HIGHLY recommend having your computer, interface, and all external drives connected to a decent battery backup(APC models between $149 and 199 are good options). It can easily save your ASSets(it has for me on several occasions)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Resetting when stopping oneblood 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 06-28-2004 08:26 PM
Resetting 002 Hardware BenTerry 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 04-19-2004 11:54 AM
Resetting a HUI? studiomusic Digidesign Hardware & Software 0 06-26-2003 01:14 PM
preroll resetting pkcraft 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 04-01-2002 05:13 AM
Buffer?CPU keeps resetting to 65%, why? H-man 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 12-01-2001 12:38 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:44 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com