Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-04-2010, 02:24 PM
SmokinBaldMonkey SmokinBaldMonkey is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 132
Default MP3 Option - Expired? My Serial is valid!

Recently I moved from my old mac to my new one. I did not do a typical migration, opting to clean-install everything from scratch.

However, I did not put in the MP3 option serial code, and used the demo instead due to convenience. I didnt want to dig through the closet at that particular moment for the old registration materials.

Now the demo expired.

So, my question is, once a MP3 demo expires, how does one enter in the MP3 Option serial number? ProTools doesn't even ask for one now, it just tells me "Sorry, your expired."

I am using version 8.1cs2 PTHD on a Mac Pro 8core, 10.6.4.

There has to be some simple solution to this....
__________________
Veni, Vidi, Funki - I came, I saw, I laid the stank down

System 1: Retina MBP 512SSD/16RAM - Thunderbolt HDX1/HDIO
System 2: Mac Mini - 512SSD/8RAM - Thunderbolt HDX1/HDIO
OSX 10.8.5
Pro Tools 10 HD
Pro Tools 11 HD
SYNC HD
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-05-2010, 03:01 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,610
Default Re: MP3 Option - Expired? My Serial is valid!

Quote:
Originally Posted by SmokinBaldMonkey View Post
Recently I moved from my old mac to my new one. I did not do a typical migration, opting to clean-install everything from scratch.

However, I did not put in the MP3 option serial code, and used the demo instead due to convenience. I didnt want to dig through the closet at that particular moment for the old registration materials.

Now the demo expired.

So, my question is, once a MP3 demo expires, how does one enter in the MP3 Option serial number? ProTools doesn't even ask for one now, it just tells me "Sorry, your expired."

I am using version 8.1cs2 PTHD on a Mac Pro 8core, 10.6.4.

There has to be some simple solution to this....
Hi,

MP3 auth is now ilok, try your Avid account see if there's a way to enter the code and apply for ilok version. i can't remember if this is available to do in the account or not. otherwise you'll need to contact support.


Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club Joy Of The Return #9 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 D Command 32 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-05-2010, 06:29 AM
mattrussell mattrussell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 128
Default Re: MP3 Option - Expired? My Serial is valid!

what chris said and also, be sure you only have ONE instance of the "MP3.bundle" installed. if you moved some things around/did some new installs, you may have with more than one which would cause this kind of trouble.

good luck and let us know how it works out.
__________________
--
http://www.gainstructure.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-05-2010, 11:34 AM
rockridge98 rockridge98 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 282
Default Re: MP3 Option - Expired? My Serial is valid!

This happened to me last year when I switched computers.
I contacted Avid support, gave them my original license code,
and they sent a license to my ilok account.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-05-2010, 06:11 PM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,798
Default Re: MP3 Option - Expired? My Serial is valid!

You could also upgrade to PT9 where the mp3 functionality is standard.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-05-2010, 06:49 PM
velvettone velvettone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: NorCal
Posts: 92
Default Re: MP3 Option - Expired? My Serial is valid!

Get the thing moved over to iLok. It doesn't make any sense to spend $350.00 (PT9) just to be able to continue to use $100.00 worth of software that you already own.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-05-2010, 06:53 PM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,798
Default Re: MP3 Option - Expired? My Serial is valid!

Obviously I wasn't suggesting that he do it only for that reason.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The serial number you entered is not valid tunetown Pro Tools 9 10 11-30-2010 04:04 PM
Mp3 Option Expired? rqstudio 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 15 06-24-2009 11:38 PM
MP3 Option purchased.. code not valid ohgodhelp 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 03-28-2007 07:23 PM
Paid for MP3 option and only get demo expired window! Logic Pro Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 1 03-21-2007 03:04 PM
MP3 Option-Demo Expired-No option for aut. code desdichadisimo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 10-10-2006 02:24 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:31 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com