Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-09-2019, 11:13 AM
justinhill justinhill is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Horley UK
Posts: 106
Default CPU usage different with 2019.5?

Quote:
Originally Posted by f41qu3 View Post
Everything working fine on my old MacBook Pro 2012 + M-Track Plus.
How does the CPU usage figure compare with the same session on 2018?
__________________
--
Justin

Mix room: Apple Mac Pro 6,1 late 2013 2.7Ghz 12-Core XeonE5, 64GB RAM, D300 Graphics, OSX Mojave 10.14.6/Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6/Presonus Quantum 4848 Thunderbolt 2/Digidesign Command|8/Allen & Heath ZED-436 for fun

Studio: Apple Mac Pro 5,1 mid 2012 2x 3.46Ghz 6-Core Xeon, 64GB RAM, GeForce GTX 970 graphics, OSX Sierra 10.12.6/Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.12/HDX1/Avid HD 16x16, Digidesign 192 16x16, Digidesign 192 16x8/Custom Raindirk Symphony 32ch. front end

Last edited by Avid; 05-09-2019 at 11:38 AM. Reason: Broken out from generic thread for visibility.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-09-2019, 11:19 AM
Downtown_BE Downtown_BE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: switzerland
Posts: 154
Default Re: 2019.5 is here!!

not interested in new features at all - what about CPU spikes - yes or no? that´s all I need to work.. no cpu spikes
thx
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-09-2019, 11:23 AM
f41qu3 f41qu3 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Brazil
Posts: 7
Default Re: Pro Tools 2019 !

Quote:
Originally Posted by justinhill View Post
How does the CPU usage figure compare with the same session on 2018?
I saw a reduction of core 3 and 4 during playback. Playback also runs more smoothly. As (unfortunately) I am not a professional (yet) and I have an old equipment, I noticed that the Mac works cooler.
In the 2018.12 version used to be close to 100°C, and now in the 2019.5, performing some of the same things, it stabilizes between 90°C and 94°C.

I need to test if there have been improvements in the playback/editing with video and video engine enabled.

Cheers,
__________________
PowerMac G3 OS 9 | Audiomedia III | Pro Tools Free
PowerMac G5 OS X Leopard 10.5.8 | 3x Delta 1010LT | Pro Tools 8.0.1
MacBook 4,1 OS X Lion 10.7.5 | Pro Tools Express 10.3.4
MacBookAir 6,2 OS X Mojave 10.14.4 | Pro Tools 2019.5
MacBookPro 9,2 OS X Mojave 10.14.4 | Pro Tools 2019.5
M-Audio M-Track Plus | M-Audio ProKeys 88SX | Korg Microkey 37
Ibanez RG7321 | Epiphone Les Paul Junior | Fender Strato
Crate Amps | Ibanez & Boss Pedals
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-09-2019, 11:28 AM
P_J P_J is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Finland
Posts: 292
Default Re: Pro Tools 2019 !

I’m not seeing any difference in cpu usage. Tried first with 10.13.6 and it felt little smoother. Not sure was it just imagination. Then installed Mojave and first try was very jerky. Restarted Mac and now everything is very smooth again.
I’m running this on my test drive, not going to make real upgrade yet. But, everything seems to run well and no crashes etc.
Edit: Sadly Tapatalk doesn't show signatures. My test system is:
OS10.13.6 * PTHD2018.7/Eucon18.3.0.219/AJA12.5*Omni*Artist Series/PT|Control*nMP 3.5GHz-6core/32Gb/D300
__________________
OS10.14.6 * pt ultimate 2019.10/eucon19.9x/aja15.22*omni*artist series/pt|control*trash 3.5ghz-6core/32gb/d300 etc
**post production (tv)**
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-09-2019, 11:41 AM
redredstudiio redredstudiio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: NASHVILLE
Posts: 3
Default Re: Pro Tools 2019 !

Works so much better than previous version!! Thank You!!!

I am running on Current OSX with iMac Pro.
I Had major issues with this set up before (lots a stops and starts) so this is a Big Win for me. I welcome the plugin drag n drop style workflow. Solid

NOW IF PT IMPLEMENTS ARA/Melodyne like Studio One, I won't have a reason to switch DAWs anymore. saves a massive amount of time.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-09-2019, 12:48 PM
jantelis's Avatar
jantelis jantelis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 47
Default Re: CPU usage different with 2019.5?

Great update, i stick with PT as i know it best and am fastest using it.

Love non stop playback.

- track folders
-midi enhancements

and more bug fixes more often and i'll be even more happy
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-09-2019, 12:56 PM
PatriotsBiker PatriotsBiker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Mid-Atlantic
Posts: 832
Default Re: 2019.5 is here!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Downtown_BE View Post
not interested in new features at all - what about CPU spikes - yes or no? that´s all I need to work.. no cpu spikes
thx
According to the list:
"CPU meters now more accurately reflect CPU load"

I hope that it means that the under-laying and related issues were fixed this time around. I could care less about the mystery meter. If the related simultaneous glitches are gone, I'll do a little tap dance and click my heals and all kinds of other things old men with bad knees should not do.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-09-2019, 01:16 PM
Watagushu2013 Watagushu2013 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: México
Posts: 153
Default Re: CPU usage different with 2019.5?

Very different cpu usage it seems in my first tests. Very efficient
A prior session with 2018.12: 18% native CPU
2019.5: 3 %!!!

Mac Pro 2010 12 core HDX 1



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-09-2019, 01:19 PM
amagras amagras is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 3,348
Default Re: CPU usage different with 2019.5?

I haven't loaded any heavy session yet but the one thing I can see right away is that the whole CPU load is equally spread between all the cores, that's a big improvement!
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools Software 2019
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-09-2019, 04:52 PM
Howardk Howardk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Canada, just past the line!
Posts: 1,933
Default Re: CPU usage different with 2019.5?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Watagushu2013 View Post
Very different cpu usage it seems in my first tests. Very efficient
A prior session with 2018.12: 18% native CPU
2019.5: 3 %!!!

Mac Pro 2010 12 core HDX 1

Quote:
Originally Posted by amagras View Post
I haven't loaded any heavy session yet but the one thing I can see right away is that the whole CPU load is equally spread between all the cores, that's a big improvement!
This is the news I was hoping to hear! I am away doing do concerts this WE, can’t wait to get back and try it. The CPU Spikes issue has been a real deal breaker with Pro Tools 2018 versions...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2019.5 is here!! LightWing Pro Tools 2019 37 05-17-2019 12:40 AM
Namm 2019 jeffro General Discussion 2 01-26-2019 11:22 AM
Looks like at least 2019 before new Mac Pro K Roche Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 3 04-19-2018 07:44 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:10 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com