Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-27-2008, 08:02 PM
LUISMI LUISMI is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: London
Posts: 119
Smile Mbox 2 pro or 003 rack??

Hi,
I'm willing to upgrade my mbox 2 (USB) to a faster interface MBOX 2 PRO.This is mainly because I'm fed up of buffer errors and stuff.I'm really need my system for the stage performance (trigering loops and playing along) and I need something wich is reliable ,rock solid.Don't really mind about the diference of money between the MBOX 2 PRO and the 003 Rack.I'm just want something that works.
I'm running everithyng on my MBP 2.4 ,4G RAM. and external lacie HD (7200).And don't really need so many inputs as he 003 offers but as I said I don't mind to spend the money if the firewire conexion is faster or makes any difference.
Please let me know your thougts ,experiences.It would be much apprecited.
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-27-2008, 11:22 PM
Naagzh Naagzh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,175
Default

A FW interface might be more stable, but rock-solid? I dunno. I think you'll still get the occasional hiccup.

If I were triggering loops live, I'd think DJ software might be better suited, don't you?
__________________
002R PT7.3.1
MacBook Pro 2.33
OS 10.4.8
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-28-2008, 02:26 AM
JohnO JohnO is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 159
Default

Mbox 2 pro

I use both and it's more solid. Also, you can play back PT and other CoreAudio Apps at the same time, the the MBox 2 Pro, can't do that on a 003.

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-28-2008, 04:07 AM
gonsdeejay's Avatar
gonsdeejay gonsdeejay is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: México City
Posts: 201
Default Mmm

I give you my opinion, about your question, I Have one MBOX2 and one DIGI002R, and let me tell you this advice, I use my MBOX because I am a Dj, so I carry with my MACBOOK PRO and sometimes i would like carry my DIGI002R, I feel when I record my Live seeion during 6-8 hours, the MBOX stops by any reason, simply stops, when I do this on my Studio, with the 002R, I never have that problem, and other think is the I/O, at some moment you will need all I/O, so thats my advice.
__________________
Pro Tools 2019.10. UAudio Apollo X8, 8 Duo & Apollo Twin. Custom PC i7-7700K 16 Gb Ram Thunderbolt 3 SYSTEM-1KRK V88. Yamaha HS7 Korg ESX-1 MBOX2 003Rack Mackie MCU Producing My Own Life
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-28-2008, 04:12 AM
tamasdragon tamasdragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Hungary
Posts: 2,190
Default

Now I'm touring with a band who has both, and with us, the digi003 is more stable, but the mbox2pro is not bad. The difference is we had some hiccups with the mbox2pro during 2 weeks, and experienced only one hiccups with the 003 in two months.
Of course both can be rocksolid if you keep your mac sane.
Tamas Dragon
__________________
my blog:Tamas Dragon
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-12-2008, 05:38 AM
LUISMI LUISMI is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: London
Posts: 119
Default

Thanks guys for your comments. I've just purchased a f/w m powered interface (just to get the f/w plug) but eventually I'll get the 003.
Thanks again
Luismi
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-14-2008, 09:37 AM
brentrains brentrains is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 60
Default

Does anybody have an opinion on which sounds better?
I am looking at the same decision for a home studio setup, but only want to invest the extra green if it is going to make that much of a difference....

The actual decision I was trying to make is:
A)Buy a 003R if it sounds better (better pre's/better conversion)
B)Buy an MBOX 2 Pro and a nicer preamp (Grace m101)

Any thoughts......
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rack mounting Mbox 3 and/or Mbox 3 Pro? fiddlecat Pro Tools 9 5 06-10-2013 02:35 PM
Mbox 2 Pro or 003 Rack??? musicaldreamer 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 16 04-17-2009 10:09 AM
upgrading mbox 1 to either 002 rack or mbox 2 pro? El Masu 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 09-11-2006 07:43 PM
Mbox or 002 Rack? ikon1234 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 03-26-2004 10:37 AM
what would you do mbox oo2 rack surchur 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 06-28-2003 12:16 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:28 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com