Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-27-2013, 05:38 PM
houser8732 houser8732 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Danbury, CT
Posts: 7
Default No Sound Through Headphones

I just bought pro tools 11, using it on windows 8 with no hardware, just asio4all and an m-audio axiom keyboard. Everything worked fine for a while but now when i try to play something with my headphones plugged in, i only get playback through the speakers. This is fine for recording, but to be able to mix i need to hear it through the headphones. Tried everything i could think of, can anyone help?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-27-2013, 05:57 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,664
Default Re: No Sound Through Headphones

Sounds like a Windows audio configuration issue or an aiso4all configuration issue
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-28-2013, 08:30 PM
houser8732 houser8732 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Danbury, CT
Posts: 7
Default Re: No Sound Through Headphones

I tried reinstalling asio4all and nothing happened. Also went through all the audio related settings in windows and still no change. Any suggestions?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-28-2013, 08:42 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,664
Default Re: No Sound Through Headphones

So check the playback engine is the computer speakers - (don't know what I'm talking about ? Search the manual)

Then check the I/O is setup correctly

Then try it with windows media player - does it do the same thing?

Have you tried trashing the prefs? (don't know what I'm talking about ? Search the manual)
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-28-2013, 09:14 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,237
Default Re: No Sound Through Headphones

Quote:
Originally Posted by houser8732 View Post
I just bought pro tools 11, using it on windows 8 with no hardware, just asio4all and an m-audio axiom keyboard. Everything worked fine for a while but now when i try to play something with my headphones plugged in, i only get playback through the speakers. This is fine for recording, but to be able to mix i need to hear it through the headphones. Tried everything i could think of, can anyone help?
What headphones exactly ? (make and model)
Plugged into where exactly?(what exact jack/socket labeled exactly what on exactly what device/card etc.).
What audio card/device is in the computer? (A Sandra report will tell us all we need)

Look up at the "Help us Help You - READ THIS Before Posting!" link above on this page and read what sort of information you can provide to help us help you better...exact versions of everything (OS, Pro Tools etc.) helps as does posting a Sandra report as described on that page.

Screenshots of the playback engine dialog and ASIO4ALL setup window may help.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-28-2013, 09:55 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,664
Default Re: No Sound Through Headphones

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
Look up at the "Help us Help You - READ THIS Before Posting!" link above on this page and read what sort of information you can provide to help us help you better...exact versions of everything (OS, Pro Tools etc.) helps as does posting a Sandra report as described on that page.
What's up - DRamm ? Where ya been man ?
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-30-2013, 05:27 PM
houser8732 houser8732 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Danbury, CT
Posts: 7
Default Re: No Sound Through Headphones

The headphones are skullcandy, but they are not the issue since they work fine with other programs. There is only one headphone jack on the laptop. The only playback engine listed is ASIO4ALL, so i'm not sure what i can do with that, since there aren't many settings in the ASIO menu. Here is the sandra report.

SiSoftware Sandra

ID
Host Name : ENVY
Workgroup : WORKGROUP

Computer
Model : HP ENVY TS m7 Notebook PC 103C_5335KV G=N L=CON B=HP S=ENV
Serial Number : 5CG33*****
Chassis : HP Notebook
Mainboard : HP 1965
Serial Number : PDNTQ00*******
BIOS : Insyde F.1C 06/07/2013
Intel vPro : 9.00.02.1345
Total Memory : 7.78GB DDR3 SO-DIMM

Processors
Processor : Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4700MQ CPU @ 2.40GHz (4C 8T 3.29GHz, 3.3GHz IMC, 4x 256kB L2, 6MB L3)
Socket/Slot : FC PGA947

Chipset
Memory Controller : HP Core (Haswell) DRAM Controller 100MHz, 2x 4GB DDR3 SO-DIMM 1.6GHz 128-bit, Integrated Graphics

Memory Module(s)
Memory Module : AData AM1L16BC4R1-B1GS 4GB DDR3 SO-DIMM PC3-12800U DDR3-1600
Memory Module : AData AM1L16BC4R1-B1GS 4GB DDR3 SO-DIMM PC3-12800U DDR3-1600

Video System
Monitor/Panel : AU Optronics Generic PnP Monitor (1920x1080, 23.8")
Video Adapter : Intel(R) HD Graphics 4600 (20CU 160SP SM5.0 1.15GHz, 1.8GB DDR3 1.6GHz 128-bit, Integrated Graphics)

Graphics Processor
OpenCL GP Processor : Intel(R) HD Graphics 4600 (160SP 20C 1.15GHz, 1.8GB DDR3 1.6GHz 128-bit, Integrated Graphics)
Compute Shader Processor : Intel(R) HD Graphics 4600 (160SP 20C 1.15GHz, 1.8GB DDR3 1.6GHz 128-bit, Integrated Graphics)

Storage Devices
HGST HTS541010A9E680 (1TB, SATA300, 2.5", 5400rpm, 8MB Cache) : 932GB (C:) (D:)
hp DVDRAM GU70N (SATA150, DVD+-RW, CD-RW) : N/A (E:)

Logical Storage Devices
Windows (C:) : 904GB (NTFS) @ HGST HTS541010A9E680 (1TB, SATA300, 2.5", 5400rpm, 8MB Cache)
RECOVERY (D:) : 26GB (NTFS) @ HGST HTS541010A9E680 (1TB, SATA300, 2.5", 5400rpm, 8MB Cache)
WINRE : 400MB (NTFS)
Hard Disk : 350MB (NTFS)
Optical Drive (E:) : N/A @ hp DVDRAM GU70N (SATA150, DVD+-RW, CD-RW)

Peripherals
LPC Hub Controller 1 : HP Lynx Point LPC Controller
LPC Legacy Controller 1 : Winbond W83687THF
Audio Device : HP Core (Haswell) HD Audio Controller
Audio Device : HP Lynx Point HD Audio Controller
Audio Codec : Integrated Device Tech 76E0
Disk Controller : HP Lynx Point 6-Port SATA AHCI Controller
USB Controller 1 : HP Lynx Point USB xHCI Host Controller
USB Controller 2 : HP Lynx Point USB Enhanced Host Controller #2
USB Controller 3 : HP Lynx Point USB Enhanced Host Controller #1
SMBus/i2c Controller 1 : Intel ICH SMBus

Printers and Faxes
Printer : Microsoft XPS Document Writer v4 (600x600, Colour)
Printer : HP ePrint (600x600, Parallel, Colour)
Fax : Microsoft Shared Fax Driver (200x200)

Network Services
Network Adapter : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller (Ethernet)
Network Adapter : Bluetooth Device (Personal Area Network) (Ethernet)
Wireless Adapter : Intel(R) Centrino(R) Wireless-N 2230 (802.11n (HT), AES-CCMP, 65Mbps)

Power Management
Battery No 1 : Hewlett-Packard Primary 60.82Wh/5.64Ah

Operating System
Windows System : Microsoft Windows 8.1 Home 6.03.9600
Platform Compliance : x64

Windows Experience Index
Current System : 5.9
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-30-2013, 09:01 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,664
Default Re: No Sound Through Headphones

Quote:
Originally Posted by YYR123 View Post
So check the playback engine is the computer speakers - (don't know what I'm talking about ? Search the manual)

Then check the I/O is setup correctly

Then try it with windows media player - does it do the same thing?

Have you tried trashing the prefs? (don't know what I'm talking about ? Search the manual)
Did u do these?
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-31-2013, 11:23 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,237
Default Re: No Sound Through Headphones

OK well now we kind of can work out you have standard (not a USB) headphone with a 3.5mm TRS phono plug and are plugging it into your HP laptop's headphone jack (actually a combo headphone/mic jack?).

AFAIK this jack is simply connected to the same audio device as the laptop speakers. The speakers should be muted when you insert headphone plug into the laptop headphone/mic jack. If you plug in the headphones and the speakers are not muted then its likely just a mechanical problem with the headphone jack (socket). That does not fit with what you say about this working OK for other applications. Try checking (look and feel) that the plug is actually going all the way into the jack and try wiggling the plug in the jack, try a different set of headphones. If the jack is faulty replacing them is likely not hard, and parts are available online if you are handy with a soldering iron otherwise any laptop repair place or HP or an authorized repair agent can do this.

If this is instead a software/ASIO4ALL driver/playback engine setting etc. problem it does not jibe with all you have described so you may need to go back over that and reexplain exactly what you are doing.

Darryl

Last edited by Darryl Ramm; 10-31-2013 at 02:10 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-02-2013, 11:10 AM
houser8732 houser8732 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Danbury, CT
Posts: 7
Default Re: No Sound Through Headphones

So I tried trashing the prefs and nothing happened, and the I/O settings are normal. I reinstalled protools and ASIO and still get the same issue. Im guessing its a problem with the audio card/driver because i tried everything possible within protools and asio. Not sure how i can better explain the problem; the headphones are plugged in completely, I can hear static coming through them when i start up pro tools. When I press play, all the sound comes through the speakers and the headphones are silent. Tried multiple sets of headphones and its all the same. They work perfectly with every other program, so its defiantly not a problem with the headphone jack. I can't make any contact with avid since I do not have an "ASC", and when I click the link to apply for one, it asks for a reference number and company name, and I have neither.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mbox no sound with headphones?! Maddern General Discussion 1 02-23-2011 07:12 AM
command8 no sound out of headphones pedrito Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 3 08-07-2009 06:02 AM
no sound from headphones? Darkk927 Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 2 04-23-2008 08:07 AM
no sound from headphones simon123456789 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 01-19-2008 05:18 PM
5.1 surround sound headphones manis Post - Surround - Video 19 01-10-2008 04:49 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:32 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com