Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-02-2018, 01:52 PM
NvD NvD is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 3
Default Group Aux&VCA Volume automation won't follow

I am trying to fabricate a workaround for an Aux/VCA hybrid solution. But the volume automation won't group between an Aux an VCA and I cannot figure out why this is.

I have 10 dialogue tracks controlled by a VCA master. The dialoge tracks feed the Dx Aux. The output of the Aux goes to a dummy bus. I have a pre-fader send on the Aux which goes to my output.
I group the VCA an Aux (seperate group) which groups: Solo, mute and volume

This way I can:

-keep my mixing faders to a minimum (just Auxes on my layouts or custom faders)
-Solo the Aux (because it also solos the VCA which solos the Dx tracks)
-Use the aux for bus processing and sends while mixing
-Use the Aux for volume automation, the Aux volume automation does nothing other than control the VCA since the output is going to a pre-fader send.

Or so I thought, problem is that when I ride the aux fader, the volume automation does not transfer to the VCA. When I use the mouse to make breakpoints or volume adjustments it does work, when I touch a fader it just does not follow.

Does anybody have a clue to why this is?

Thx
Nardi

Last edited by NvD; 03-02-2018 at 02:18 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-06-2018, 05:09 PM
reichman's Avatar
reichman reichman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 2,117
Default Re: Group Aux&VCA Volume automation won't follow

I'm confused. If you're so committed to the Aux, why bother with the VCA?

And my other observation is that if they did group, you'd get double the attenuation or double the gain.

Maybe I don't fully understand your goal...
__________________
Nathaniel Reichman
Supervising Producer – Re-recording Mixer
Dubway Studios
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-09-2018, 03:09 PM
NvD NvD is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 3
Default Re: Group Aux&VCA Volume automation won't follow

Thx for your reply Reichman

I'm confused. If you're so committed to the Aux, why bother with the VCA?

Because I prefer the VCA volume method, if we had the option of soloing or post fader inserts on an Aux track, I probably would not bother with a VCA

And my other observation is that if they did group, you'd get double the attenuation or double the gain.

No, because the output of the Aux is going tot a dummy bus and I use a pre-fader sent for the output, the Aux automation is essentially doing nothing but controlling the VCA.

My goal is to have a Aux which has the benefits of a VCA.

Thx
Nardi
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-09-2018, 03:18 PM
minister's Avatar
minister minister is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 4,807
Default Re: Group Aux&VCA Volume automation won't follow

Hi,

I don't understand the point of your desired workflow. I use a VCA for my DX tracks and it feeds the DX Aux master. I don't touch the volume of the DX Aux Master, but it does have plugins on it. The output feeds the Master Bus (which actually has nothing on it except a limiter for stopping overs). There is post-fader send on the DX AUX that feeds the DX STEM record track.

In my workflow, I can still solo individual tracks.

If you want to minimize fader movement, convert the volume automation on your DX tracks to Clip Gain. Then your faders are "quiet". If you end up doing a lot of VCA movement and the DX track fader movement bothers you, coalese the VCA automation, then convert to Clip Gain.
__________________
Tom Hambleton CAS
Ministry of Fancy Noises
IMDb
Undertone on Facebook
Undertone Custom Sound Libraries

"Groupable markers would be epochal!"
-Starcrash
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-10-2018, 05:07 PM
Branko's Avatar
Branko Branko is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Posts: 580
Default Re: Group Aux&VCA Volume automation won't follow

Quote:
Originally Posted by NvD View Post
My goal is to have a Aux which has the benefits of a VCA
That simply does not make sense.
I don't understand how you plan to control the levels in this configuration. If you group channels and control them via VCA, you'll vary the input levels into your Aux bus and that will cause the (dynamics) inserts to react differently.
If you control the group volume by moving your Aux fader, you'll have the bus dynamics reacting equally for any position of the Aux fader.
It is not really clear what do you want to achieve. I'm not getting the idea of a pre-fade send on the bus.
Solos and mutes operation is well explained in Minister's reply
__________________
------------------------
Branko Neskov c.a.s.
www.loudness-films.pt
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-11-2018, 08:04 AM
garret garret is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Ireland
Posts: 561
Default Re: Group Aux&VCA Volume automation won't follow

Do you know about “solo safeing” an aux input? That will
Solve your soloing problem.
I cannot for the life of me work out why you would want to use a different fader to control the vca fader? Why not use the vca fader itself? Whether you use a different fader to control it or not, it will amount to the same thing.
You are overcomplicating and over thinking this as far as I can see.
Minister has explained things quite succinctly.
__________________
IMDB
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bug report: VCA won't follow group pqlior@mac.com Pro Tools 12 19 07-01-2017 10:59 AM
Automation to follow events fabiolcati Getting Started 6 10-24-2013 01:29 AM
Automation does not follow edit Moviesound macOS 0 07-20-2012 05:28 AM
Can I Group a Channel Volume with an Aux Send Volume? acacia Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 08-10-2007 01:26 PM
One group's Volume automation mysteriously disabled wallah 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 09-04-2001 02:47 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:11 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com