Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 08-23-2020, 10:08 AM
Rich Breen Rich Breen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Burbank, CA USA
Posts: 1,847
Default Re: Is the current Macbook Air acceptable as a B machine for Protools?

I occasionally use my very old (2013) Macbook Air for day-long remotes (up to 16 tracks, 96k) and it's been absolutely flawless; TB hub to hook up to two Metric Halo ULN8s via ethernet, external drives, display, and an Artist Mix - makes a great little remote machine. I have even occasionally opened medium sessions on it (50 tracks / 96k, modest plug in count) and it's been fine. It couldn't be my primary machine by a long shot, but for low track count sessions and smaller mixes it's been very handy to have around.
__________________
http://www.richbreen.com

----------------------------------------
MacPro 5,1 Dual Hex, OS 10.14, PT 2020 HDX, Avid HD I/Os and Metric Halo ULN8, Avid C24, 3xS1/Dock.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-25-2020, 12:28 PM
NewdestinyX NewdestinyX is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 597
Default Re: Is the current Macbook Air acceptable as a B machine for Protools?

Thanks Mark & Janne! Helpful !
__________________
Rig 1-Mix/Mast: PTHD 11.3.1; MacPro 6core (6,1) 3.5 GHz Xeon E5; 10.10.3 (SSD Drives for audio); Apogee DUET, FireStudio2626 as Hware Inserts to PT for outboard
Rig 2-Cutting&Remotes: PTHD 11.3.1; MacBook Pro (8,1) 2.8 GHz Dual i7; 10.9.2 (128GB int '6G' SSD drive); Profire LightBridge (FW800), 32ch Presonus Digimax FS
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-25-2020, 12:33 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,489
Default Re: Is the current Macbook Air acceptable as a B machine for Protools?

No problem. And for what its worth, I would not buy a laptop with 16GB memory today.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-25-2020, 12:37 PM
Mark Ziebarth Mark Ziebarth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1998
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 777
Default Re: Is the current Macbook Air acceptable as a B machine for Protools?

Janne is right. 16 GB is the minimum for Pro Tools today and the maximum for Macbook Air today. There’s no buffer for future developments...
__________________
Mac Pro 2010 3.66 GHz six Cores, HD Native, 192 I/O, Avid Dock, Artist Mix and Pro Tools Ultimate
Mac mini 2018 i5 64 GB RAM, RME Fireface, Pro Tools 2019, Euphonix MC Control
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-25-2020, 12:42 PM
NewdestinyX NewdestinyX is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 597
Default Re: Is the current Macbook Air acceptable as a B machine for Protools?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Breen View Post
I occasionally use my very old (2013) Macbook Air for day-long remotes (up to 16 tracks, 96k) and it's been absolutely flawless; TB hub to hook up to two Metric Halo ULN8s via ethernet, external drives, display, and an Artist Mix - makes a great little remote machine. I have even occasionally opened medium sessions on it (50 tracks / 96k, modest plug in count) and it's been fine. It couldn't be my primary machine by a long shot, but for low track count sessions and smaller mixes it's been very handy to have around.
Yes.. if you’re doing all the A/D outside of the Air (Dante or MADI from an A/D box or even simply USB where the A/D is done in one of the Midas XR18 types of boxes. What’s killed Laptop recording on a lesser computer in the past is relying on the A/D of an ASIO unit hanging right off the computer.

The Midas XR18 has amazing sounding converters. And I can cut 18 tracks without a hiccup from my old MBP late 2011. I expect it will be just as doable thru a new Air.

Thanks for your input, Rich!
__________________
Rig 1-Mix/Mast: PTHD 11.3.1; MacPro 6core (6,1) 3.5 GHz Xeon E5; 10.10.3 (SSD Drives for audio); Apogee DUET, FireStudio2626 as Hware Inserts to PT for outboard
Rig 2-Cutting&Remotes: PTHD 11.3.1; MacBook Pro (8,1) 2.8 GHz Dual i7; 10.9.2 (128GB int '6G' SSD drive); Profire LightBridge (FW800), 32ch Presonus Digimax FS
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 08-25-2020, 12:42 PM
NewdestinyX NewdestinyX is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 597
Default Re: Is the current Macbook Air acceptable as a B machine for Protools?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
No problem. And for what its worth, I would not buy a laptop with 16GB memory today.
Why not? (Or was that a typo.. didn’t you mean you wouldn’t buy a laptop WITHOUT 16GB?) And no Airs come with 16 to my knowledge.
__________________
Rig 1-Mix/Mast: PTHD 11.3.1; MacPro 6core (6,1) 3.5 GHz Xeon E5; 10.10.3 (SSD Drives for audio); Apogee DUET, FireStudio2626 as Hware Inserts to PT for outboard
Rig 2-Cutting&Remotes: PTHD 11.3.1; MacBook Pro (8,1) 2.8 GHz Dual i7; 10.9.2 (128GB int '6G' SSD drive); Profire LightBridge (FW800), 32ch Presonus Digimax FS
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 08-25-2020, 12:44 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,489
Default Re: Is the current Macbook Air acceptable as a B machine for Protools?

Quote:
Originally Posted by NewdestinyX View Post
Why not? And no Airs come with 16 to my knowledge.
16GB was like 2013 and today I would expect to see 64GB on laptop and more on desktop. If you buy a laptop with 16GB today it is outdated the day you start using it.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 08-25-2020, 12:47 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,489
Default Re: Is the current Macbook Air acceptable as a B machine for Protools?

But as your original question was, acceptable as B machine, then yes, you can get some work done when you spend time on hotel or wherever. Just do not expect that a machine with 16GB memory is future-proof
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 08-25-2020, 12:56 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,489
Default Re: Is the current Macbook Air acceptable as a B machine for Protools?

With that said; I am old enough to remember that a 80486 with 16MB memory was considered a powerhouse for a long time, until Pentiums came and soon 64MB was low range 128MB normal and 256MB high end. Memory-wise, the same thing is repeating itself, just replace MB with GB

(also old enough to remember 64kB was a lot one day...)
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Time Machine Session Won't Open on New MacBook Pro Jepse macOS 5 10-06-2019 09:12 AM
2008 era MacPro 3,1 3Ghz Quad-Core vs current MacBook Pro 15" IVcrane macOS 4 01-09-2016 02:56 PM
building a new PC/upgrading current windows 7 machine thruhiker Windows 1 10-28-2012 07:07 PM
acceptable latency? therecordinghouse Tips & Tricks 4 05-10-2006 08:55 AM
acceptable volumn problem johnmo2 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 12-15-2005 11:35 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:31 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com