Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 04-09-2005, 02:05 AM

Default Little by little (upgrading)

Hi,
I'm a 22 year old student with a home studio. I started off with a Digi001 on my PC, now I have an MBox on a g4 powermac and a Digi002 on a g4 powerbook. I'm constantly upgrading to bigger and better things as I get better with my engineering. I'm doing a lot of sound design for films and stuff, and I have used the TDM systems for some of those. I really want my next upgrade to be a TDM system. What is the cheapest way for me to do this? Pro Tools HD or TDM won't work with a Digi002 right? I know if I spend a lot now, the payoff will be worth it later, but I can not afford that. How much is the cheapest controller that works with TDM and how much is Pro Tools software (or if they come together) to have a TDM system?

•2019 Mac Pro 3.5 GHz 8-Core Intel Xeon W - 48 GB 2666 MHz DDR4 (OS 10.15.5) •HD Native PCIe, HD Omni, 192 I/o, Pro Tools Ultimate •Avid S3 + Dock •Blackmagic Intensity Pro (HDMI) •5.1 Room with JBL LSR4300 series

Additional Systems

•2010 Mac Pro 2 x 2.66 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon - 48 GB 1333 MHz DDR3 (OS 10.14.6) •HD Native PCIe, 192 I/o, 96 I/o, Pro Tools Ultimate •McMix (x4), McControl (x1), JLCooper Surround panner for D-Command ES, Avid Control •Blackmagic Intensity Pro (HDMI) •7.1.4 Room with JBL LSR4300 series

•2017 MacBook Pro 2.8 GHz i7 - 16 GB 2133 MHz LPDDR3 (OS 10.14.6) •HD Native TB, HD Omni, Pro Tools Ultimate •McMix (x1), McControl (x1), Avid Control * or * D-Command ES Main Unit •Fed into whichever system is the main system
Old 04-09-2005, 10:57 AM

Default Re: Little by little (upgrading)

Cheapest: find a job in a studio that have TDM...

Little by little: