Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-17-2019, 02:36 PM
tabonik tabonik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Wanssum, NL
Posts: 16
Default Ryzen 32 core

Hi there, i want to buy a pc with a 32 core ryzen processor. Stricktly for use with PT 12. But does PT use all the cores if needed? Or would it be wiser to invest in a different systen? Thanks a lot for your response!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-20-2019, 12:00 PM
Meads's Avatar
Meads Meads is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,829
Default Re: Ryzen 32 core

For PT a higher clock frequency is more important than core count, since workload distribution is based on signal paths and those are not spread across cores. I wish they would change that, but I don't know if that is even possible.
__________________

iMac Pro
- MacOS 10.14.6
---
- Pro Tools U HDN 2019.6
- Avid HD Omni + HD I/O 8x8x8
- C|24
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-21-2019, 06:10 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,547
Default Re: Ryzen 32 core

Quote:
Originally Posted by Meads View Post
For PT a higher clock frequency is more important than core count, since workload distribution is based on signal paths and those are not spread across cores. I wish they would change that, but I don't know if that is even possible.
True.
What really helps to spread the cpu load is if you use something like Kontakt or EW Play (samplers) is to not use a lot of patches in one instance. Rather use multiple instances of Kontakt or EW Play with single instruments like putting all trumpet articulations in one Kontakt, flutes in another, etc.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-24-2019, 01:28 AM
Jeezer Jeezer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: GB
Posts: 65
Default Re: Ryzen 32 core

Forget AMD for PT and most DAWs (and lots of other non multicore specific software - so unless you're doing heavy video/3D rendering).

Get an intel 8700k and overclock it 4.8-5ghz all cores on air - noctua cooler + grizzly thermal paste). 6 cores not 32 but the speed AND IPC is important for a lot of software and just behaves better. Adobe suit and other software was optimised for intel CPUs too.
__________________
Windows 10 | i7 8700k Coffee Lake 6c/12t @ 5GHZ all cores | 3333mhz 32GB CL14 GSkill RJ Ram | 970 Evo SSD | PT12 HD @ 88.2k | ICON D-Command | Prism Titan Converters
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-24-2019, 01:40 AM
Meads's Avatar
Meads Meads is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,829
Default Re: Ryzen 32 core

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeezer View Post
Forget AMD for PT and most DAWs (and lots of other non multicore specific software - so unless you're doing heavy video/3D rendering).

Get an intel 8700k and overclock it 4.8-5ghz all cores on air - noctua cooler + grizzly thermal paste). 6 cores not 32 but the speed AND IPC is important for a lot of software and just behaves better. Adobe suit and other software was optimised for intel CPUs too.
Agreed. My 8700k oc'd to 5GHz smokes the iMac Pro. Offline bounce on the iMac at 4x runs at 6.5x on the 8700. Doesn't sound much but really is substantial. And the 8700 machine cost me less than 2k€ vs 6500k€ for the iMac...
__________________

iMac Pro
- MacOS 10.14.6
---
- Pro Tools U HDN 2019.6
- Avid HD Omni + HD I/O 8x8x8
- C|24
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-01-2019, 11:37 AM
tabonik tabonik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Wanssum, NL
Posts: 16
Default Re: Ryzen 32 core

People thanks a lot for your response. I didn't really expect it and only see it now.. got such a good deal on the amd computer that i couldn't say no. Well it will be a leap forward for me anyway. Let's see..
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-01-2019, 01:44 PM
tabonik tabonik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Wanssum, NL
Posts: 16
Default Re: Ryzen 32 core

I still have a question about the use of the cores. I understand it's benefit is regarding multi-tasking. E.g. run different software simultaniously.
How does this translate to the daw?
I mean, when i keep adding plugins and instruments, is the computer then multi-tasking and using it's cores or not?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-03-2019, 01:03 AM
rossi68 rossi68 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Norway
Posts: 304
Default Re: Ryzen 32 core

When I upgraded fram a i7 920(4 cores) to a i7 980x(6 cores)(yes, I know these are old ), the performance boost was massive. NI action strings that would stutter and barely run with the 920, was smooth with the 980x. In fact I stick to that machine still.
So my experience is that a greater core count are good for performance in PT
__________________
RME UFX Presonus digimax FS Mindprint Envoice Sony DMX r100 Lots of mics LOTS of drums
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-07-2019, 05:40 AM
tabonik tabonik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Wanssum, NL
Posts: 16
Default Re: Ryzen 32 core

Hi Rossi- Thanks for sharing. Appreciated! Sounds good and i recon the development in daw land since the larger amount of cores become available will be also focussed on that.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ryzen 2700x or Intel? nunosfr4 Windows 0 10-10-2018 05:06 PM
Im Guessing It’s Ryzen - Playback Issues justindk Windows 9 11-23-2017 02:01 PM
AMD Ryzen Threadripper 1950x lowthert Windows 3 10-19-2017 11:53 AM
AMD Ryzen processors gcasper Windows 14 05-08-2017 01:39 AM
Pro Tools 11 and AMD Ryzen CPU's griff71177 Pro Tools 11 51 05-08-2017 01:38 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:03 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com