Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools | First Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-08-2015, 04:56 AM
AlanStansbery AlanStansbery is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Rosamond
Posts: 5
Default iLok required for 30-day trial?

Hi. I'm a new PT user. This can't be right, can it? After installing the PT First program, when I try to start the application I'm road-blocked by the requirement for an iLok. I was able to download the app using only my iLok 'username'/password. But to run PT, the program is asking for an iLok/license to be present.

I can't imagine Avid would require a $50 device to use a 30-day Free trial (that I might decide doesn't work for me). So, what am I doing wrong?

Thanks,
alan
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-08-2015, 08:00 AM
jeffro's Avatar
jeffro jeffro is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 8,339
Default Re: iLok required for 30-day trial?

Pro Tools First uses iLok copy protection, but it can authorize your computer - an iLok USB key is not required.

http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/f...ls-First-FAQ#5
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-08-2015, 08:50 PM
AlanStansbery AlanStansbery is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Rosamond
Posts: 5
Default Re: iLok required for 30-day trial?

Thanks for the reply, jeffro. Problem is, PT First pauses, asks for the iLok, and at that point I can't go forward. I don't have an iLok. If I click "Cancel" (or whatever the button says; not at that computer right now), the dialog requesting the iLok closes...as does the PT program.

So if there's a way around I can't figure it out. Frankly, I don't have much time right now to mess around with this, so I deleted the trial, and I'll come back to it later perhaps if there's time. My understanding is PT doesn't run on Win 10 anyway, so I'd have to reconfigure that computer, etc.

But thanks for your help. I appreciate it...

Alan
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-08-2015, 09:36 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,427
Default Re: iLok required for 30-day trial?

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlanStansbery View Post
Hi. I'm a new PT user. This can't be right, can it? After installing the PT First program, when I try to start the application I'm road-blocked by the requirement for an iLok. I was able to download the app using only my iLok 'username'/password. But to run PT, the program is asking for an iLok/license to be present.

I can't imagine Avid would require a $50 device to use a 30-day Free trial (that I might decide doesn't work for me). So, what am I doing wrong?

Thanks,
alan
Hang on, what you are saying does not make perfect sense... You are posting in a Pro Tools | First forum but talking about a *trial*.

Are you talking about the 30 day free trial of full Pro Tools or the free Pro Tools | First program (which is not a *trial*).

The earlier *does* needs a iLok 2 license key. The later works with an iLok authorization on disk. Both need you to install the iLok license manager on your computer.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 11HD Trial - Retrial required mrjohn Pro Tools 11 5 07-27-2013 12:24 PM
Is iLok Required to run? Xollop Pro Tools 9 6 11-05-2010 09:16 AM
ilok required for PC? sssoundsss 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 11-11-2005 08:03 AM
Ilok required? basschair 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 03-23-2004 02:33 PM
ilok required moustaki 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 02-05-2004 05:44 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:41 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com