Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools | First Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-03-2016, 03:19 PM
Alexej Alexej is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Gibraltar
Posts: 1
Default AAE error -6117

Hi,

i've recently downloaded Pro Tools First, however during startup, a window appears saying I will be directed to the Playback Engine.

When pressing okay, i'm greeted with a window which says, "AAE error -6117 was encountered". When clicking "more info", Pro Tools says "The selected audio device could not be initialized. Please choose another audio device"

I've tried uninstalling and reinstalling Pro Tools, but I get the same error each time. Any advice on what I could do? I've tried searching up the error but I cannot find any information on it.

My audio interface is the Roland Quad Capture.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-03-2016, 03:36 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,862
Default Re: AAE error -6117

Hi,

We need a lot more, you dont say what OS or what computer, interface, hard drives etc etc etc

Please review the help us help you thread at the top of each page and post back the details needed to help you fix this

http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=300050

Welcome to the Community and hope we can help you get started.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-04-2016, 12:21 PM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,643
Default Re: AAE error -6117

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexej View Post
Hi,

i've recently downloaded Pro Tools First, however during startup, a window appears saying I will be directed to the Playback Engine.

When pressing okay, i'm greeted with a window which says, "AAE error -6117 was encountered". When clicking "more info", Pro Tools says "The selected audio device could not be initialized. Please choose another audio device"

I've tried uninstalling and reinstalling Pro Tools, but I get the same error each time. Any advice on what I could do? I've tried searching up the error but I cannot find any information on it.

My audio interface is the Roland Quad Capture.

Thanks
Are you on Windows? If so, have you installed the ASIO driver for your interface? If so, check this video:

PRO TOOLS | FIRST AAE ERROR -6117 FIX (when you already have an ASIO Interface/ASIO4ALL)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d2a3kTqM0y8
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-13-2016, 06:45 AM
El Buey El Buey is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Cartago Costa Rica
Posts: 14
Default Re: AAE error -6117

I just had the same error message. Turning off all audio playback and record options on my laptop fixed the problem.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-15-2016, 04:24 PM
Leefie Leefie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Ireland
Posts: 3
Default Re: AAE error -6117

Quote:
Originally Posted by El Buey View Post
I had this same error message. Using Pro Tools First...came free with a Focusrite 2i4 audio interface. I contacted seller (Sweetwater) regarding error message. They told me I needed to turn off all playback and record audio settings on my laptop. I did, error message went away and I was able to finish installing Pro Tools First.
WORKED FOR ME!!!
Brilliant!!!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-01-2017, 06:08 AM
fredwiggins fredwiggins is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Agawam, MA
Posts: 2
Default Re: AAE error -6117

Worked for me also, but now I cannot listen to streaming audio (tutorial) while I have ptf open.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-04-2017, 08:11 AM
slidincharlie slidincharlie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Italy
Posts: 3
Default Re: AAE error -6117

Quote:
Originally Posted by fredwiggins View Post
Worked for me also, but now I cannot listen to streaming audio (tutorial) while I have ptf open.
Same here. All playback and recording options turned off from the notebook. PTF installed ok, then I re-actived those aoptions (otherwise I could not listen to anything from the notebook speakers or headphones).
Now when PTF is launched I cannot get any audio from internet sources (youtube, avid quick start tutorials, etc.).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT First AAE Error 6117 epicsaxman13 Pro Tools | First Discussion 10 06-18-2016 05:28 PM
AAE Error -6117? Croxy Pro Tools 12 4 06-04-2016 06:20 PM
PT-First 12.3.1 AAE error -6117 tjG Pro Tools 12 3 03-15-2016 02:11 AM
Error 6117 Fix Please dogsareloud Pro Tools | First Discussion 7 02-03-2016 04:28 AM
Error AAE-6117 Spacerock Pro Tools | First Discussion 1 12-09-2015 01:16 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:18 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com