Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-31-2008, 09:13 PM
mgarzag mgarzag is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 27
Default pro tools + macbook + ext. hard drive HELP!!!

Hello everyone,

I will buy a macbook soon, 2.4ghz 4gb..

I also want an M-Audio firewire interface and use M-Audio Pro Tools.
Since the macbook only have 250gb of space, I'm planing to buy an external hard drive rive.

Here is where my question start. I will be recording direct to external hard drive that will be connected to the macbook via usb 2.0.....
instrument---interface---(firewire)---macbook---(usb)---external hardrive

will this work? will I have any problems when recording, editing or mixing?.. or is better to record to the macbook using the interface to firewire port... and then moving the files to the external hardrive to edit and mix using the firewire port... thing is that the macbook only has one firewire port..

I will only be recording one instrument at a time, and it will be a guitar, bass or vocals. I also planning to use Reason and some plug ins for other instrument..


I'm new to this stuff... the past years I made my songs using a boss digital recorder with a zip drive, but know I want a little upgrade that I can afford..

Thanks to all for reading
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-01-2008, 01:33 AM
Mattafact Mattafact is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 72
Default

Use an external firewire drive and daisy chain it with your interface. I plug my external into my 1814 and plug the 1814 into my mac. That's the only way it seems to work for me.

USB isnt up to recording for the most part.
__________________
Breakthru Recording
www.myspace.com/breakthrurecording
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-01-2008, 03:53 AM
mgarzag mgarzag is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 27
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattafact View Post
Use an external firewire drive and daisy chain it with your interface. I plug my external into my 1814 and plug the 1814 into my mac. That's the only way it seems to work for me.

USB isnt up to recording for the most part.
thanks for the info
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-01-2008, 06:14 AM
Eric Seaberg's Avatar
Eric Seaberg Eric Seaberg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,819
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattafact View Post
Use an external firewire drive and daisy chain it with your interface. I plug my external into my 1814 and plug the 1814 into my mac. That's the only way it seems to work for me.

USB isnt up to recording for the most part.
This really depends on how many tracks you're doing. I've had crashes from too much firewire traffic before! My preference is to use a MacBook Pro putting the interface on the built-in firewire port. I have a Firewire ExpressCard that plugs into the MBPro for my external FW drive. This GUARANTEES that the two devices are on separate FW busses.

BTW, this also happens on my G5. Just because it has multiple FW400 ports and a FW800 port doesn't mean they're on a separate buss. They are ALL SHARED. I also have a FW PCI card on my G5 for this very reason.

All traffic collisions ceased after widening the Firewire Freeway!!

Just an FYI...
__________________
Eric Seaberg • San Diego, CA
A.E.S., I.E.E.E., S.M.P.T.E., S.P.A.R.S.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-01-2008, 08:26 AM
JrummerJ JrummerJ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 492
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattafact View Post
Use an external firewire drive and daisy chain it with your interface. I plug my external into my 1814 and plug the 1814 into my mac. That's the only way it seems to work for me.

USB isnt up to recording for the most part.
This is pretty much your only option if you go with the macbook. And it is one of the reasons I went with the macbook pro, for the expresscard slot and getting fw devices on separate busses.

You should be ok, there are tons of people running their interfaces and external drive chained.

J
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-01-2008, 09:53 AM
Yosemite Yosemite is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 78
Default

I agree with the advice above. Plug a FW400 drive into the open port on your interface. There is more to it though. For the low down on Firewire drives and Pro Tools read this page:

http://www.digidesign.com/index.cfm?...4&itemid=23114


You'll see only drives of certain speeds and with certain chipsets are fully qualified.

Good luck!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-04-2008, 10:49 PM
mgarzag mgarzag is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 27
Default

Thanks to all for the information, really appreciated
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Macbook Pro Hard Drive Questions dbcs General Discussion 14 07-22-2012 06:18 PM
hard drive for Mbox/MacBook Pro gregfrey 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 10-28-2010 01:50 AM
External Hard Drive for Macbook and 003 Steve7 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 12-22-2007 05:32 PM
mbox2pro on macbook-hard drive? dxcease 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 02-20-2007 06:53 AM
2nd hard drive IN macbook pro therecordinghouse 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 11-28-2006 03:55 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:19 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com