Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools | First Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-21-2021, 05:24 PM
rbracch rbracch is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: New York
Posts: 4
Default almost have pre-roll punch working - missing "one piece

Hi there,

How are you. I was wondering if someone could advise me - I'm using the 2020 version of Pro Tools First, and I'm having a problem with the pre-roll punch in feature. Though I'm able to successfully set the pre-roll, and it does punch in at the beginning of the clip parameters that I set, the audio does not continue playing onward after the punch in recording is completed (it stops dead at the bar/beat spot that I set). I'm running Windows 10 Home on a Lenovo laptop. I tried setting a post roll as well, but that didn't work. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Many thanks, RB
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-25-2021, 09:47 AM
junkgear's Avatar
junkgear junkgear is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,419
Default Re: almost have pre-roll punch working - missing "one piece

It sounds like you are selecting the area you wish to record. The default behavior of PT is to only record in the selected area. If you want it to continue after the punch, then do not select the area, and only set the timeline marker to the spot where you want to start recording.
__________________
Will K

System Details
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-25-2021, 07:28 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,306
Default Re: almost have pre-roll punch working - missing "one piece

Post-roll also needs to be enabled and set to the desired amount(like 2 bars). Having said that, I'm not sure if this is something missing from PTFirst. Best to consider PTF a free teaser to see if you like it enough to buy the real version. If budget matters more to you, there are better options. I would look at reaper and Cakewalk by BandCamp. Reaper is free to try and cheap to buy. Cakewalk is free and both are capable of making music
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, Presonus Studio 1810C
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


I started in this business with nothing..........and I have most of it left

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-15-2021, 05:42 PM
rbracch rbracch is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: New York
Posts: 4
Default Re: almost have pre-roll punch working - missing "one piece

Just saw both of your replies today - thanks a million! I had given up hope and didn't thinks anyone would reply. Take care
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with Pre/Post Roll/Punch In/Out UndergroundLab Getting Started 1 03-01-2017 05:11 PM
Punch-in with pre-roll on LE 8 johnmclainVO 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 11-05-2011 01:42 PM
hardware buttons for "preview", "capture" and "punch" evs Post - Surround - Video 1 12-06-2010 01:28 PM
Punch Ins/Pre Roll help Sonic Blue Meanie 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 14 03-27-2010 01:53 AM
Pre-roll punch in not working in PT 8 LE Guitarboy Rocks 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 08-20-2009 02:54 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:59 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com