Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-21-2021, 03:04 PM
stargazer stargazer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Posts: 397
Default Mac Pro 4,1 (FW 5,1) with more than one HDX card?

I’m thinking of getting a second HDX card for my MacPro4,1 FW upgraded to 5,1.
Anybody running this with success?
__________________

PT Ultimate 2020.11.0 | HD OMNI | S3 | PT Dock | EuControl 2020.11.0.187 | PT Control 2020.11.0.9
macOS High Sierra 10.13.6 | Nehalem Mac Pro (FW 5,1), 2 x 3,46 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon, 128 GB 1333 MHz DDR3
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-22-2021, 02:33 AM
Farhoof's Avatar
Farhoof Farhoof is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: EU
Posts: 273
Default Re: Mac Pro 4,1 (FW 5,1) with more than one HDX card?

Yes we have a few upgraded machines like that, all HDX2, no issues. USB3 card in the last remaining slot.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-22-2021, 03:02 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,784
Default Re: Mac Pro 4,1 (FW 5,1) with more than one HDX card?

Not much difference between the two, except firmware and CPU upgrades it enables.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-22-2021, 09:10 AM
Rich Breen Rich Breen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Burbank, CA USA
Posts: 1,887
Default Re: Mac Pro 4,1 (FW 5,1) with more than one HDX card?

sure - lots of 'em out there.
__________________
http://www.richbreen.com

----------------------------------------
MacPro 5,1 Dual Hex, OS 10.14, PT 2020 HDX, Avid HD I/Os and Metric Halo ULN8, Avid C24, 3xS1/Dock.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-23-2021, 11:45 PM
stargazer stargazer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Posts: 397
Default Re: Mac Pro 4,1 (FW 5,1) with more than one HDX card?

Thanks!

Also, just to make sure - there is only one type of HDX card, right?
(Compared to the HD Accel system with different types, where you had to have one Core card.)
__________________

PT Ultimate 2020.11.0 | HD OMNI | S3 | PT Dock | EuControl 2020.11.0.187 | PT Control 2020.11.0.9
macOS High Sierra 10.13.6 | Nehalem Mac Pro (FW 5,1), 2 x 3,46 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon, 128 GB 1333 MHz DDR3
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-24-2021, 12:08 AM
LukeHoward LukeHoward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 994
Default Re: Mac Pro 4,1 (FW 5,1) with more than one HDX card?

Quote:
Originally Posted by stargazer View Post
Thanks!

Also, just to make sure - there is only one type of HDX card, right?
(Compared to the HD Accel system with different types, where you had to have one Core card.)
Correct. They can look visually a bit different (from memory some have the Avid logo, others don't). But they're the same inside.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-24-2021, 12:12 AM
stargazer stargazer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Posts: 397
Default Re: Mac Pro 4,1 (FW 5,1) with more than one HDX card?

Thank you!
__________________

PT Ultimate 2020.11.0 | HD OMNI | S3 | PT Dock | EuControl 2020.11.0.187 | PT Control 2020.11.0.9
macOS High Sierra 10.13.6 | Nehalem Mac Pro (FW 5,1), 2 x 3,46 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon, 128 GB 1333 MHz DDR3
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WANTED: Host card for Digidesign Expansion HD chassis (pcie ethernet card) topdiggy2 Buy & Sell 0 02-04-2015 09:22 AM
HD Core card to Accel card flex cable in Dell 670 belouder Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 4 01-16-2006 08:55 PM
MAC G3 w/PT LE 5.1, Audio Media III card, Adaptec 2940UW SCSI Card, & Studio4: $575 cmcc 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 01-18-2002 12:40 AM
NuBus PMac with g3 card/Project card difficulties dubh General Discussion 0 12-08-2000 03:34 PM
re: VIDEO CAPTURE, Fuse card is approved but will Igniter card work as well? ragbor Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 12-08-2000 12:56 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:46 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com