Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Mac)

Old 11-06-2013, 05:56 PM

Default Mbox 3 Mini with Mavericks...Brand New User to Avid and home recording

Hi guys, first post here and first time buyer of any home recording equipment and a brand new iMac. I am a guitar player who is looking to record at home and have a lot of fun doing it.

With that said, I just purchased a much needed computer upgrade as well as a first time audio interface. I am a Mac user so I had saved up enough to finally buy the brand new iMac 27" 3.2Ghz icore5 just a few days ago. I also bought the Mbox 3 mini seeing as I am brand new to this whole thing and anything more than 150$ interface really would be unnecessary with my limited knowledge of this whole field.

With all that being said. I had my mbox min a few days before my iMac came so I couldn't do anything with it. Naturally I was very anxious for the iMac to come. It comes, and it has mountain lion installed. Doing what I assume most everybody does with a brand new machine, I downloaded Mavericks. After that I download the drivers online for my mbox 3 min (new iMacs don't have optical drives).

Im getting so excited at this point I can barely keep it in. After I install the drivers I was having trouble registering the mbox online so I called the number I was provided and registered it with somebody over the phone. This guy proceeds to tell me after registering it that protools express and my mbox mini are not supported with Mavericks. Seeing as Im new to this whole thing I had no idea what he was talking about. I couldn't comprehend what he was saying.