Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-18-2006, 05:44 AM
thias thias is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1
Default ProTools Installer/Un-Installer Bug?

Hi!

I've got a real big problem here.
Updated to 10.4.6 and then wanted to update to 7.1cs9.
Installer hangs after a while at "389 (?) items to be installed".
So I tried to uninstall ProTools, first with the update-uninstaller, then directly from the original disc.
Same problem.
Reinstallin Pro Tools from disc.
Same problem.

Result: Pro Tools kaputt.


Of course I checked the harddrive for errors (single user mode - fsck -fy) and repaired permissions. Over and over again...
I also tried all the other advises from the general troubleshooting thread. Nothing.
I talked with the Digidesign support. They made me try a few things and at the end told me that I most likely would have to reinstall. Argh.
On the other hand to my qustion if there is some kinda Log File Pro Tools would create during install (which it actually does), I got a straight "No, sorry Pro Tools doesn't do that".
So I tried to track down the problem.

The moment the problem occurs the installation has to be forced-quit.
In fact the system even has to be restarted as the installer starts to write sth. to the swapfile and this doesn't stop when the app is forced to quit.

What I found out so far:

What is crashing seems to be a routine which is supposed to remove every "pro tools" related entry in the Dock (com.apple.dock.plist). I tried to empty the whole dock, tried a different user, reset the dock.... nothing.

I am kinda helpless now and before reinstalling the whole system......:

HHHEEEEELLLLPPPPP!

Any ideas are welcome!

Greetz from Germany,
Thias





Additional Infos:

Console output when the installer hangs, this is actually happenin in some kinda loop (goes on and on and on):

Use of uninitialized value in pattern match (m//) at /Users/dave/Library/Application Support/97550 line 67, <DOCKPREFS> line 22.
Use of uninitialized value in pattern match (m//) at /Users/dave/Library/Application Support/97550 line 67, <DOCKPREFS> line 22.
Use of uninitialized value in string at /Users/dave/Library/Application Support/97550 line 89, <DOCKPREFS> line 22.

Excerpt from 97550 to let someone who needs to know ...well...know:
# This script will remove any aliases from the dock that point to
# anything with the string "Pro Tools *.app". It takes no arguments
#
# --adysart 9/7/05



Last entries from the Pro Tools Installer Log (Installation with ONLY the application selected):

Installed Macintosh HD:Applicationsigidesignigi CoreAudio Manager.app:Contents:Resources:zh_CN.lproj:Setup.n ibbjects.xib
Installed Macintosh HD:Library:Audio:MIDI Devices:Generic:Imagesigidesign_MIDI_IO.tiff
Installed Macintosh HD:Library:Audio:MIDI Devices:Generic:Imagesigidesign_PRE.tiff
Installed Macintosh HD:Applicationsigidesign:Pro Tools:Icon
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-18-2006, 08:12 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,383
Default Re: ProTools Installer/Un-Installer Bug?

Hi,

Try...

Turn off all Dig hardware.

Trash the Digidesign folder in applications.
Trash the digidesign folder in applications support/Library/mack HD
Trash all Digidesign/DAE and Pro Tools prefs from Preferences/Library/your name/Users/Mack HD

empty the trash and re boot the mac and repair permission!

Now try installing Pro tools 7 from the install CD or web installer (not the cs version yet!!)
If using a web installer? download it again incase it was corrupted during downlaod!!

Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering E-Mixing & Mastering facility
www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.7 Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 Control 24 Harpertown 8-core UAD-2 Quad / SSL Duende Native. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, Solid State Logic VHD, Anthony De Mario ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The installer was unable to launch the PACE system files installer - Help please buzz302 Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 3 02-14-2012 09:05 AM
ProTools HD 8.0 installer Aether Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 2 11-22-2010 08:08 AM
Is there a seperate Windows 7 64 PT 8 installer (other than WinXP installer) RuffinMedia 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 05-26-2010 09:43 PM
Installer for ProTools 7.3 TomMxEdit Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 04-17-2007 01:00 PM
protools 5 installer probe dms Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 03-24-2005 07:12 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:10 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com