Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 09-26-2015, 07:06 PM

Default Reinstalling Pro Tools 8 on Snow Leopard

What an idiot I am. Decided to upgrade my Mac OSX from 10.5.8 all the way to Yosemite without checking the compatibility against Pro Tools 8! Doh!
Two weeks later and after many chats with the nice Apple support folk (they were good) I have now got the OSX to Snow Leopard 10.6.8 but don't know how to get my Pro Tools back up. I bought the original Pro Tool LE 7.8 just as the free upgrade to version 8 applied which is what I have been using without a glitch for five years plus. My question is, do I go back to installing 7.8 then follow all the links I had for the free upgrades (thankfully I still have all the links).
If anyone can offer any advice it is greatly appreciated.
Old 09-27-2015, 09:27 AM

Default Re: Reinstalling Pro Tools 8 on Snow Leopard

Quote:
Originally Posted by swampdonkey View Post
What an idiot I am. Decided to upgrade my Mac OSX from 10.5.8 all the way to Yosemite without checking the compatibility against Pro Tools 8! Doh!
Two weeks later and after many chats with the nice Apple support folk (they were good) I have now got the OSX to Snow Leopard 10.6.8 but don't know how to get my Pro Tools back up. I bought the original Pro Tool LE 7.8 just as the free upgrade to version 8 applied which is what I have been using without a glitch for five years plus. My question is, do I go back to installing 7.8 then follow all the links I had for the free upgrades (thankfully I still have all the links).
If anyone can offer any advice it is greatly appreciated.
Well, you know, there is neither an officially released version of PTLE7.8 (the last version was 7.4.2, 7.8 never existed)