Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-17-2019, 03:48 PM
Jordan_J Jordan_J is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Varna, Bulgaria
Posts: 18
Default Pro Tools 2019.6 (Win 10) starts itself?

Hi, guys!

The last two days Pro Tools 2019.6 (that I run Win 10) starts by itself ten seconds after being closed?
Even after restarting the PC - it starts itself. It is not from the start-up settings, I checked and PT is not set to start-up with Windows.
If I work with PT and close it when done - just 10 seconds after - it starts again by itself without me event touching the PC, clicking on it's icon or something like that. Just starts on it's own every time I close it. what is this?!

Any solution or advise?

Cheers

Last edited by Jordan_J; 10-17-2019 at 07:18 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-17-2019, 04:51 PM
cwsand's Avatar
cwsand cwsand is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 3,211
Default Re: Pro Tools 2019.6 (Win 10) starts itself?

Never heard of that one! Did you trash preferences?
__________________
Help Us Help You



Chris
__________________________________________________
Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56
TCE Studio Konnekt 48
PreSonus Digimax LT
Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3P / i7 6700K 4.1 GHz / 32GB Crucial DDR4
macOS High Sierra Version 10.13.6
Pro Tools HD 2019.6
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-17-2019, 04:53 PM
philgrab philgrab is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: California
Posts: 132
Default Re: Pro Tools 2019.6 (Win 10) starts itself?

Same issue here. Close the project. Close the App. 10 seconds later it restarts. The second time, it stays closed.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-17-2019, 05:44 PM
jehjinho jehjinho is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Odivelas
Posts: 3
Default Re: Pro Tools 2019.6 (Win 10) starts itself?

Same here, since a week ago or something!

It might have been after I last updated Avid Link.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-17-2019, 05:48 PM
grayter1 grayter1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Woodbury, MN
Posts: 294
Default Re: Pro Tools 2019.6 (Win 10) starts itself?

Same here. I think there was a Windows update about a week or so ago, and it started for me soon after that.

tg
__________________
Win 10 Pro / i7-6700K 4.00GHz / GA-Z170X-UD5 / 32 GB / nVIDIA GTX 1050ti / Audient iD22 / Komplete S49 / Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6 / Nuendo 10 / Reaper 5 / Studio One 4.5 / Komplete 12
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-17-2019, 06:10 PM
abc1mce2's Avatar
abc1mce2 abc1mce2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: The Motor City
Posts: 218
Default Re: Pro Tools 2019.6 (Win 10) starts itself?

Same here. At least I'm not alone with this issue.
__________________
What is more relaxing then Music?

GigabyteX79-UP4 Rev 1.1
Xeon E5 2680 v.2. 10 Core cpu Windows10 v.1903
Avid HDX 2019.10 HD - 16x16 - 8x8x8 HD I/O - PT Dock - PT Control - AVID Artist Mix (2)
Universal Audio UAD2 Pci-E and Satellite USB Octo - Pci-E Quad - SOLO 610 - Twin-finity
Antelope Trinity - 10M
Grace Design M905
Bricasti M7 (2)
Lexicon PCM96
Burl B2
Dangerous 2Bus
Neumann KH805 - KH310
Yamaha NS-10M
Avantone Mixcubes
Etc, etc, etc.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-17-2019, 06:15 PM
PatJo PatJo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Ireland
Posts: 74
Default Re: Pro Tools 2019.6 (Win 10) starts itself?

Quote:
Originally Posted by cwsand View Post
Never heard of that one! Did you trash preferences?


I don’t have this issue but I see a lot of times people’s are told to “trash preferences” whenever they have a problem. What does that mean and how do you do it?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-17-2019, 06:29 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,440
Default Re: Pro Tools 2019.6 (Win 10) starts itself?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PatJo View Post
I don’t have this issue but I see a lot of times people’s are told to “trash preferences” whenever they have a problem. What does that mean and how do you do it?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Preferences are a Mac style way of an application storing a multitude of settings, many of them typically hidden/non-obvious from users. Pro Tools uses prefs on Macs and PCs. The files frequently get mangled/corrupted and cause problems.

Look up under “help us help you” up the top of each DUC page and read through standard troubleshooting stuff, you should have a feel for all that including trashing prefs.

... and then get the Guitardom Trasher app for Windows or Pete Gates PT Prefs apps For Mac and use them for your trashing pleasure. You can find both by google search.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-17-2019, 06:32 PM
unkJE unkJE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 1,687
Default Re: Pro Tools 2019.6 (Win 10) starts itself?

Could it be the FB360 plugin?
From Can't close Pro Tools:
http://duc.avid.com/showpost.php?p=2540684&postcount=16

Quote:
Originally Posted by theposterkid View Post
I'm afraid to even post this for fear of jinxing myself, but I think I was able to find a solution after suffering this annoying problem for months.

I followed these instructions. It's weird that I did not try this before, because I'm well aware of trashing prefs as is everyone else by now.

When I loaded up Pro Tools for the first time after that, during the boot up process, it couldn't find the FB360 plugin, which I think I had manually uninstalled at some point. So I clicked "Yes" to move it to the Unused plugins folder.

Now my Pro Tools does not re-open itself after I attempt to close it. I am happy.
__________________
Pro Tools 2019.6/10.3.10 and 12.5.1 HD - Studio One 4 Pro - Win7 64 Ultimate (SP1) – Lenovo W520 ThinkPads & 433830U Docks – Mbox 3 Pro - Axiom Pro 49 - AIR Mini 32
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-17-2019, 07:23 PM
Jordan_J Jordan_J is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Varna, Bulgaria
Posts: 18
Default Re: Pro Tools 2019.6 (Win 10) starts itself?

Jeez, I didn't expect so many people to have this issue. I tried to disconnect some devices, to change settings in Pro Tools, but nothing helped so far.
One little thing I noticed was that sometimes when I disconnect my PreSonus Fadeport 16, after closing Pro Tools - it didn't start on it's own as it does lately. I updated all drivers - Avid, PreSonus and Softube drivers (cause I use Softube Console 1 and PreSonus FP-16). Disconnecting the FP-16 somehow helped a bit, but not always and didn't solve the problem in general.
What do we do about it? It is reallt anoying!

AVID, any ideas on this one?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
pro tools track starts at beginning ALWAYS ReynaldoPena Windows 1 12-28-2012 05:24 PM
Pro Tools starts and stops automatically when it wants Muck Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 09-15-2011 01:32 PM
Pro Tools starts skipping yet neither CPU or RAM maxed MoonUnit 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 18 05-13-2009 09:41 AM
Pro tools starts, Mbox has no power 21psi 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 04-15-2009 05:17 PM
Pro Tools LE 7 crashes computer as soon as it starts pyrotom 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 11-29-2007 01:05 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:38 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com