Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Avid S6

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-13-2019, 06:27 AM
abx992000 abx992000 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: München
Posts: 18
Default Auto-Bank to selected track

Hello,
everything works fine: Bank to attention ...
The only thing I fail is when I press the Select button on the S6 or in Pro Tools, I want the track on the S6 to be banked to fader 1 on the left. It does not work
Does anyone have a hint?
Many thanks
Stefan
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-13-2019, 08:18 AM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 758
Default Re: Auto-Bank to selected track

Greetings,

There are a few different workflows. Let me setup a few and we can dive in if necessary.

(A) Justify and Bank a track from Pro Tools:
Shift + Control Click on a track name from Pro Tools. Make sure that under Setup > Preferences > Mixing you have Scroll to Track Banks Controllers enabled.

(B) Using the Tracks Page on Master Module to Attention & Bank:
Make sure the Tracks page on the Master Module is in Attention mode. Enable Settings > User Auto-Bank to Track Mode = Always. Also enable from Tracks > Local Options the option Auto Bank to Attentioned Track. Simply touch a Track on the Tracks page.

(C) Justifying Tracks in Pro Tools from the Master Module Tracks Page
Make sure the Tracks page on the Master Module is in Select mode.
Hold Shift + Control (qwerty or fader module modifiers) while touching a Track on the Tracks page. The touched track gets Top/Left justified in Pro Tools Edit & Mix windows.



Jeff
__________________
Jeff Komar
Applications Specialist, Pro Audio
Avid
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-16-2019, 07:34 AM
abx992000 abx992000 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: München
Posts: 18
Default Re: Auto-Bank to selected track

Hi Jeff,
thank you so much! By using Shift + Opt/Win + Select on S6 now it´s working fine! And you told me two more options GREAT!
Thank you
Best regards
Stefan
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-19-2019, 10:46 AM
skilletaudio skilletaudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 69
Default Re: Auto-Bank to selected track

First, thank you for your post/help it was useful.

I might be missing another setting but I can't get selecting the "Select" button on the fader modules to work. I am on Pro Tools 2019.6 and Eucon 19.7, so the current versions of both and "Auto-Bank to Track Mode" seems to have no effect regardless of any three of the options selected.

Auto-Bank to Track Mode
Off
If Not If Visible on Surface
Always

I have done all the settings you pointed out.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-19-2019, 11:26 AM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 758
Default Re: Auto-Bank to selected track

Greetings,

So you are trying to bank to a track from the surface (select) fader module that already exists within the bank? I’m trying to understand the exact workflow. Are you simply trying to justify a track which is visible on the surface which may not be the Left or Center Left justified track currently?



Jeff



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
__________________
Jeff Komar
Applications Specialist, Pro Audio
Avid
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-23-2019, 12:39 PM
skilletaudio skilletaudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 69
Default Re: Auto-Bank to selected track

I'm really just trying to understand this from the 19.5 manual.

"Auto-Bank to Track Mode
These settings let you define how banking follows channel selection. These settings apply to all Select methods (tapping to select tracks in the Tracks matrix, pressing a channel Select switch, or selecting a DAW track on-screen).
Off Banking ignores channel selection.
If Not Visible on Surface Banking ignores track selection if that track is already on the surface. For example, on a 16 fader system
displaying tracks 1–16, selecting track 15 will not bank the surface but selecting track 17 (or any other off-bank track) will bank.
Always When enabled, the surface will always bank to the currently selected track."


Regardless of the setting Off, If Not Visible on Surface and Always. Selecting a track in the track matrix, on the surface or in Pro Tools the behavior is the same for me. The behavior that is happening is if I select a track in Pro Tools with the mouse it is always left justifying it on the console. If I select on the tracks matrix if it is view it will not justify to the left. Of course off shouldn't do that, so it is almost like it is in a hybrid mode where it works in clicking Pro Tools to the surface without holding down control+shift.

I feel like things are behaving oddly perhaps based on other preferences. I couldn't get your workflow you mentioned in a video of "Attention Most Recently Selected Track" with the Scroll to Track in Pro Tools Comtion (Command+Option (⌥)) + F. Now it is working and I can't get it to stop working with that preference unchecked. I have restarted Pro Tools too.

I hope that is more clear.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-24-2019, 11:40 AM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 758
Default Re: Auto-Bank to selected track

Thanks for the details. There appears to be a logic bug with the interaction of the Tracks and User Preferences. In the meantime, I would recommend disabling Auto-Bank to Attentioned Track on the Tracks > Local Options, especially if you want to take advantage of "If not on surface" workflows enabled from the main User preferences.

If Auto-Bank to Attentioned Track is enabled on the Tracks > Local Options it appears to override the Auto-Bank to Track Mode Settings under Settings > User. If enabled, attentioning from the Tracks matrix or clicking on a track in the DAW will always bank regardless of settings including Off, If not Visible or Always. It is assumed that if a user is clicking on a Track in Pro Tools that they also have Track Name ticked under Settings > User: Attention Most Recently Clicked DAW Area.

A few more bits...

Use SHIFT + CONTROL while clicking on a Track in Pro Tools to justify that on the surface, which again will follow your Settings>User: Banking Justification Mode setting.
(Make sure in Pro Tools under Setup>Preferences>Mixing you have Scroll to Track Banks Controllers enabled.

While in SELECT mode on the Tracks page, hold SHIFT + CONTROL and touch a track to Top/Left justify it in the Pro Tools Edit & Mix Windows.

Let me know how it goes. I will discuss the preference fighting issue with engineering.


best,


Jeff
__________________
Jeff Komar
Applications Specialist, Pro Audio
Avid
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-25-2019, 10:15 AM
skilletaudio skilletaudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 69
Default Re: Auto-Bank to selected track

Thanks, Jeff for your detailed reply, I am still not getting any results with the banking by clicking on a track button or with select enabled by disabling the preference "Auto-Bank to Attention track." I just restarted the computer and the S6 M10 and tried it all again with no luck.

I even tried turning off all User:Attention: Attention Most Recently Clicked DAW Area (i.e. Track Name, Plug-ins, Fader etc.) just in case that was conflicting somehow.

I do have enabled ""Scroll to Track" Banks Controllers" enabled in Pro Tools. That works for control+shift-clicking a track name in Pro Tools but never banks the surface in banking mode by clicking on a track select button or with select in the tracks page with or without Conift (Control+Shift (⌃⇧)) + select button or track square in Tracks page.

Sorry to be redundant but hopefully that explains the behavior I am seeing. I have watched every video on the S6 I could find online so if you have a video that shows what should be happening that would be great. Seems like it should bank the surface left since that is what my justification modes are set to for all three settings.

Last edited by skilletaudio; 09-25-2019 at 10:26 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-25-2019, 11:27 AM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 758
Default Re: Auto-Bank to selected track

Just to be clear, banking never works by pressing a Select or Attention button from the surface Fader Module. Banking can be triggered by clicking in the DAW or from the Tracks Page in Attention mode - assuming the pref we discussed was enabled.



Jeff



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
__________________
Jeff Komar
Applications Specialist, Pro Audio
Avid
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-26-2019, 01:47 PM
skilletaudio skilletaudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 69
Default Re: Auto-Bank to selected track

Quote:
Originally Posted by creativecontrol View Post
Just to be clear, banking never works by pressing a Select or Attention button from the surface Fader Module. Banking can be triggered by clicking in the DAW or from the Tracks Page in Attention mode - assuming the pref we discussed was enabled.
Thanks for clarifying, I might be reading the documentation wrong in the 19.5 manual.

"These settings apply to all Select methods (tapping to select tracks in the Tracks matrix, pressing a channel Select switch, or selecting a DAW track on-screen)."

Or perhaps that just needs to be updated then and is old behavior. Regardless even with Attention mode on in tracks and Always turned on and "Auto-Bank to Attention Track" it only puts the selected track on the focus fader and does not bank anything.

Do you know of any videos showing these three settings?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Auto-bank to selected track not working strangy Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control 19 12-04-2019 01:56 PM
EUcontrol 3.6 Auto-bank to selected track not working? bsteeve Artist Series 49 03-09-2018 10:27 AM
auto-bank to selected track cebolao Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control 1 08-07-2017 07:26 PM
Auto-bank to selected track does auto-nudge to selected track goran m Artist Series 0 10-16-2013 09:54 PM
Auto Bank To Selected Track BROKEN in 2.7 sleiweke Artist Series 40 04-16-2013 06:42 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:55 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com