Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-06-2006, 03:54 PM
salty_dawg3 salty_dawg3 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 8
Default Converting Cubase files to Pro Tools files...

So I asked about this a while ago, and there was no easy way. I'm basically just checking in to see if there's an easy way now, as there have been a couple updates to the software since I last asked about it...

The story:
I'm a Cubase user. I have a friend who is a Pro Tools LE user. We're going to be working together on a few projects. My sound card is an M-Audio Delta 1010. I'm thinking of getting Pro Tools M-Powered so I can convert Cubase Projects to Pro Tools projects and send them to him.

Is there an easy way to do this? Does Pro Tools M-Powered import OMF files? I know Cubase exports OMF files, so maybe I could export an OMF file in Cubase, import it to Pro Tools M-Powered, and then save it as a Pro Tools file. Then I could just send him a Pro Tools file. And when he sends it back, I could do the reverse and get it back into Cubase. Or maybe even leave a few in Pro Tools format as I learn the software.

Anyone done anything like this before?

Also, is there a way to buy the latest version of Pro Tools M-Powered, or do I have to buy an old version and then pay for the upgrade?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-06-2006, 06:23 PM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: Converting Cubase files to Pro Tools files...

The answer hasn't changed since the last time you asked.



Only the update is available for download. The full version has to be purchased in a box, as far as I know (you need the ilok key, you see...)

If you order the full version from the DigiStore, I would imagine you would get the latest version. You will probably get new-old-stock if you purchase at your local retailer, but I beleive the update is free in that case. (purchased anytime after November 1, 2006)
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-06-2006, 08:20 PM
bigbadhenchman bigbadhenchman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 836
Default Re: Converting Cubase files to Pro Tools files...

Well, depending on waht Cubase can export, if it does OMF, Opentl, or AES31.
Then you can buy EDL convert pro, and save the session as a PT's version 5 session, and your buddy can open it in Pro-Tools.
Otheriwse, just consolidate your tracks and export them that way.
__________________
M-Powered Forum

www.markhensley.tv
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-07-2006, 01:39 PM
dillon99999 dillon99999 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 426
Default Re: Converting Cubase files to Pro Tools files...

from what i understand, cubase SX supports REWIRE.

http://www.propellerheads.se/technol...wire/index.cfm

so you may be able to get your cubase tracks into pro tools using rewire and vice versa.

just a suggestion.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-07-2006, 02:58 PM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: Converting Cubase files to Pro Tools files...

Cubase is a rewire host, not a rewire client, so your suggestion won't work.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Converting Vision files to ProTools or general midi files!!! Paata 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 04-17-2008 02:11 PM
Converting Cubase SX Files&Folders to Pro Tools session48 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 06-08-2006 12:43 PM
converting pro tools HD files for LE use stevolution 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 10-22-2005 02:51 PM
Problems converting files to Pro Tools Zen685 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 11-23-2004 01:47 AM
Converting midi files to audio files Ormond 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 08-19-2003 04:23 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:30 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com