Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-02-2014, 03:31 AM
steins steins is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Norway
Posts: 374
Default Anyone gone from HD Accel + Control Surface to HD Native?

Hi,

I'm considering getting rid of my HD3 Accel rig in favor of a HD native system, in order to upgrade to PT11. I'm spending most of the time mixing, including 5.1. Occasional overdubs. Customers are now expecting instant totall recall, which has practically rendered most of my outboard gear useless. I've also grown accustomed to mixing ITB.

Has anyone of you been down this road?
Do you miss the DSP-power of the old TDM rig?
What would you consider minimum specs for a Mac Pro doing heavy mixing sessions? I'm currently on a Mac Pro 4.1 Nehalem 2x2.24Ghz Quad Core.

I find a control surface essential for what I do. A large PT-11 compatible controller (D-Commmand/D-Control) is out of reach at the moment. Has anyone gone from a Control24/C24 to an Artist-series or similar controller?

Sorry for all the questions. I'm not expecting answers, just looking for experiences .

Stein Tore
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-02-2014, 03:47 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,191
Default Re: Anyone gone from HD Accel + Control Surface to HD Native?

Quote:
Originally Posted by steins View Post
Do you miss the DSP-power of the old TDM rig?
Sometimes yes (mixing) but most of the time no. Recording has become a non-issue since PT10 and Disc Cache, and I have never ran out of steam when I master stuff. For now, it seems that latest fully-loaded MBP with ThunderBolt HDN exceeds the performance level I've become used to with HD3/Nehalem so I'm happy with it as soon as Lexicon, Massey, and Eventide deliver all the PT11 goodies.

I don't miss control surfaces because I usually do rough mixes having faders at unity. Starting from there, it is easy to mix with trackpad and keyboard. But I would surely appreciate it if someone donated me a fully-loaded S6
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-02-2014, 08:53 AM
Bookerv12 Bookerv12 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: No fixed address
Posts: 822
Default Re: Anyone gone from HD Accel + Control Surface to HD Native?

Hi,

We went from an HD4 and HD3 accel system to HD Native.
I still plug in the HD 4 every few weeks to access oddball plugins.
We do mostly mastering and mixing.
The HD Native system is a lot more powerful with an i7 processor.
(Have experimented with Mac pro, iMac, Mini and Hack. So far, the Hack wins by a long shot)
I was planning on getting the new Mac Pro, but I am finding that it really won't do me any good.
While I hate doing mixes larger than 60 tracks or so, I've been getting ones twice that big and the HDN doesn't even hiccup.

We are currently looking at an HDX setup for large tracking sessions, but the Native systems work pretty well if you don't mind changing buffers and switching plugins off here and there.

Lost interest in control surfaces a while back.
Still waiting for someone to make a two fader, useful machine.
__________________
bookerv12
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-02-2014, 01:03 PM
jbrown7282 jbrown7282 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 195
Default Re: Anyone gone from HD Accel + Control Surface to HD Native?

I mix entirely on a HDN system.... For mixing its great...HDX has some great benefits but for me Native works just fine...

Happy Mixing
__________________
Jay

Litehousemuzik
Audio Mixing Services
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-04-2014, 10:58 AM
ianmiller ianmiller is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 216
Default Re: Anyone gone from HD Accel + Control Surface to HD Native?

I used to have a Control 24, the tried the SSL control surface and now have Artist series units. I like these a lot and find them very good, particularly the touch screen one. They are a little finicky with network connections (if your Mac goes to sleep for example) but otherwise good.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-12-2014, 04:52 AM
jacko's Avatar
jacko jacko is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Wroclaw / Poland
Posts: 696
Default Re: Anyone gone from HD Accel + Control Surface to HD Native?

HD2 Accel to HD Native here.
Since moving to HD Native I started working exclusively at 88.2 and 96KHz. It is very powerful on Mac Pro 5,1 6*3.33. It should be crazy fast on a 12 core.
__________________
UAD Apollo x16,
UAD Apollo Twin Duo,
UAD Octo Thunderbolt,
Mac Mini i7 2018,
Reaper DAW,
Presonus Faderport,
Arturia Beastep for DAW control,
Former Pro Tools HD user (from V7 until V12.6).
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-12-2014, 07:17 AM
Bill Denton Bill Denton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 2,644
Default Re: Anyone gone from HD Accel + Control Surface to HD Native?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ianmiller View Post
I used to have a Control 24, the tried the SSL control surface and now have Artist series units. I like these a lot and find them very good, particularly the touch screen one. They are a little finicky with network connections (if your Mac goes to sleep for example) but otherwise good.
And "sleep" should be turned off on any machine running Pro Tools...
__________________
X
Note that all opinions, observations, whatever, in this post are mine, unless I'm being mean or am wrong, in which case it's somebody else's fault. I do not work for Avid (their loss)...my only relationship with Avid is that of a customer (when I'm not too poor to buy stuff, like now)...and that hot administrative assistant...that's more of a "thing" than a "relationship" (that should keep them guessing for a while...)

Just rockin'...what more is there?

Bill in Pittsburgh
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-12-2014, 01:46 PM
DetroitT's Avatar
DetroitT DetroitT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Detroit, Mi, USA
Posts: 2,135
Default Re: Anyone gone from HD Accel + Control Surface to HD Native?

C/24 and 8 fader Hui-emagic rooms. both OTP-Recall
I still like a fader now and then as well as trackpading and trackballs.
Still use HD3's but don't miss them with Native or HDX.
Have 16GB or better for Ram though.
__________________
(Help us Help You)<<<click here

Testing:All APFS 90% 10% Audio on HFS+(Testing 1.5 yr in)
Pro Tools U-2019.10 macOS 10.14.6 APFS
Second boot-macOS 10.13.6 (Avid HDX-1 Omni)

(MP 5,1 / 64-Gb)
(Sapphire RX-580 MVC-Edition)
MOTU FW-CoreAudio (for poly recording)
(SSL-HUI-MIDIoverIP)
----
music-design-creation
Post Music-Sound mixing, Production-Enhancements.

Audio Tuning and System Services
new systems builds/upkeep
----
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-21-2014, 11:24 AM
jimdonut jimdonut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 21
Default Re: Anyone gone from HD Accel + Control Surface to HD Native?

I went from a hd3 to native and it's way better , I can run more plugins and don't have any of that horrible voice wasting and delays from using the eras and Tdm . I've just been tracking an album on a hd 3 and was reminded of all the hassle !
__________________
macbook pro pt le 7.3 music toolkit
mac pro 2.8 8core hd1 pt 7.4.1
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-03-2014, 01:55 AM
steins steins is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Norway
Posts: 374
Default Re: Anyone gone from HD Accel + Control Surface to HD Native?

Thanks for all the replies, they made the decision a bit easier . I got an offer I could not refuse on my old HD rig, and a HD native system is on its way.

What made it an even easier decision was taking one of my most plugin-heavy session and replace all TDM plugins with native. The Mac Pro didn't blink, in fact things ran smoother than ever.

Now, if I just could get my hands on a D-Command, things would be complete .

Stein Tore
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
003 control surface (As audio) & control 24 as surface crizdee ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 7 01-04-2016 01:30 PM
Control Surface For Protools 10 Mackie Pro Control or Avid Artist Control lberrios1962 Pro Tools 10 18 05-26-2012 01:51 AM
D-Control Es32 Control Surface No Sound from Headphone outputs mark007 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 02-08-2012 08:03 PM
Mackie Control Universal or Tascam 1082 for control surface? anders Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 05-28-2007 07:12 AM
Control Surface - Behringer B Control Fader BCF200 ironfin 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 03-14-2005 11:19 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:27 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com