Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-08-2003, 10:43 AM
Siberian Siberian is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 231
Default New Allenstein system.... Radeon 7500 causes system to lock up..

I used another video card to install windows because the ATI Radeon 7500 was causing the computer to crash during install.

So now that I have XP working I tried to reinstall the Radeon 7500 video card... and... well... when I reboot, it crashes and the screen goes black right after the windows screen comes up, then the monitor acts the same as if it was unplugged from the video card.

So I guess I need to install some new drivers. The question is, where do I get the drivers from? I have tried installing the AGP drivers from the Asus disc, also I tried installing the drivers from the ATI radeon disk.

Is this an ASUS issue, an ATI issue, or an Windows XP issue?

Also, I know the card works because I temporarily installed it on another machine and it works fine.

HEEEEEEEEEEEEELLLLLLLLLLLLLLLP!!!!!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-08-2003, 01:18 PM
Stone Knife Stone Knife is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Looneyland, Washington State
Posts: 3,027
Default Re: New Allenstein system.... Radeon 7500 causes system to lock up..

I'd skip the disc and go to the mfr's websites for latest drivers. Sometimes the CD versions are obsolete.
Seems like I've read about other hangs and black screens with this setup here recently.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-08-2003, 01:19 PM
MadeByNick MadeByNick is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Southern California
Posts: 175
Default Re: New Allenstein system.... Radeon 7500 causes system to lock up..

I noticed you saying that you got the drivers of the discs. When I get a product, I almost always go to the manufacturer's website & just download the latest one they have available. 9 times out of 10 it will be more recent than the one on the disc. Just a thought. You might be pleasantly surprised. I'd make sure that your XP is as up to date as possible first (any online updates, service packs, etc.), then I'd go to ATI.com & get the driver. (make sure if your card was made by ATI you go to the "built by ati" section. if your card simple just has an ati 7500 chip in it, go to the "powered by ati" section). Then lastly I would go to the asus siite since any updates may require you to flash your bios, and that's always a last resort, at least for me. hope this helps.
__________________
Digi 002
Dual 2.0 G5
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-08-2003, 06:09 PM
Siberian Siberian is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 231
Default Re: New Allenstein system.... Radeon 7500 causes system to lock up..

Okay I f*cking give up. I am on the verge of complete insanity at this point. I have been screwing around with this damn thing since 8:00 this morning and I still can't get it to work.

I have tried downloading the latest drivers from the ATI website (using another computer). I burned them to a cd and loaded them into the allenstein machine. The files all extract to a folder on the C drive. Then when I go to open up the "setup" file and install the drivers, all it does is pop up a screen that says "install shield wizard". A progress bar pops up showing that something is happening, and it dissapears after a about one second. Then that's it. Nothing else happens. No driver install... nothing.

In order to keep downloading new drivers and installing them on the compter, I have to keep swapping out this old video card that I have in my Dell computer. I can't even turn on the Allenstein machine with the Radeon 7500 on it. If I try to boot with that card it keeps hanging up when the windows xp screen comes up. It shuts down and eventually tries to reboot... then repeats the same thing.. shut down, reboot, shut down, reboot... and so on. So I have to take this other video card and shove it in there just so I can get the pc to boot up and attempt to install the latest driver. Oh man this is driving me crazy!

I'd like to update to the latest XP drivers, but I can't because I don't have the allenstein computer hooked up to the internet. I don't have a network card in it.

I swear I am ready to throw this thing through a window. Has ANYONE had this problem and how did you fix it?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-08-2003, 07:37 PM
da BaSsTaRd! da BaSsTaRd! is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 4,933
Default Re: New Allenstein system.... Radeon 7500 causes system to lock up..

if you've already installed hydravision, uninstall it completely then try again.
__________________
i love my apple iPhone!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-09-2003, 12:22 AM
Stone Knife Stone Knife is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Looneyland, Washington State
Posts: 3,027
Default Re: New Allenstein system.... Radeon 7500 causes system to lock up..

Well, if the new machine boots and runs with a different video card, it seems reasonable that the Radeon may be DOA!

Have you tried the Radeon in the Dell?

If it doesn't work, well, that's it.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-09-2003, 12:43 AM
Siberian Siberian is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 231
Default Re: New Allenstein system.... Radeon 7500 causes system to lock up..

anyone???

Somebody has to have had this problem.. I am using the A7V333, ATI Radeon 7500, XP home, Athlon XP2400.

Did anyone else have any problems getting this video card to work?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-09-2003, 06:51 AM
Siberian Siberian is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 231
Default Re: New Allenstein system.... Radeon 7500 causes system to lock up..

actually, yes I did stick the Radeon in Dell and it worked fine. So the card is definately good.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-09-2003, 08:51 AM
Allen Hallada Allen Hallada is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Sun Valley, ID
Posts: 6,686
Default Re: New Allenstein system.... Radeon 7500 causes system to lock up..

It is a Radeon 7500 / WinXP issue.
Here are some guys that overcame the issue:

Allan!!

God bless you!

I was on the video.

I checked the manual on the ATI and it said to set the MB AGP mode to 1x before installing the AGP card driver for winXP if the MB was based on VIA chipset.

So I did and it worked!

You are supposed to be able to change it back to 4x after installing the driver, so next step is to try that.

Thanks a lot!

Juan.


WIN XP, RADEON 7500, A7V333 CONFLICT

I HOPE THIS DOES'T HAPPEN TO VERY MANY, AFTER BUILDING ALLEN MACHINE, I TRIED LOADING XP A FEW TIMES (10). WHEN IT CAME TO LOADING DEVICES VIDEO WENT BLANK, FINALLY CALLED MS SUPPORT, OF COURSE BECAUSE I'M THE MANUFACTURER NOT FREE. SO I WENT WITH THE $35 PER INCIDENT. AFTER ABOUT 5 HOURS ON PHONE TROUBLESHOOTING, LOADING AND NOT LOADING DRIVERS, ETC. XP FINALLY ON MACHINE. THE PROMISE (PRIOR POST) PROBLEM PROBABLY WAS CREATED BY THIS INSTALL. ANYWAY I DECIDED TO DO NEW FRESH INSTALL, NEW HARD DRIVE UNFORMATTED. SAME PROBLEM WITH RADEON 7500 DROPPING VIDEO, WHEN XP INSTALLING DEVICES. TRIED ATI WEB SITE AND FOUND INFO BASE ARTICLE "DEVICE DRIVER IS STUCK IN INFINITE LOOP" ERROR IN WINDOWS XP, THEY SUGGEST LATEST BIOS, ADEQUATE POWER SUPPLY, DISABLE OR ENABLE AGP FAST WRITE IN SYSTEM AND TEST, SET MEMORY SETTING LESS AGRESSIVELY. I SET AGP TO 1X, AND OF COURSE I HAVE LATEST BIOS (OR MACHINE WOULDN'T RUN AT SPEED 2 GIG) VIDEO STILL DUMPED. SOLUTION: I PUT IN AN OLD PCI VIDEO CARD, WINDOWS XP LOADED PERFECTLY, GOT DRIVERS FOR PROMISE OFF ASUS CD. . NEXT I WANTED TO INSTALL THAT RADEON S.O.B. I STARTED XP IN SAFE MODE (F8) AND INSTALLED SOFTWARE FROM RADEON CD. THEN INSTALLED THE CARD AND PRESTO IT (THE COMPUTER) WORKED. HOPEFULLY MY EXPERIENCE IS UNIQUE, AND NOT THE NORM. I INSTALLED PROBE, MAN THAT PROBE IS ONE BOSS ITEM. BY THE WAY, WHERE DOES THIS OTHER FAN GO? (THE ENERMAX) DOWNLOADING LE 5.3.1 NOW, HOPING FOR AN EASIER INSTALL W/DIGI STUFF.
AND THANKS ALLEN AND PHIL, AND OTHERS FOR PREVIOUS POSTS THE INFO WAS INVALUBLE.

--------------------
G.A.

If that doesn't help you then get a new card. ATI Radeon 9000+ or Matrox G450 have both worked well with this motherboard.
Allen [img]images/icons/wink.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-09-2003, 09:23 AM
G. A. Cowan G. A. Cowan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 8
Default Re: New Allenstein system.... Radeon 7500 causes system to lock up..

SIBERIAN

YOU HAVE XP RUNNING WITH THE OTHER VIDEO CARD, RIGHT! OK I KNOW HOW FRUSTRATED YOU FEEL, I HAD THE SAME PROBLEM. NOW KEEP THE OLD VIDEO CARD IN, START THE MACHINE, AFTER THE ASUS SCREEN HIT F8 FOR WINDOWS SAFE MODE. INSERT THE RADEON CD AND INSTALL THE STUFF (I CAN'T REMEMBER IF I WENT TO INSTALL NEW HARDWARE OR NOT). EXIT WINDOWS SAFE MODE, SHUT OFF MACHINE (ALL POWER) AND TAKE OUT THE OLD VIDEO CARD, PUT THE RADEON IN AND REBOOT. THIS WORKED FOR MINE.
__________________
G.A.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
allenstein barebone system from tigerdirect taeagan 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 11-01-2005 06:47 AM
What matters: 'ATI' or 'Radeon' for the Allenstein will the moor 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 06-10-2005 09:06 PM
Two possible case upgrades for the Allenstein system.... Siberian 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 02-14-2003 07:50 AM
(MAC) Geforce 4 MX AGP or ATI RADEON 7500 or 8500 AGP?? ManhtnProjct Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 07-12-2002 10:12 PM
System Lock Up on Install GaryWard 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 08-29-2001 07:50 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:28 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com