Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-31-2002, 02:40 PM
Ssaidvox1 Ssaidvox1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Posts: 219
Default Rack mounting your pc

Anyone done this yet? Anyone know of a place that sells rackmountable pc cases?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-31-2002, 04:09 PM
8mmOverdose 8mmOverdose is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 1,318
Default Re: Rack mounting your pc

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:<HR>Originally posted by Ssaidvox1:
Anyone done this yet? Anyone know of a place that sells rackmountable pc cases?<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

It is possible, but the cases are BIG BUCKS. i did a search on internet explorer for "rackmount computer cases" and came up with this for you.
http://www.bsicomputer.com/industria...trial_goto.htm
http://www.gorilla.net/
http://www.baber.com/cases/rackmount_index.htm
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-31-2002, 04:12 PM
Ssaidvox1 Ssaidvox1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Posts: 219
Default Re: Rack mounting your pc

Thats a lot! I appreciate it


<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:<HR>Originally posted by 8mmOverdose:


It is possible, but the cases are BIG BUCKS. i did a search on internet explorer for "rackmount computer cases" and came up with this for you.
http://www.bsicomputer.com/industrial /industrial_goto.htm
http://www.gorilla.net/
[URL=http://www.baber.com/cases/rackmount_index.htm]http://www.baber.com/cases/rackmount_index.htm[/ URL]
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-31-2002, 05:26 PM
STUDIO-DE-ARIEL STUDIO-DE-ARIEL is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: UNITED STATES
Posts: 233
Default Re: Rack mounting your pc

CHECK THAT ONE
ALSO IF THEY WONT SELL IT TO YOU I CAN
http://www.a-top.com/rackmount/a480.htm [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]
YES THE CAPS AGAIN HUH sorry
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-31-2002, 07:09 PM
electrobank electrobank is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Phoenix, AZ USA
Posts: 545
Default Re: Rack mounting your pc

www.aberdeeninc.com
I got mine for $139. No Power Supply.
It did come with 3 fans! [img]images/icons/cool.gif[/img]
__________________
electrobank

2+2=5
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-31-2002, 07:54 PM
ReniuR ReniuR is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Phoenix, AZ USA
Posts: 762
Default Re: Rack mounting your pc

Rack computer cases are wonderful. I'm so glad they came down in price since last year.

I got my 4U rack-mount case for $99 without a power supply from Akida Computers. Try looking on shopping.yahoo.com

Rack-mounting my computer has made things much easier for us, being a portable studio.

The one thing to make sure of is that the case you pick out isn't deeper than your rack. Most of the rack cases I saw recently were 21" deep and up. The one I got is just under 18" and makes for a perfect fit in our SKB roto racks.

Happy Hunting
__________________
-ReniuR

www.disposableproductions.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-31-2002, 08:17 PM
APAULOS APAULOS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 942
Default Re: Rack mounting your pc

I was looking at that Koolance rackmount case. Anyone tried that?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-03-2012, 11:36 PM
Zarabozo's Avatar
Zarabozo Zarabozo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Mexico City
Posts: 495
Default Re: Rack mounting your pc

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ssaidvox1 View Post
Anyone done this yet? Anyone know of a place that sells rackmountable pc cases?
That's something that has been done for many years. Look for server cases. There are lots of options to rack mount a server (which is basically a PC), even different kinds of fans and heat dissipators made to fit into a rack mounted shell. There are also adapters to change the way you connect PCI cards and other stuff.

Most big hosting companies have lots and lots of servers mounted into racks. Depending on each server hardware, they can be single, double or triple space.

HTH

Francisco
__________________
The audio world is full of (mainly very expensive) placebos.

Latest (subscription) Pro Tools Ultimate on Windows 10 Pro x64
Mbox 3 Pro + Eleven Rack (ERXP)
Asus Prime 299X Deluxe
Intel Core i9-7940X 4.3 Ghz (14 cores / 28 threads)
Ram 8 x 16GB each (128 GB total) Kingston HyperX Fury DDR4 3400 MHz
Dual Samsung 970 Pro M.2 1TB (OS and WIP)
2 x Seagate Barracuda Pro 10TB mirrored for archive and backup
Asus/Nvidia GTX 1080 TI with a single 4K monitor Dell P2715Q
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-04-2012, 07:26 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,629
Default Re: Rack mounting your pc

Plenty of 4U server cases on eBay. I bought one last year for $65 shipped. Sadly, my favorite Norco case is discontinued and impossible to find What made it so cool was the front USB ports that were vertical so the iLok was protected behind the front door
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-06-2012, 01:48 AM
Zarabozo's Avatar
Zarabozo Zarabozo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Mexico City
Posts: 495
Default Re: Rack mounting your pc

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
Plenty of 4U server cases on eBay. I bought one last year for $65 shipped. Sadly, my favorite Norco case is discontinued and impossible to find What made it so cool was the front USB ports that were vertical so the iLok was protected behind the front door
I have my iLok connected to an internal USB port directly in the mobo. Not only safe from accidents, but also from getting lost or stolen.
__________________
The audio world is full of (mainly very expensive) placebos.

Latest (subscription) Pro Tools Ultimate on Windows 10 Pro x64
Mbox 3 Pro + Eleven Rack (ERXP)
Asus Prime 299X Deluxe
Intel Core i9-7940X 4.3 Ghz (14 cores / 28 threads)
Ram 8 x 16GB each (128 GB total) Kingston HyperX Fury DDR4 3400 MHz
Dual Samsung 970 Pro M.2 1TB (OS and WIP)
2 x Seagate Barracuda Pro 10TB mirrored for archive and backup
Asus/Nvidia GTX 1080 TI with a single 4K monitor Dell P2715Q
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rack mounting a pc. MikeLip 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 15 05-24-2010 06:53 AM
Rack mounting a G5 marc@soundpost Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 06-14-2004 01:57 PM
Rack-Mounting a G4? spicyitaliano General Discussion 11 02-27-2004 10:32 PM
Rack mounting my 001.... graveleye 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 11 01-08-2004 02:45 PM
Rack mounting for 001 Mark_Knecht 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 12 11-06-2001 08:11 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:39 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com