Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-11-2019, 01:47 AM
gfantsimon gfantsimon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 4
Default Midi Learn for 3rd party plugins

I'm desperately trying to get some controller to allow me to right click on a 3rd party plug-in, choose Midi Learn and then simply turn the knob on my controller.

It works flawlessly in Ableton Live with any controller.

I have a Komplete Kontrol Mk2 and Maschine Mk3 and the iPad app Pro Tools Control. Nothing works...

Will the Dock or Artist mix work with 3rd party plugins?

Does anyone have any NI controller working with Midi Learn?

Thank you!!

Gina
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-11-2019, 05:32 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,639
Default Re: Midi Learn for 3rd party plugins

Hi and Welcome to the Community

I don’t think Pro Tools works with Midi learn as you describe what you are after. We been trying all kind of options but gave up a year ago and use Ableton Live10 Suite and a Push2 for all our Midi work in our productions.

Maybe I am wrong in thinking this but I have asked a lot of people and no one has this working in PTHD 2019.5 or HD12 etc.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-11-2019, 09:22 AM
gfantsimon gfantsimon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 4
Default Re: Midi Learn for 3rd party plugins

Thank you so much for your reply. Such a bummer....

Have you tried Midi Learn on the Avid Control app or Artist Mix?

I see that there are knobs on the app for certain plugins but not plug-ins... It's SO simple in Live... I hope Pro Tools fixes this someday....

Thanks again!!

Gina
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-11-2019, 11:00 AM
Vilming Vilming is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 39
Default Re: Midi Learn for 3rd party plugins

Hi Gina, this works well for me in PT 2019.5. I have the Komplete Kontrol S-61 (Mk1). I assume this should work similarly to your Mk2. Make sure you have your keyboard set to Instance: MIDI (not to whatever Komplete Kontrol plugin instances you may have on other tracks). Do this by pushing the INSTANCE button on your keyboard and use the knob next to it to select MIDI. (You can go back to the previous mode by pushing SHIFT and INSTANCE later.) Also make sure the track where your midi-learnable plugin is inserted is in record mode - otherwise the Learn MIDI CC does not work. You could test with e.g. Air Vacuum or Vacuum Pro (the former ships with PT I believe), since this plugin supports MIDI learn. Many Waves plugins don't, for example.

Hope I understood your use case correctly, and that this will work on your system.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-11-2019, 11:43 AM
grayter1 grayter1 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Woodbury, MN
Posts: 277
Default Re: Midi Learn for 3rd party plugins

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southsidemusic View Post
We been trying all kind of options but gave up a year ago and use Ableton Live10 Suite and a Push2 for all our Midi work in our productions.
Thinking about going this route. I have Live 10 Suite. Is the Push2 worth it?

tg
__________________
Win 10 Pro / i7-6700K 4.00GHz / GA-Z170X-UD5 / 32 GB / nVIDIA GTX 1050ti / Audient iD22 / Komplete S49 / Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6 / Reaper 5 / Studio One 4.5 / Komplete 12
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-11-2019, 02:12 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,639
Default Re: Midi Learn for 3rd party plugins

Quote:
Originally Posted by grayter1 View Post
Thinking about going this route. I have Live 10 Suite. Is the Push2 worth it?

tg
We love it! Super well integrated in Live10 and soo many great features IMHO of course.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-11-2019, 03:12 PM
massivekerry massivekerry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 53
Default Re: Midi Learn for 3rd party plugins

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vilming View Post
Hi Gina, this works well for me in PT 2019.5. I have the Komplete Kontrol S-61 (Mk1). I assume this should work similarly to your Mk2. Make sure you have your keyboard set to Instance: MIDI (not to whatever Komplete Kontrol plugin instances you may have on other tracks). Do this by pushing the INSTANCE button on your keyboard and use the knob next to it to select MIDI. (You can go back to the previous mode by pushing SHIFT and INSTANCE later.) Also make sure the track where your midi-learnable plugin is inserted is in record mode - otherwise the Learn MIDI CC does not work. You could test with e.g. Air Vacuum or Vacuum Pro (the former ships with PT I believe), since this plugin supports MIDI learn. Many Waves plugins don't, for example.

Hope I understood your use case correctly, and that this will work on your system.
This sounds correct. By default, the KK knobs and data send as Automation Data in Pro Tools, not as MIDI CCs. So, you have to set the KK keyboard to "MIDI" mode and have knobs configured for CC messages.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-12-2019, 04:01 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,165
Default Re: Midi Learn for 3rd party plugins

Quote:
Originally Posted by gfantsimon View Post
I'm desperately trying to get some controller to allow me to right click on a 3rd party plug-in, choose Midi Learn and then simply turn the knob on my controller.

It works flawlessly in Ableton Live with any controller.

I have a Komplete Kontrol Mk2 and Maschine Mk3 and the iPad app Pro Tools Control. Nothing works...

Will the Dock or Artist mix work with 3rd party plugins?

Does anyone have any NI controller working with Midi Learn?

Thank you!!

Gina
Quote:
Originally Posted by Southsidemusic View Post
Hi and Welcome to the Community

I don’t think Pro Tools works with Midi learn as you describe what you are after. We been trying all kind of options but gave up a year ago and use Ableton Live10 Suite and a Push2 for all our Midi work in our productions.

Maybe I am wrong in thinking this but I have asked a lot of people and no one has this working in PTHD 2019.5 or HD12 etc.
MIDI learn depends mostly on the plugin in use and not the daw. Not all plugins support MIDI learn and some that do don't allow MIDI learn on all their controls. Take NI's Battery 4 - you can't MIDI learn the overall volume slider in the upper right of the gui.

Something I recommend when trying to debug MIDI issues and external controllers is to get one of the free MIDI monitor utilities. snoize for Macs and MIDI-OX for Windows. They will at least tell you whether your controller is sending out messages and what those message are.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-12-2019, 04:30 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,639
Default Re: Midi Learn for 3rd party plugins

Thanks Jack. Will try that asap
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Midi cc learn plugins 12 HD Wawili_Sound Pro Tools 12 4 05-29-2017 07:15 PM
To Digi Tech Support - on the importance of freely assignable MIDI Learn of plugins AlessandroRatoci Pro Tools 9 11 05-25-2011 02:27 PM
Midi Learn on 3rd Party Plugins scenicrecords Tips & Tricks 4 10-26-2010 06:54 PM
MIDI Learn with Moogerfooger Plugins node100 Tips & Tricks 4 05-01-2010 01:42 PM
Third Party Plugins and Midi Input Philip Kebbell Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 4 09-19-2005 04:47 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:04 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com