Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 06-09-2019, 05:44 AM
midnightrambler midnightrambler is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,245
Default Re: Disappearing Elastic Properties

Quote:
Originally Posted by Muzoid View Post
Elastic audio is a mess!

...

I'm baffled at how Avid keeps screwing up EA with every release!!!
I have to agree. The number of workarounds just to get the thing to work seems to increase with each release.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-09-2019, 05:47 AM
EdwardWilliam's Avatar
EdwardWilliam EdwardWilliam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Las Vegas & Santa Fe, NM USA
Posts: 57
Default Re: Disappearing Elastic Properties

Hmmm, I use EA all the time, including for the last 3 or 4 days. The only problem I have is that sometimes I get a 91.. error when using the EA commit from XForm dialog. I sometimes have to bounce the tracks instead.

I’m running a Mac mini with 19.5, latest OS, more information in my signature.

My workflow is to set EA to the appropriate Realtime for edits (polyphonic, rhythmic, etc), then change to XForm, then commit or bounce to get out of EA. I save lots of sessions with increasing version numbers along the way.

Lots of hours on EA, too many actually, and only have the problem I mentioned. Works great otherwise.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
__________________
Edward
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-09-2019, 06:10 AM
midnightrambler midnightrambler is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,245
Default Re: Disappearing Elastic Properties

Quote:
Originally Posted by EdwardWilliam View Post
Hmmm, I use EA all the time, including for the last 3 or 4 days. The only problem I have is that sometimes I get a 91.. error when using the EA commit from XForm dialog. I sometimes have to bounce the tracks instead.

I’m running a Mac mini with 19.5, latest OS, more information in my signature.

My workflow is to set EA to the appropriate Realtime for edits (polyphonic, rhythmic, etc), then change to XForm, then commit or bounce to get out of EA. I save lots of sessions with increasing version numbers along the way.

Lots of hours on EA, too many actually, and only have the problem I mentioned. Works great otherwise.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
If you use it on one file at a time, and you're stretching stuff only a little, it's kind of okay. Doesn't take much to make it go haywire though.

ps Guessing you've either not noticed the smudging of the transients on XForm or it's something you can live with? Lots written about it on here before.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06-09-2019, 06:43 AM
DetroitT's Avatar
DetroitT DetroitT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Detroit, Mi, USA
Posts: 2,050
Default Re: Disappearing Elastic Properties

Same. Like extreme delayed graphic I haven’t seen before.
__________________
(Help us Help You)<<<click here

Testing:All APSF but Working Audio on HFS+
Pro Tools U-2019.5 MacOS 10.14.5
Second boot-10.13.6 (Avid HDX-1 Omni)

(MP 5,1 / 64-Gb)
(Sapphire 7950 MacEdition, 3-Displays)
MOTU FW-CoreAudio (for poly recording)
(SSL-HUI-MIDI over IP)
----
Surround-music-design-creation.
Post Music-Sound mixing, Production-Enhancements.
Audio Tuning and System Services
----
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 06-10-2019, 08:38 AM
midnightrambler midnightrambler is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,245
Default Re: Disappearing Elastic Properties

For the second day in a row I've just had a problem where the Elastic audio (in Polyphonic) wasn't playing back changes, just the unaltered audio. I flipped it to "monophonic" and then back to "Polyphonic" and - hey presto! - it came back to life. Not seen this one before.

This is the sort of thing I'm talking about when I mentioned "workarounds" in my earlier post.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 06-11-2019, 08:21 AM
Rich Breen Rich Breen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Burbank, CA USA
Posts: 1,612
Default Re: Disappearing Elastic Properties

Quote:
Originally Posted by midnightrambler View Post
For the second day in a row I've just had a problem where the Elastic audio (in Polyphonic) wasn't playing back changes, just the unaltered audio...
Yes, this happens here as well (sadly, it's not new).
__________________
http://www.richbreen.com

----------------------------------------
MacPro 5,1 Dual Hex, OS 10.12.6, PT 2018 HDX, Avid HD I/Os and Metric Halo ULN8, Avid C24.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 06-12-2019, 10:48 AM
midnightrambler midnightrambler is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,245
Default Re: Disappearing Elastic Properties

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Breen View Post
Yes, this happens here as well (sadly, it's not new).
Thanks for confirming it's not just me. Just had it for the third day running. so I've uploaded a video of Polyphonic misbehaving.

https://youtu.be/ZczDomXuerg
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 06-13-2019, 06:54 AM
EdwardWilliam's Avatar
EdwardWilliam EdwardWilliam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Las Vegas & Santa Fe, NM USA
Posts: 57
Default Re: Disappearing Elastic Properties

Yes, lots of workarounds. I avoid stretching the decay tail of sustained sounds in polyphonic realtime, for example. I’ll try to copy/paste a note of the duration I need from somewhere else.

And if realtime plays back clips garbled or octave high on the first few plays I’m not surprised. (To be fair, stretching is always going to be a problem because the program has to fill in gaps in waveform with some kind of information copied from surrounding material.) So, I usually just keep working until I consolidate or commit the track, then judge whether it’s worth keeping.

That said, Rhythmic EA is rarely problematic for me.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
__________________
Edward
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 06-13-2019, 11:49 AM
AlexLakis AlexLakis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 1,232
Default Re: Disappearing Elastic Properties

Back when Elastic Audio had the settings it had in Pro Tools 7.4 (before they changed it for the worse), I could take an entire song and stretch every track at once to slow down or speed up the whole song with no apparent quality loss. It was great.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 06-13-2019, 11:56 AM
ZEUSS ZEUSS is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 541
Default Re: Disappearing Elastic Properties

Quote:
Originally Posted by midnightrambler View Post
For the second day in a row I've just had a problem where the Elastic audio (in Polyphonic) wasn't playing back changes, just the unaltered audio. I flipped it to "monophonic" and then back to "Polyphonic" and - hey presto! - it came back to life. Not seen this one before.

This is the sort of thing I'm talking about when I mentioned "workarounds" in my earlier post.
Happening here too.
__________________
10.12.6 Mac Pro 2013 (Trashcan) 6 Core 64 gigs Ram, Red Line 16, Native Thunderbolt, ProTools HD 2019.5
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Elastic Properties - Warbled Sound... YoBroMan Pro Tools 10 3 09-15-2012 06:15 PM
Elastic Properties - from PT8 to PT7.4 pitching Farmer Dave Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 01-31-2010 12:16 AM
Where's my Elastic Properties? Reesho 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 01-13-2010 06:32 AM
Elastic Properties lalalandguy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 11-20-2009 05:20 PM
No Elastic properties in 7.4 xxicjoy Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 02-27-2009 01:44 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:22 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com