Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 05-09-2019, 01:59 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,790
Default Re: HDX card still only shows 256 tracks

...Also releasing now to native gives Avid the ability to sell voice packs.

I mean, are we really going to ignore the financial benefit for Avid?
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.5, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD Omni • Mac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6 • RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-09-2019, 02:22 PM
subwoof subwoof is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Posts: 512
Default Re: HDX card still only shows 256 tracks

Quote:
Originally Posted by krabbencutter View Post
By waiting The new HDX Firmware needed some more tweaking.
You can read the whole story here: https://www.pro-tools-expert.com/hom...sive-interview
Thanks for the link. I'm glad that Avid wants to get it right, but disappointed after reading the article that there is still a "sliver" of a chance it won't work for all HDX users. I would have appreciated a great big notice in the "What's New" page first thing in bold 24 point that let us HDX users know that the major feature of this release is not included, but "hopefully" will someday work and be released. I hope it happens.
__________________
Michael McDonough, M.P.S.E.
Michael McDonough Sound Design


http://www.mcdonoughsound.com
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-09-2019, 02:25 PM
subwoof subwoof is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Posts: 512
Default Re: HDX card still only shows 256 tracks

No, I exaggerate. I have waited from the beginning of January like everyone else for a 219 update. You caught me!
__________________
Michael McDonough, M.P.S.E.
Michael McDonough Sound Design


http://www.mcdonoughsound.com
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-09-2019, 02:48 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,616
Default Re: HDX card still only shows 256 tracks

Quote:
Originally Posted by BScout View Post
...Also releasing now to native gives Avid the ability to sell voice packs.

I mean, are we really going to ignore the financial benefit for Avid?
I mean are you really gonna start that again
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-09-2019, 03:28 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,790
Default Re: HDX card still only shows 256 tracks

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southsidemusic View Post
I mean are you really gonna start that again
Me? This is the first time I've brought up that Avid is releasing a product feature early for the lower product that usurps the territory of the flagship product because they want to make a buck.

If this wasn't a potential money earner, they would have held it back until they sorted the HDX situation out. It's just bad form.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.5, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD Omni • Mac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6 • RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 05-09-2019, 06:35 PM
ProtoolsLover ProtoolsLover is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 100
Default Re: HDX card still only shows 256 tracks

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jamie Mac View Post
There is no change for hdx users in this update.
Seems to be a pattern over the last 5 years......
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 05-10-2019, 05:08 AM
ejsongs ejsongs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: los angeles
Posts: 415
Default Re: HDX card still only shows 256 tracks

Quite disappointed here over the hdx thing. The ONLY reason I renewed my subscription was for the increased voice count on hdx...now I am not sure exactly what the $400 was for. I don't know what the "near future" means. Avid could always take the hit and swap out the cards for the 15% user base where the upgrade doesn't work. the simple fact that I've kept current with my subscription should mean something.

I've been on pro tools since version 5. Been through tdm to tdm 2 to aaxdsp and 3 sets of cards (mix/accel/hdx), have owned all or most of their plugins for over 10 years or more now. I'm just not really seeing the benefit of this subscription other than putting money in Avid's pocket. At least with Waves Wup I get new plugins every year...not that I need more.

I guess natively the voice count thing is ok at best. My dante based Presonus Studio One rig has unlimited voices and a delay compensation engine up to I believe 32,000 samples. It can also record audio at buffer size of 16 samples at 44.1/48k.

Avid is losing me and has been for sometime. I hope they do something that makes me want to stay on this train other than my one sided loyalty or how heavily i've invested in them over the years.

Something...
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 05-10-2019, 06:04 AM
garnoil garnoil is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,213
Default Re: HDX card still only shows 256 tracks

Quote:
Originally Posted by subwoof View Post
PT 2019.5.0 Ultimate is installed, along with the driver. My HDX card was also updated in the process but only show 256 tracks when opening a previous session. How do I get the promised track increase?
They say Pro-Tools HDX users that have HDX cards DO NOT get any extra voices. This is reserved for the non-HDX card users. Look this up in Pro-Tools expert, at least that is how I understood it and by the way...I am in the same boat! I think you have to be a lower level user (Native or without HDX hardware) to get free extra voices. With HDX cards you can not even 'rent' or buy any extra voices, you need to buy more HDX cards!
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 05-10-2019, 06:13 AM
garnoil garnoil is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,213
Default Re: HDX card still only shows 256 tracks

Quote:
Originally Posted by subwoof View Post
Okay, so a less expensive native card now has more voices than a premium HDX card? Sounds fair to me.

may be is time to dump the hdx cards and go native, it is a bad idea to keep buying HDX cards to get more voices. HDX is on its way out as this issue clearly demonstrates, the technology is too old
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 05-10-2019, 06:30 AM
Jamie Mac Jamie Mac is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Posts: 31
Default Re: HDX card still only shows 256 tracks

Quote:
Originally Posted by garnoil View Post
may be is time to dump the hdx cards and go native, it is a bad idea to keep buying HDX cards to get more voices. HDX is on its way out as this issue clearly demonstrates, the technology is too old
I would agree.

AVID are trying to get the last bit of juice out of their almost 10 year old dsp cards. And they are not succeeding at this moment.


I sold my hdx cards last year and realised they were a major bottleneck in performance, once I switched over to a native based system.

Unless you need the extra IO that a multiple card system can give you. That seems to be the only advantage at this point.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
protools 2019 384 tracks per hdx card? FilterDecay Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 6 02-08-2019 11:31 AM
Group Edits on Shows Tracks Applied TeamContra Tips & Tricks 0 01-05-2015 10:02 AM
When I reopen it only shows 4 tracks. 4 consecutive songs now phatbeatstudio Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 13 09-18-2012 01:48 PM
C8 shows duplicates of session tracks bruce lang ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 0 01-12-2010 06:44 AM
Mix24 Farm Card shows up in OS-9 but not OSX 2relaxed Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 04-21-2004 07:22 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:42 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com