Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-23-2018, 08:42 PM
truthmonger truthmonger is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Southern California
Posts: 3
Default MBox (3rd Gen) plays MP3 audio too fast in Windows - SOLVED!

If, like me, you use your MBox for general audio output (MP3s, videos) you might have noticed the audio plays too fast! How annoying! It should be called a bug, but they probably call it a feature.

After a few months of scratching my head, I finally opened up the "MBox Control Panel" application. If you don't have it installed, download the latest MBox drivers from Avid; it includes the MBox Control Panel application. I've never needed to mess with this app before, but it was worth a shot. And this is where I found my solution.

Make sure no audio is playing before you start the MBox Control Panel app.

In MBox Control Panel, click the "Setup" tab near the top, and in the "Hardware Settings" section, make sure the following settings are set:

Disable Host Control: UNCHECKED
Clock Source: INTERNAL
Sample Rate: 44100

Then click "Close."

I suspect this will solve your chipmunk problem!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-24-2018, 08:16 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,631
Default Re: MBox (3rd Gen) plays MP3 audio too fast in Windows - SOLVED!

Its a well-known Windows tweak to simply not use the recording interface as Window's Default Playback Device(under Sound>Properties). You solved one problem, but you may yet stumble onto another if you find Pro Tools can't function at certain sample rates
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-24-2018, 11:37 AM
truthmonger truthmonger is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Southern California
Posts: 3
Default Re: MBox (3rd Gen) plays MP3 audio too fast in Windows - SOLVED!

Thanks, Albee. But in my case, your advice isn't applicable, because I most definitely want to use Mbox as my default Windows output device. And for that matter, I've never used Pro Tools. I specifically bought the Mbox to provide high quality sound output for Windows without the RF interference I was experiencing with the PC's internal audio hardware. Occasionally I use it with Adobe Audition to capture some input. What would be real spiffy is if it would just play Windows audio at the right speed automatically, every time, without needing tweaks. If there's still something I'm missing, a more ideal fix, I welcome it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Audio glitches with Fast Track Ultra on Windows 10 after updating Windows 10 GregS FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Win) 6 12-25-2015 03:40 PM
M-Audio Fast Track - Yosemite [solved] whipeditor General Discussion 6 10-09-2015 11:31 AM
M Audio Fast Track - Distortion, popping noises, etc... Solved-ALMOST Bonez007 Pro Tools SE and Essential (Win) 4 04-12-2013 08:01 AM
Imported audio plays too fast? Quinn9 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 03-13-2010 01:07 PM
Plays back audio too fast MidnightFlyer 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 03-03-2003 05:18 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:33 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com