Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Getting Started

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 01-02-2016, 07:45 PM
Area57 Area57 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 25
Default Re: Is pro tools what I want? What else do I need?

I don't know, lol. It's a pro tools forum, I thought everyone would say it was a no brainier to get that.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 01-02-2016, 08:06 PM
SpinningDisk's Avatar
SpinningDisk SpinningDisk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 1,474
Default Re: Is pro tools what I want? What else do I need?

I was just going off what type of music he listens too etc..

__________________
PT 11, PT LE 6.0, DIGI 001, DIGI 003, 27" Late 2012 Intel iMac, Blue and White G3, Reason 7, Celemony, Waves, A.I.R., Softube, XLN Audio, IKmultimedia, Massey
Alesis Masterlink, Alesis Adat LX20,
, Yamaha Motif ES8, Sure SM58, Sure KSM27, Byerdynamic MC 834 N, Event Project Studio 6, Pod Line 6, Focusrite Trakmaster Pro DI, Glyph Drives, Lexicon,
Fender Strats, Ibanez Acoustic, Ibanez Bass, Ibanez Electric.

http://www.johnackermusic.com/
protools@verizon.net

Live and Let Live
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 01-02-2016, 08:39 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,648
Default Re: Is pro tools what I want? What else do I need?

Quote:
Originally Posted by SpinningDisk View Post
I was just going off what type of music he listens too etc..

"He" is the OP

PS. Happy to see you back here again Spin you were missed!
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 01-03-2016, 05:20 PM
Area57 Area57 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 25
Default Re: Is pro tools what I want? What else do I need?

Thanks for the responses. One thing I should ask. I was looking through the websites for different software. I'm really just learning about computers and such. What kind of hard drive space do I need? I think my MacBook only had 256gb. I remember one of the programs saying under system requirements that it needed 12gb free disc space but something like 3-400. I don't remember but somewhere in there for complete installation.

Say I did get pro tools and some virtual instruments, would I need a bigger computer or am I reading this wrong?
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 01-03-2016, 08:01 PM
SpinningDisk's Avatar
SpinningDisk SpinningDisk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 1,474
Default Re: Is pro tools what I want? What else do I need?

Hey South. Thanks man. Work got a little crazy.
Happy New Year.

__________________
PT 11, PT LE 6.0, DIGI 001, DIGI 003, 27" Late 2012 Intel iMac, Blue and White G3, Reason 7, Celemony, Waves, A.I.R., Softube, XLN Audio, IKmultimedia, Massey
Alesis Masterlink, Alesis Adat LX20,
, Yamaha Motif ES8, Sure SM58, Sure KSM27, Byerdynamic MC 834 N, Event Project Studio 6, Pod Line 6, Focusrite Trakmaster Pro DI, Glyph Drives, Lexicon,
Fender Strats, Ibanez Acoustic, Ibanez Bass, Ibanez Electric.

http://www.johnackermusic.com/
protools@verizon.net

Live and Let Live
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 01-03-2016, 08:04 PM
SpinningDisk's Avatar
SpinningDisk SpinningDisk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 1,474
Default Is pro tools what I want? What else do I need?

You would need an external disk to save your sessions too and maybe another one for samples, loops, sounds etc.. Drive should be 7200rpm. I use Glyph's. 500gig. It's kinda up to you. You need to close your eyes and picture the future. Will you want to do this, or will you do that? Picture or audio? Bands or just yourself? It's a good idea to sit down and figure what your real aim is.
PT does come with VI's to get you started.
Others will chime in.

__________________
PT 11, PT LE 6.0, DIGI 001, DIGI 003, 27" Late 2012 Intel iMac, Blue and White G3, Reason 7, Celemony, Waves, A.I.R., Softube, XLN Audio, IKmultimedia, Massey
Alesis Masterlink, Alesis Adat LX20,
, Yamaha Motif ES8, Sure SM58, Sure KSM27, Byerdynamic MC 834 N, Event Project Studio 6, Pod Line 6, Focusrite Trakmaster Pro DI, Glyph Drives, Lexicon,
Fender Strats, Ibanez Acoustic, Ibanez Bass, Ibanez Electric.

http://www.johnackermusic.com/
protools@verizon.net

Live and Let Live
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 01-03-2016, 08:32 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,084
Default Re: Is pro tools what I want? What else do I need?

Your MBP internal SSD although not fast compared to current ones is likely fast enough as the boot drive and place to store VI samples--if it has enough space for them. I'd add an external SSD for sessions with a Samsung T1 USB 3 SSD. But for small sessions it all may run off the infernal drive fine. Try it and see. As you look at VI packages they will tell you how much storage for samples they need. Put that on the internal drive if it will fit. Beyond that samples should go on yet another external drive, maybe another Samsung T1.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 01-03-2016, 08:53 PM
Area57 Area57 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 25
Default Re: Is pro tools what I want? What else do I need?

Ah...thanks guys, because of the photo editing I do, I need to get an external hard drive anyways. They aren't that expensive these days, at least not compared to the software! I didn't realize they could store and run programs, I thought maybe they could only store the information.

On a side note, can I resell any software I buy if I decide it isn't right for me? A, I buying one copy of say pro tools, and if I don't like it, can't I sell it used, legally?
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 01-03-2016, 09:03 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,084
Default Re: Is pro tools what I want? What else do I need?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Area57 View Post
Ah...thanks guys, because of the photo editing I do, I need to get an external hard drive anyways. They aren't that expensive these days, at least not compared to the software! I didn't realize they could store and run programs, I thought maybe they could only store the information.
?
No your programs are all installed on the internal boot drive. Your audio session data may be better off stored on it's own external drive. The samples that are used by the VI normally go on your system drive until they get too large then those samples (or some of them) go on a separate sample drive... but just the samples, the VI programs/plugins that use the samples are installed on the system drive. The VI installers will handle all this for you.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 01-03-2016, 11:46 PM
Area57 Area57 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 25
Default Re: Is pro tools what I want? What else do I need?

Awesome! thanks again! I'm learning this, I'll get this.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:43 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com