Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-22-2014, 09:40 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,352
Default BUG 11.2.2: black wink when using pre-roll

Can anyone confirm this:

1) set pre-roll to 1 sec and turn on loop-playback.
2) make a selection.
3) hit play

notice the picture go black like the blink of an eye exactly at the in-point of your selection after the pre-roll?

Only happens when pre-roll and loop-playback are on. Without loop-playback it works fine.

Anyone seeing this? Happens on both the QT window and the output of the BM card.


Thanks,

Frank.
__________________
PTHDn 2019.6 (OSX10.14.4), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-23-2014, 07:23 AM
Speedsound Speedsound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 13
Default Re: BUG 12.2.2: black wink when using pre-rol

Hello,

I can confirm .
Same problem as you

PTOOLS HD 11.2.2/BM Driver 10.3.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank Kruse View Post
Can anyone confirm this:

1) set pre-roll to 1 sec and turn on loop-playback.
2) make a selection.
3) hit play

notice the picture go black like the blink of an eye exactly at the in-point of your selection after the pre-roll?




Thanks,

Frank.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-23-2014, 07:27 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,352
Default Re: BUG 12.2.2: black wink when using pre-rol

Thanks!

Posted to IS:

http://protools.ideascale.com/a/dtd/136187-3779
__________________
PTHDn 2019.6 (OSX10.14.4), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-23-2014, 02:57 PM
Buccanears's Avatar
Buccanears Buccanears is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 759
Default Re: BUG 12.2.2: black wink when using pre-rol

I've just tried this on a test rig with Mavericks and then Yosemite running 11.2.2 HDX. Admittedly, I'm not running a BM card in the system at the moment, but I'm not getting any blinking with QT window using QT or MXF video media with loop playback and 1 sec pre roll.

I've found my Mountain Lion drive, and yes, it is flashing a black winky.
__________________
Q "where are your buccanears?"
A "on your buccanhead!"
IMDB

Last edited by Buccanears; 11-23-2014 at 08:31 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-24-2014, 01:02 AM
mgoorevich's Avatar
mgoorevich mgoorevich is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tel Aviv - תל אביב
Posts: 1,666
Default Re: BUG 12.2.2: black wink when using pre-rol

Confirmed. I am with Aja Kona LHi card.
__________________
Michael Goorevich

Sound Designer
/ mixer
www.goorevich.com

PT HD⎪N v2019.6 Ultimate ● macOS High Sierra 10.13.4
MacPro 2 x 2.4 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon ● 24 GB RAM
Avid HD I/O ● Sync HD ● AJA LHi referenced by AJA GEN10 ● D-Command ES24
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-24-2014, 01:28 AM
Buccanears's Avatar
Buccanears Buccanears is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 759
Default Re: BUG 12.2.2: black wink when using pre-rol

It's Mountain Goat...
As long as it doesn't lose sync, I'm sorta ok with this, as it is now 2 x OS backwards. It would be nice to see a 10.3.10 to fix input monitoring and black winky though.
__________________
Q "where are your buccanears?"
A "on your buccanhead!"
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-24-2014, 01:49 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,352
Default Re: BUG 12.2.2: black wink when using pre-rol

Thanks for the info. So mavericks and beyond are OK, but those will break 10+11 co-installs correct?

Thanks again,

Frank.

BTW: How can I update to Mavericks from 10.8.5? Appstore only ever offers the latest OS (Yosemite) or am I missing something?
__________________
PTHDn 2019.6 (OSX10.14.4), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-24-2014, 02:04 AM
mgoorevich's Avatar
mgoorevich mgoorevich is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tel Aviv - תל אביב
Posts: 1,666
Default Re: BUG 12.2.2: black wink when using pre-rol

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank Kruse View Post
Thanks for the info. So mavericks and beyond are OK, but those will break 10+11 co-installs correct?

Thanks again,

Frank.

BTW: How can I update to Mavericks from 10.8.5? Appstore only ever offers the latest OS (Yosemite) or am I missing something?
Frank, try this:
Sign in to the App Store, go to the Purchases, I can see the Maverick is available for downloading then.
__________________
Michael Goorevich

Sound Designer
/ mixer
www.goorevich.com

PT HD⎪N v2019.6 Ultimate ● macOS High Sierra 10.13.4
MacPro 2 x 2.4 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon ● 24 GB RAM
Avid HD I/O ● Sync HD ● AJA LHi referenced by AJA GEN10 ● D-Command ES24
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-24-2014, 02:20 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,352
Default Re: BUG 12.2.2: black wink when using pre-rol

Quote:
Originally Posted by mgoorevich View Post
Frank, try this:
Sign in to the App Store, go to the Purchases, I can see the Maverick is available for downloading then.
great, thanks!

Frank.
__________________
PTHDn 2019.6 (OSX10.14.4), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-24-2014, 06:56 AM
mgoorevich's Avatar
mgoorevich mgoorevich is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tel Aviv - תל אביב
Posts: 1,666
Default Re: BUG 12.2.2: black wink when using pre-rol

Same behaviour in 10.9.5 and HD 11.2.2.
__________________
Michael Goorevich

Sound Designer
/ mixer
www.goorevich.com

PT HD⎪N v2019.6 Ultimate ● macOS High Sierra 10.13.4
MacPro 2 x 2.4 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon ● 24 GB RAM
Avid HD I/O ● Sync HD ● AJA LHi referenced by AJA GEN10 ● D-Command ES24
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pre-roll/post-roll appears to be broken in PT10 anodecathode macOS 1 02-20-2012 01:33 PM
nudge nudge wink wink paldry macOS 2 09-09-2011 08:21 AM
Pre-roll doesn't work but post-roll does :confused: pennard 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 06-06-2009 11:26 PM
Pre roll and Post roll keyboard commands? Bob L 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 03-30-2007 07:46 AM
Roll up, roll up - Get your Free RTAS Plugins... Tanglewoodstu 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 11 08-24-2005 09:46 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:36 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com