Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Getting Started

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-16-2014, 12:46 PM
Valentinoz Valentinoz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Denmark
Posts: 21
Default How to Midi key.

Hello everyone.
I've recently bought Pro Tools 11 along with a good quality mic, an MBox and a Midi Keyboard (Nektar, Impact LX49) to get me started with my sing and songwriting.
I had a friend come over to help me sort out the microphone, and it is now working properly through the mbox, and i'm enjoying the program a lot already.
However, being completely new to this Pro Tools world, i have tried my best to set up the Midi key alone, without succes.
I've been following several online guides/step-to-step setups but nothing has solved my problem.
Bare in mind that my knowledge to Pro Tools and any terms within are close to zero, so if you feel like you have the answer to my problem i'm about to describe, explain yourself carefully, or i'll be lost.

I have my Midi Key plugged in, in the back of my computer. I've downloaded the instrument plug-ins that comes free with Pro Tools 11, and i've opened the an instrument track, selected Mini Grand, and can press tones with my mouse, but my keyboard does not interact with the program, and there are no tones registered when i press a key.
How do i solve this problem?
Thank you!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-16-2014, 12:50 PM
Dizzi45Z Dizzi45Z is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UT, United States
Posts: 1,721
Default Re: How to Midi key.

Valentinoz,

I have made a video that walks you through working with Instrument tracks. Check it out and see if that helps you. If not, let me know what point doesn't work for you. The video is here: http://recording.guru/2014/05/01/9-w...rument-tracks/

Also, I have created a free Learn Pro Tools Basics course that goes through a lot of these basics that you might be interested in:

http://recording.guru/learn-pro-tools-basic/

Hope that helps.
__________________
recording.guru : FREE Pro Tools Tips and 19 Video Basic Training Course
Pro Tools 12.8.3 HDX Mac OS 10.12.6
Mac Pro Quad 3.2 Nehalem with 32 GB RAM
Noisebox Studios -Utah Recording Studio
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-16-2014, 01:01 PM
Valentinoz Valentinoz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Denmark
Posts: 21
Default Re: How to Midi key.

Hello Dizzi45z and thank you for trying to help me out.
I've watched your video and been following you through as far as i could, but at around the 3 minute mark (that is when you start to play keys and there come sound), my keyboard won't play any sounds.
I was quite aware of most of the things you did, but i have a feeling that my options on the general setup of midi key is not right or lacking.
I have downloaded the driver that came with the keyboard, so that shouldn't be the problem.
Do you have any idea what might be causing my lack of sound?
Thank you.
Valentinoz.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-16-2014, 01:05 PM
Dizzi45Z Dizzi45Z is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UT, United States
Posts: 1,721
Default Re: How to Midi key.

Are you on a Mac? If so, type in Audio MIDI Set-up in spotlight and open that Application. The. Go to Window and make sure that you are showing the MIDI Window. In that window, do you see an icon showing your MIDI Keyboard?

Also, if you haven't restarted your computer since installation, give that a try.
__________________
recording.guru : FREE Pro Tools Tips and 19 Video Basic Training Course
Pro Tools 12.8.3 HDX Mac OS 10.12.6
Mac Pro Quad 3.2 Nehalem with 32 GB RAM
Noisebox Studios -Utah Recording Studio
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-16-2014, 01:08 PM
Dizzi45Z Dizzi45Z is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UT, United States
Posts: 1,721
Default Re: How to Midi key.

Also, in Pro Tools, In the Instrument view, the MIDI input likely says "All". If you click on that and go to "predefined", do you see your keyboard listed there?
__________________
recording.guru : FREE Pro Tools Tips and 19 Video Basic Training Course
Pro Tools 12.8.3 HDX Mac OS 10.12.6
Mac Pro Quad 3.2 Nehalem with 32 GB RAM
Noisebox Studios -Utah Recording Studio
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-16-2014, 01:08 PM
Valentinoz Valentinoz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Denmark
Posts: 21
Default Re: How to Midi key.

Unfortunately i'm running it on windows .
I've had restarted the computer plenty of times since installation.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-16-2014, 01:12 PM
Valentinoz Valentinoz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Denmark
Posts: 21
Default Re: How to Midi key.

Again, i have a feeling that my setup somehow is wrong.
Looking through a few guides yesterday i was playing around with ''Peripherals'' -> ''Midi Controllers'', but was unsure about what to select in the diffrent drop down windows.
Furthermore under ''MIDI'' -> ''MIDI Studio Setup'' i have nothing written, nor selected.
Could this be a reason?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-16-2014, 01:13 PM
Dizzi45Z Dizzi45Z is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UT, United States
Posts: 1,721
Default How to Midi key.

That may be something to check in Device Manager then, but I'm no longer a Windows Wiz to tell you exactly where.

Follow the instructions above about the Instruments window and let me know if you see your keyboard there.


Also, one other thought. Go to options in Pro Tools and Make Sure MIDI Thru is checked.
__________________
recording.guru : FREE Pro Tools Tips and 19 Video Basic Training Course
Pro Tools 12.8.3 HDX Mac OS 10.12.6
Mac Pro Quad 3.2 Nehalem with 32 GB RAM
Noisebox Studios -Utah Recording Studio
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-16-2014, 01:15 PM
Valentinoz Valentinoz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Denmark
Posts: 21
Default Re: How to Midi key.

MIDI through is checked and i find my keyboard among the ''All'' -> ''Predifined'' Tap. MAtter of fact, there are two, first called ''Impact LX49'' and the second called ''MIDIIN 2 (Impact LX 49).
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-16-2014, 01:16 PM
Dizzi45Z Dizzi45Z is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UT, United States
Posts: 1,721
Default Re: How to Midi key.

What instrument are you using?
__________________
recording.guru : FREE Pro Tools Tips and 19 Video Basic Training Course
Pro Tools 12.8.3 HDX Mac OS 10.12.6
Mac Pro Quad 3.2 Nehalem with 32 GB RAM
Noisebox Studios -Utah Recording Studio
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
dr 770 (boss dr rhythm 770) as midi controller/midi output to 11r midi input yellow Eleven Rack 1 05-04-2012 03:33 PM
003 midi ports not there in midi studio setup? Unable to record midi now? TREBLEBLEED 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 12-22-2009 12:06 AM
MIDI Questions On IMPORTING MIDI & Recording MIDI Pro Tools LE 7.4 Michaeldante MIDI 3 03-27-2009 05:42 PM
USB midi vs. din midi-(the old style midi connector) Ling Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 02-19-2009 02:15 PM
Assigning MIDI sounds to MIDI controller and playing sounds with MIDI lalalandguy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 01-02-2009 12:52 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:59 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com