Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Live Sound > VENUE Live Sound Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-07-2012, 09:58 AM
Scott Fahy Scott Fahy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Maple Grove, MN
Posts: 400
Default Smaart and Pro Tools

We just got our new computer with PT 9 connected to the Venue and I'd like to have Smaart running on the same computer. Wondering if anyone has done this and were there any issues

Scott
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-07-2012, 12:09 PM
Sidhu Sidhu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: New Delhi, India
Posts: 227
Default Re: Smaart and Pro Tools

Works very well on some machines. But the drivers that come prebundled with the PT install are known to crash SMAART on almost all Win laptops, and some Macs too.

rational acoustics blames rouge drivers on Avids part.

Check out the raional forums, and this link :
http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t...ghlight=smaart

Regards,
Sidhu
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-07-2012, 12:16 PM
Nicolas Lowman Nicolas Lowman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 103
Default Re: Smaart and Pro Tools

It would probably be a more ideal situation to run Smaart on separate machine and use a KVM switch. This would be a lot smoother. I would imagine that a refurbished/used mac mini would work well for this.

This is one of those "pick your battles" situations. It would be a lot easier to keep them separate.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-09-2012, 12:56 AM
Auszero Auszero is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Default Re: Smaart and Pro Tools

I've attempted to do this and found it to be kind of a pain. Using the core audio drivers you can get Smaart to recognize the inputs. However you also need a specific template in the console to pick off channels for Smaart. If you're using the same input list every time you use the console it might make it a little easier. The other issue is that you can't have Smaart and Pro Tools hooked to the console at the same time. Core audio will only let you use one program at a time. If you're running something like a Mac mini permanently attached to the console you're probably better off getting a 2 channel mic pre specifically for Smaart and leave core audio for Pro Tools.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-29-2012, 08:35 PM
Scott Fahy Scott Fahy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Maple Grove, MN
Posts: 400
Default Re: Smaart and Pro Tools

Update on this. I used a Lexicon Omega as my interface into Smaart, Used a Matrix out of the console to get my reference signal into the Omega Line 1 input, plus have the Monitor output of the console routed directly to the Line 2 input on the Omega. The Mic input on the Omega has the Earthworks M30 for measuring purposes. Tried recording 25 tracks of Pro Tools with Smaart running at the same time with no issues. I'll have to see how things run when we are running all of the channels on PT (51) with full signal on each track.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SMAART Workflow Kenmillerjr VENUE Live Sound Systems 10 08-30-2011 06:16 PM
Smaart Help! Limelight VENUE Live Sound Systems 3 10-05-2010 11:23 AM
Smaart 6 and mbox lmiller VENUE Live Sound Systems 0 03-16-2010 04:45 PM
002r and sia smaart 5 guitardom 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 10-26-2005 06:02 PM
M-Box for SMAART Live USB Pre Amp Danny Murniadi General Discussion 0 01-10-2003 08:25 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:24 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com