Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Digidesign Hardware & Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-29-2011, 02:23 PM
Ianseb Ianseb is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: largo, fl
Posts: 1
Default Mac OSX 10.6.6 & MBox original

When I plug my Original MBox into my Intel Macbook with OSX 10.6.6, it seems the computer is not recognizing the interface.

What do I need to do for my computer to recognize the MBox?

Is it possible to use the Original MBox as an audio interface for Reason 5 & Record 1.5?

Thank you for your help
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-29-2011, 02:52 PM
Dism Dism is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,154
Default Re: Mac OSX 10.6.6 & MBox original

Not possible.
__________________

D
a n t h e I n c r e d i b l e S o u n d M a n

"Svetlana" v1 - 4.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.7.4
Liquid Saffire 56 - PT10.2 - BFD2, VCC, Duende Native, Play 3.0

_C U R R E N T-D V E R B-S C O R E:515
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-01-2011, 04:31 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Mac OSX 10.6.6 & MBox original

best thing you can do with an original Mbox is to encase it in a lucite block and put it on the shelf as a memento of days gone by
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-09-2011, 09:05 PM
xMINExEYESx xMINExEYESx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: New Bern
Posts: 3
Default Re: Mac OSX 10.6.6 & MBox original

I'm all for hanging up the mbox and I will as soon as I upgrade to PTs 9!

But now I'm stuck with this mbox mini that isn't recognized! Can anyone answer this guy's original question!?

I just got my new MacBookPro and "it no worky"

I've previously installed this same copy of PTs LE 8 and mbox on my two PCs with no problems. I need it on the mac, so I can uninstall from the PCs.

Enough about me, help this guy, so maybe it helps me and everyone else.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-10-2011, 12:53 AM
Dism Dism is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,154
Default Re: Mac OSX 10.6.6 & MBox original

Quote:
Originally Posted by xMINExEYESx View Post
I'm all for hanging up the mbox and I will as soon as I upgrade to PTs 9!

But now I'm stuck with this mbox mini that isn't recognized! Can anyone answer this guy's original question!?

I just got my new MacBookPro and "it no worky"

I've previously installed this same copy of PTs LE 8 and mbox on my two PCs with no problems. I need it on the mac, so I can uninstall from the PCs.

Enough about me, help this guy, so maybe it helps me and everyone else.
I already answered the original question... There are no drivers written for the original MBox on Snow Leopard.

An MBox Mini, however, should work fine provided you have installed the correct version of Pro Tools. 8.0.3 is the first version compatible with Snow Leopard.
__________________

D
a n t h e I n c r e d i b l e S o u n d M a n

"Svetlana" v1 - 4.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.7.4
Liquid Saffire 56 - PT10.2 - BFD2, VCC, Duende Native, Play 3.0

_C U R R E N T-D V E R B-S C O R E:515
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-10-2011, 07:28 AM
John_Toolbox's Avatar
John_Toolbox John_Toolbox is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 5,317
Default Re: Mac OSX 10.6.6 & MBox original

AVID we seriously need a "facepalm" smily.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-10-2011, 09:48 PM
xMINExEYESx xMINExEYESx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: New Bern
Posts: 3
Default Re: Mac OSX 10.6.6 & MBox original

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dism View Post
I already answered the original question... There are no drivers written for the original MBox on Snow Leopard.

An MBox Mini, however, should work fine provided you have installed the correct version of Pro Tools. 8.0.3 is the first version compatible with Snow Leopard.
Thanks DISM, I finally figured that out after looking at the compatibility chart.
And thanks again for not being a dick!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-04-2011, 08:01 PM
xleggs xleggs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Olympia
Posts: 1
Default Re: Mac OSX 10.6.6 & MBox original

I have a Mac mini 2,1 running OS X 10.6.8. GarageBand 6.0.4 works fine with my Original MBox 1. I've not found anything else that will.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-20-2012, 10:33 AM
frankrizo frankrizo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: usa
Posts: 5
Default Re: Mac OSX 10.6.6 & MBox original

10.6,
original mbox and
garage band....

how ?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-17-2012, 04:34 AM
bill williams media bill williams media is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: San Jose Ca
Posts: 28
Default Re: Mac OSX 10.6.6 & MBox original

Very simple answer to your problem.
I use the original Mbox on 3 computers.
a G4 a G5 and an intel Core 2 Duo.
Simply wipe your hard drive and install 10.5.8 and PT 8.0
and the mBox1 will work perfectly on PPC and intel !!!
Who needs snow on their cat?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Second hand original Mbox vs new Mbox 2 Mini east 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 05-09-2012 04:31 PM
Original Mbox, W7 and PT8 jsp_1983 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 03-14-2011 09:18 AM
Please compare original mbox to mbox mini... mbart 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 11-22-2009 12:04 PM
New Mbox 2 Pro 7.4 install - dead - 7.1 was fine with original Mbox - HELP! gbross 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 12-25-2008 06:18 PM
MBox MINI or MBox Classic (Original) epu 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 05-25-2007 02:44 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:52 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com