Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-30-2010, 08:28 AM
bfx bfx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Switzerland / Germany
Posts: 248
Question Mbox "3" on a dated Macbook?

Hi guys and gals

Thinking of buying a new Mbox (3rd gen) or Mbox Pro for an upcoming project. Just recording 2 to 4 channels max using the built-in Mic preamps. Macbook is around 4 years old, has version number 2.1, 2.16 GHz Core2Duo, 1 GB RAM, 667 MHz bus, OS X 10.5.8. This setup must run reeeeally stable cause the machine will be on its own once the recording got started, DAE errors or else are not an option...

Will this work? Any differences in performance regarding the FW / USB? Opinions, experiences? I don't seem to be able to find a Mac hardware compatibility grid at the AVID support site – is there any around?

Thanks in advance!

.bfx


EDIT: Oh yeah, will run 8.0.4, not going 9 so far...
__________________
Mac Pro 8-core 2.26 | 6 GB | OS X 10.6.8 | PT LE 10.0.0 | MBox 2 / ECHO AudioFire PRE8
MacBook Pro i5 2.3 | 4 GB | OS X 10.6.8 | PT LE 10.0.0 | MBox 2 / ECHO AudioFire PRE8
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-30-2010, 09:54 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is online now
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,528
Default Re: Mbox "3" on a dated Macbook?

It should work fine (it does on my Macbook, which is a 2.0ghz model) - I would STRONGLY recommend maxing out the RAM, though!
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-30-2010, 10:47 AM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: Mbox "3" on a dated Macbook?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bfx View Post
Hi guys and gals

Thinking of buying a new Mbox (3rd gen) or Mbox Pro for an upcoming project. Just recording 2 to 4 channels max using the built-in Mic preamps. Macbook is around 4 years old, has version number 2.1, 2.16 GHz Core2Duo, 1 GB RAM, 667 MHz bus, OS X 10.5.8. This setup must run reeeeally stable cause the machine will be on its own once the recording got started, DAE errors or else are not an option...

Will this work? Any differences in performance regarding the FW / USB? Opinions, experiences? I don't seem to be able to find a Mac hardware compatibility grid at the AVID support site – is there any around?

Thanks in advance!

.bfx


EDIT: Oh yeah, will run 8.0.4, not going 9 so far...
Agreed with Digi about maxing out the RAM. It should have 2 GB minimum. Also if your just tracking and latency is not an issue then maxing out the buffer is going to give the machine a little more headroom.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-01-2010, 12:53 AM
bfx bfx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Switzerland / Germany
Posts: 248
Default Re: Mbox "3" on a dated Macbook?

Ok, thanks a lot to both of you!

Was wondering already about maxing out the RAM. Just was not sure if RAM would be an issue with recording only up to 4 channels at once. Well... apparently it is – but I guess shared video memory has something to do with it, right? Well, anyway, just curious.

Thanks again
__________________
Mac Pro 8-core 2.26 | 6 GB | OS X 10.6.8 | PT LE 10.0.0 | MBox 2 / ECHO AudioFire PRE8
MacBook Pro i5 2.3 | 4 GB | OS X 10.6.8 | PT LE 10.0.0 | MBox 2 / ECHO AudioFire PRE8
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-01-2010, 01:02 AM
Dism Dism is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,154
Default Re: Mbox "3" on a dated Macbook?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bfx View Post
Ok, thanks a lot to both of you!

Was wondering already about maxing out the RAM. Just was not sure if RAM would be an issue with recording only up to 4 channels at once. Well... apparently it is – but I guess shared video memory has something to do with it, right? Well, anyway, just curious.

Thanks again
Just overall performance, really. Any computer shows a significant performance increase by doubling or tripling the RAM.

While 2GB vs 1GB doesn't seem like much these days... on a computer that old, it represents a pretty massive performance difference.
__________________

D
a n t h e I n c r e d i b l e S o u n d M a n

"Svetlana" v1 - 4.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.7.4
Liquid Saffire 56 - PT10.2 - BFD2, VCC, Duende Native, Play 3.0

_C U R R E N T-D V E R B-S C O R E:515
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Tuner" and internal "DSP" doesn't work on Mbox 3 Pro luckydjacks FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Win) 129 06-20-2014 03:25 AM
Does "Westmere" qualification apply to "Bloomfield" and "Gulftown" also? bashville Pro Tools 10 5 03-23-2013 03:04 PM
hardware buttons for "preview", "capture" and "punch" evs Post - Surround - Video 1 12-06-2010 12:28 PM
"upgrade" to dated version of Pro Tools LE Jasari149 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 10-14-2010 11:46 AM
New 27" imac / "original" mbox - need some clear advice.please help !! santococo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 05-21-2010 10:30 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:37 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com