Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > Storage Subsystems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-03-2009, 08:04 AM
marc.seguin@cftpa.ca marc.seguin@cftpa.ca is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 63
Default How many drives does PT8 need?

Hi,

I read somewhere that a PT8 LE system should optimally have at least three hard drives, and a fourth if you want to score video:

i) a system drive on which PT is loaded;
ii) an audio drive where all audio files live;
iii) a sample drive where all sample files live; and,
iv) a video drive where all video files live.

Does anyone know if this is this correct?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-03-2009, 09:32 AM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: How many drives does PT8 need?

for optimum performance yes it is correct
you don't do video? that's down to 3
you don't use VIs much? that now 2 drive you really need
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-03-2009, 10:00 AM
marc.seguin@cftpa.ca marc.seguin@cftpa.ca is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 63
Default Re: How many drives does PT8 need?

Thanks Craig for getting back to me.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-03-2009, 10:05 AM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 2,608
Default Re: How many drives does PT8 need?

Plus, don't forget backups. I'm using an ext 1TB USB drive for backups, and I always make DVD archives of my PT session folders. Backup backup backup.
__________________
Desktop: Win 7 / GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R / i7-980X hex @ 3.9GHz / 32GB / PT 9 / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: Win 7 / HP ProBook 4730s / i7-2630 / 8GB / PT 9 / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Info/Services link
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-03-2009, 10:24 AM
marc.seguin@cftpa.ca marc.seguin@cftpa.ca is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 63
Default Re: How many drives does PT8 need?

Very good point.... I back-up on an external UBS drive....
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-01-2009, 04:53 AM
chrisdee's Avatar
chrisdee chrisdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 3,028
Default Re: How many drives does PT8 need?

4 drives to run pro tools, and 4 drives to back it all up
__________________
Christian D Hagen | I7 Builds | PT/OS Compability Chart
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-06-2009, 11:11 AM
iriegeorge iriegeorge is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Arizona
Posts: 19
Default Re: How many drives does PT8 need?

I have never used more than 2 drives, system and audio. Never have had any issues with this set-up. I know plenty of guys who use more and also the old "round robin" technique, which truly dispise! I do BU all my sessions to other drives when complete, only current sessions on audio drive. i store more samples on my system and copy into whatever session I need one for. i always verify that my sessions are pointing to there correct session folder on the audio drive, for all elements of that session, takes a few extra minutes but makes it easier in the end for me. i will say one thing though, if you have more than one person using a single system it can get a bit more troublesome, not everyone takes the time to verify everything. Even when I am doing video, i keep it all together.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-05-2009, 06:13 AM
shredhed shredhed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 17
Default Re: How many drives does PT8 need?

I have been using 2 drives for a year now with little problems either....I have a FW drive for my audio but am thinking of stretching to 3 for my samples. I know that FW is necessary for audio recording/playback - Would the same hold true for storing samples??


Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-12-2009, 12:43 AM
M-ManLA's Avatar
M-ManLA M-ManLA is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Southern California
Posts: 1,297
Default Re: How many drives does PT8 need?

I have four.

System Drive
Audio Drive A
Video Drive
Reason Drive

I will get a fifth for a second audio drive.
__________________
www.M-ManLA.com
www.facebook.com/MManLA
www.soundcloud.com/m-manla

Facebook Group: https://www.facebook.com/groups/thesoundgroup/
Ideascale Profile: http://protools.ideascale.com/a/pmd/24503-3779

Pro Tools 12, Sibelius First 7/003R/Windows 10 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-12-2009, 01:08 AM
scar97 scar97 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 732
Default Re: How many drives does PT8 need?

All drives I use are internal glyph sata (I know they are expensive but I like insurance)

C: drive- system only and ONLY anything that has to do with system160GIG
D: Drive- Audio for protools 320 GIG
E: Drive- for samples 500 Gig
F: Drive- Finished Mixes 500 gig

about 10 WD passport USB drives that I keep images of everything on.
I also use DVD to back up second level of redundancy

AND just to make sure I have my own server that everything gets backed up each evening. BUT I am running 3 systems (the other 2 are for post production. That is a whole other topic)
__________________
"It aint about the stuff you got..If it sounds right you're finished..Burn it!"

For all complaints click here

DAW
-
Digi003 PC-Sweetwater CS dual 3.0/Asus 975X Chipset/CPU dual 3.0GHz/800MHz FSB/RAM 4GB/Radeonx300se/4 internal glyph sata drives/ 3 external glyph backup drives/Acronis True Image OUTBOARD-UA LA-610, ADL-600, Digimax lt, Eureka x 2, Central Station, Hearback x 8, JBL LSR, Monster Power Software-PTLE 8.0, Sound Forge, CD Architect Plugins- Too many and too much money spent
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Drives with PT. 7200 vs 10krpm internal drives with PT. External Fav's? LalamanPT Storage Subsystems 1 11-20-2010 02:29 PM
What drives are safe to defrag (system, project, sample drives) keithl 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 07-08-2010 08:09 AM
SSD (Solid State Drives) Alleviating The Need For Two Hard Drives For PT? epu 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 30 04-13-2009 12:19 AM
External USB2.0 drives as Audio recording drives injun Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 08-26-2006 07:06 PM
ANDRE & TOM: Adaptec cards to copy from SCSI drives to Firewire drives with G4/HD? ragbor Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 06-11-2002 08:08 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:44 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com