Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > ICON & C|24

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-30-2008, 08:10 AM
legasafe legasafe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 77
Default ICON Faders - People\'s experience please

I read today the third complaint I have heard about fighting faders on both the D-Command and D-Control.

I am wondering how widespread this issue is?

Is it a general problem people are trying to get over? Or is it just specific to some of the desks? If I could get some feedback from different ICON users, particularly D-Control users that would be great.

How do you find the faders?

Thanks guys,

Elliott.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-30-2008, 10:49 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,520
Default Re: ICON Faders - People\'s experience please

Once in a while, if I don't grab the fader properly (on top) it will fight a little, otherwise, mine are fine. This happens once or twice a week and seems mostly like user error.

I just had a Venue demo and the faders seem to be identical to my D Command.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-30-2008, 04:34 PM
Branko's Avatar
Branko Branko is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Posts: 580
Default Re: ICON Faders - People\'s experience please

It is a rare situation where I have to fight the fader on Icon. I spent the last week mixing on DFC - the feeling is the same. Occasionally, one has to insist a bit more to get the fader into Write mode on both consoles.
Branko
__________________
------------------------
Branko Neskov c.a.s.
www.loudness-films.pt
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-01-2008, 05:50 AM
mtung mtung is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 475
Default Re: ICON Faders - People\'s experience please

I have two D-commands and both units have had to replace faders that simply would not behave. Since their replacement, they have all been working normal. However, once and a while a fader will not respond to anything. For example, if I move a bank of faders, there sometimes is a fader that doesn't snap to where it is supposed to. This same fader is fixed by calibrating the faders from the utilities page. Today they are all good, knock on wood.

mike
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-01-2008, 07:31 AM
teacherman teacherman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 399
Default Re: ICON Faders - People\'s experience please

All three of my Digi control surfaces (D-Command, D-Control and ProControl) have daily (or hourly) encounters with Fighting Faders. Problem keeps occuring even when I have to often replace faders.

I was told by DigiSupport that the only Temp Fix for this is to Lick Your Fingers (keep fingers moist) before touching the faders. Although this seems to work, it is a gross and unsanitary. I guess you could keep a small cup of water to dip your fingers in before touching fader, but then would probably get water dripping into the unit and shorting out something in the console.

This is NOT how one is suppose to spend time mixing.

On other hand....I LOVE the feel of the fades on the VENUE...Very nice, Excellent!! No problems what so ever....EVER.

Why can't ICON's get the same faders as the Venue??
__________________
MacBookPro 2.2 Ghz Intel Core i7; 16 Gig Ram; OSX 10.12.6; ProTools 10.3.9
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-01-2008, 07:43 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,520
Default Re: ICON Faders - People\'s experience please

Are all three of your control surfaces under the same roof? Did you do the Venue session in the same place? Why is not everyone having the same issues as you?
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-01-2008, 01:42 PM
SBP SBP is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 297
Default Re: ICON Faders - People\'s experience please

Sorry to hear of your problems. Just to let you know that the faders are good on the icon (D-control) here -we've never had to lick our fingers!

The pro control fights a bit sometimes -but its always done this.

I've found with the icon that you can be surprisingly light with the touch and get control.

Hope you get it sorted.

Cheers

Bruno
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-01-2008, 02:38 PM
Stompinmsc Stompinmsc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Sherman Oaks, Ca 91403
Posts: 129
Default Re: ICON Faders - People\'s experience please

Ok, this might sound obsurd but I upgraded my Fader caps with SSL Duality Caps and I have never had a fight since. I have a 24 channel D-Command and the faders have been performing well. The SSL Caps are a hair wider too and seem to be heavier (in grams of course) They feel very good as well. The sides of the caps are dedented instead of raised and for me a bit easier to see the set value at a glance. Call me crazy...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-01-2008, 05:21 PM
teacherman teacherman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 399
Default Re: ICON Faders - People\'s experience please

Hey dmazurek,

No, I don't own a Venue. I've been doing some side work for a facility here in town that has a Venue.

L8TR,
__________________
MacBookPro 2.2 Ghz Intel Core i7; 16 Gig Ram; OSX 10.12.6; ProTools 10.3.9
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-01-2008, 06:08 PM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,520
Default Re: ICON Faders - People\'s experience please

I'd wonder why the 3 units at your place have issues and the unit that's not doesn't. Seems like a trend to me. I believe the faders are the same in Venues and ICONs.

And the Duality faders blow!!!! Same ones that are on a DM2000. We have all sorts of issues with them. For $300k I expected the Axiom faders which are great.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Blue Icon D Control 16 Faders, Surround panner, monitor arm, scribble tray, Xmon drogan88 Buy & Sell 0 01-16-2014 09:24 AM
Icon D-control faders - resistance in moving tvjorg ICON & C|24 5 07-19-2011 10:30 AM
Icon Faders Stuck on Aux sends with Pro Tools 9 acacia ICON & C|24 2 11-29-2010 07:00 AM
IF ICON BASE UNIT WAS 24 FADERS Hostage ICON & C|24 10 06-11-2004 10:50 AM
Solution to missing faders after changing session icon name...last try... Bastiaan 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 29 06-16-2002 04:01 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:07 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com